We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and the nicest staff ever!”
Review of Hotel D'Azeglio

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel D'Azeglio
Ranked #293 of 659 Florence B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 7, 2014

First of all, I have to say thank you to Letizia, the owner of the hotel. She was always so helpful, kind and her recommendations were always exactly what we were looking for.

The room was very clean, the service was excellent. We are not exactly what you call early birds so we came sometimes a bit late for breakfast, but still were being attended to with a smile. Breakfast is simple, but good value for money.

I loved the location, it is not exactly in the city centre, which i considered being a huge advantage, because even in low season, the centre is really packed with visitors. However, the hotel is within walking distance to the important sights and very close to a smaller shopping street.

IMPORTANT:

When you take the bus from the station, note that the time table does not display the nicolini stop, where the hotel is located. just follow the directions you get from the hotel staff in the email.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cekajot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (153)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 154 reviews

Reviewed April 7, 2014

As a usual traveller, I would like to stroger recommend this Hotel, it has a great location in Firenze, near the old center of Firenze, you can walk to any place from there to discover the marvellous city of Firenze. Letizia is an excellent hostess, one of the best ones I have ever had, since we arrived she kindly explained taking care of every detail, what is best to visit, where to go for a nice cheap and homemade tipical Italian food, and she was always there for us helping with any kind of matter that emerged.
Hope to see her again in our next visit to Firenze, thanks always for your kind help and make us feeling like home.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cris_gall19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2014

Highly recommend this hotel. The staff is very helpful and provide a free buffet breakfast every morning. Also it's nice to get away from the super touristy sections of town. Overall a great value, can't beat the price.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cedric271
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2014

If you will visit Florence for the first time, Hotel d'Azeglio will be a good choice for accommodation. We stayed for two nights in there, and managers told us about everything in Florence. They can suggest you where you can eat traditional italian food or which wine house you should go. Also, they treat so kindly to the customers. The hotel is also closed to the downtown, 10 minutes by walking.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Balkanksk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014

Very good choice for budget travelers who want to enjoy this beautiful city of Florence. Close to the city center (max. 10 min walking), situated in a very calm, safe and quite area. The rooms are a little bit under the standards of the photos but again, if you need a cheap choice to visit Florence it is one of the best choices. Also, the owners are very helpful and willing to help. Oh, and it is located at the last floor of the building, take care because at the lowers floors is another hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mihai1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

My partner and I stayed in a double room with a private bathroom for 3 nights. Great location and amazing and helpful service! The room was spacious and clean. The only complaint about the room was the bed- it was extremely soft! Breakfast was sufficient- toast, pastries, yogurt, meat and cheese. There is an excellent restaurant next door (and quite cheap too!)

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hayley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

This was by far one of the worst "hotels" we have ever stayed in! My boyfriend and I arrived at Hotel d'Azeglio to be greeted by a very friendly staff member she was very friendly she provided us with a map and helped us with suggestions and directions around Florence this was the only positive point regarding this hotel. We were told we would receive no provided breakfast (as advertised on the site) because we were in a budget room. That was ok, but it was one of many issues we would discover during our stay. The room was shocking, the bed was springing, old and squeaky. The toilet was no better, the shower flooded, the toilet dripped constantly and the fan took at least 5 minutes to turn itself off. On top of this, the room had an air-conditioning system we were not allowed to use (only during summer), we were also unable to turn off the heater in our room. The response given was "its too complicated". I asked for a fan to cool the room down but this was also not a possibility. The hotel did not provide ANY cutlery or plates, no tea or coffee at the very least either. On our last night in the hotel we were lying down at 6pm when one of the staff members came banging on the door, shocked I opened the door half dressed and the staff member tried to barge his way into the room. I had to ask him to give me a second to get dressed properly and then he came in with his friend and proceeded to speak in italian for 5 minutes leaving us unaware of the situation. We were outraged! this is not a hotel, he had no reason to come into our room he looked around the bathroom for a "leak" which was not there and then left. This hotel is not worth staying in, by far one of the worst hotels we have stayed in during our time in Europe. I warn other travelers find a hotel or even a hostel with better standards than this.. "hotel." This was also only a few of the issues we dealt with during our stay at Hotel d'Azeglio, not worth the money, not by far!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ambie_89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlainWang, Proprietario at Hotel D'Azeglio, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2014

Hello,

Thank you for having stayed at our hotel.

