We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded my expectation... by far”
Review of Sani Tourist House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sani Tourist House
Ranked #364 of 675 Florence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Exceeded my expectation... by far”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We stayed there five nights from October 4th.
Location: You can't ask for a better location than this if you want to be in the centre of Florence. What magic is it's still quiet at nights. It's just a few steps from the Duomo.
Bed and Breakfast/Guest House: I know the quality of B&B can range from really bad to really good. It's hard to predict. Sani Tourist House turned out to be very good. Building itself seemed quite upscale. Area felt very safe. Host Remo is a very nice man. He's pleasant, easy going, accommodating and very helpful. It's always important at a guest house or B&B to have a nice host. Room was clean and information/rules were well written and explained in the room. Internet connection from our room could have been stronger but Remo did tell us that prior and he did mention that this would change for better.
Overall, this was a very nice stay. I would definitely recommend it. I myself would definitely book for this place first when I come to Florence again.

Room Tip: I believe rooms are all on the 3rd floor. I saw one room with living room+bedroom+spacious bathroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mario Ping C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    59
    31
    14
    19
See reviews for
24
99
21
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aviemore, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in Sani House for 4 nights. Our room was lovely, bright and had everything we needed. Shower cubicle a little small but nice and clean. Breakfast was in a little cafe a few doors down. Nice Italian coffee and a pastry to set you up for the day. The owner was very friendly and helpful and helped us book tickets for sightseeing. Couldn't have asked for more for out first stay in beautiful Florence. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 78janey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We rented two rooms, we had to pay 5 EUR/room/day extra cost for the air condition, but you are not able to survive in htese rooms without air condition! There was no breakfast on Sunday, and even if it was communicated, we do not understand why we pay the same rate then? Otherwise the room was ok, nothing special, very small shower. The location is perfect, but you should prepare yourself in advance where to leave the car. we left it in a parking lot which is outside the restricted travel zone, and went to the center by public transport (bus). We paid 20 EUR/day for the car parking,. this and the bus ticket price you must add to the room rate....

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank szucsmariann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013

We loved the location of this B&B. Our room was recently painted/decorated and was just beautiful! For the price -- this was a great value.

A couple of disappointments: The wi-fi seemed very slow and the host didn't seem to understand when I asked for assistance. Also, we were confused about where