We believe that your complaints are based on the fact that you don’t understand the meaning of a “Budget Hotel” as we are advertised. We fully understand it. If one wants to get a 5-star hotel room in a budget place, he will only be frustrated.

As to your complaints:

-Air-conditioning
We’ve observed that this is the main issue that led to your disappointment. It was 2 degree outside, freezing weather in winter. It was incredible when you came to ask us for summer-cooling air. You could simply try to open a little bit the window, and soon after the room would be much cooler. We saw how you were disappointed not being able to get summer-cooling air in the room. But we are a Budget Hotel, we cannot afford providing heating and summer-cooling at the same time to guests on a freezing winter day!

-Breakfast
It’s very clearly written on the website where you made the booking: Breakfast Not included for “Budget Rooms”. “No meal or drink included” appears in different occasions during you booking process. It’s not fair to request something you didn’t book and make complaints on it.

-Coffee and Tea
It’s written “no meal or drink included” in your booking. So, one cannot request free coffee or tea in the room. If you want it, you have to pay and you just need to come to the reception’s bar. The price is listed there.

-Cutlery or plates
We provide plates and cutlery and guests from other rooms have used them without problems. You simply needed to ask us for it……

-Water Leak
The drainage wasn’t blocked as you described. We’ve checked every room before a guest’s arrival and we’d check again after their departure.
We got the report from the house-owner downstairs that there started a small water leak from your room. We were polite enough to ask for your permission to enter the room and we discovered why.
It was obvious that you had a shower shortly before our arrival. You didn’t close the shower box during showering and let the water flood everywhere. One should treat the room in a really rude way in order to flood it until a water leak. And you tried to “cover” this fact by sweeping the floor quickly before letting us in. We had the suspect but in order to be cautious, we didn’t point it out to you immediately. With the house-owner from downstairs, we decided to observe 1 or 2 more days. Probably you guys paid a little attention afterwards. In any case, after your departure, when other guests moved into the same room, we got the confirmation that the water leak stopped! What a miracle!

Well, dear friend, in certain regard, we do agree with you and we’d like to share your warning to our future guests that Hotel D’Azeglio is a budget hotel, where one cannot request winter heating and summer cooling at the same time on a freezing day. Or else, you risk of wasting money, as in your case, 26 Euro per night.

Best regards,
Hotel D'Azeglio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Hotel Rita Major
#335 of 409 in Florence
219 reviews
Hotel Jane
#197 of 409 in Florence
607 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
NH Firenze
NH Firenze
#92 of 409 in Florence
1,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Orcagna Hotel
#39 of 409 in Florence
836 reviews
Soggiorno Sogna Firenze
#225 of 659 in Florence
184 reviews
Il Grillo di Firenze
#13 of 659 in Florence
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel D'Azeglio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel D'Azeglio

Address: Via della Mattonaia n 43, 50121, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #293 of 659 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range: $54 - $201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel D'Azeglio 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel D'Azeglio is located in the university zone of Florence, very close to the shopping street of Borgo la Croce and Via Gioberti, 10-15 minutes walking distance from the main monuments. Our multi-linguistic staff is always ready to give you advice on how to organize your visits in Florence.Close to the end of 2012, the Hotel has been closed for 6 months due to management passage. Now it's re-opened and the management has passed to Swift Alex Globocasa S.N.C., a young company which is specialised in managing B&Bs and small hotels. We aim at providing a comfortable place for budget travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel D'Azeglio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing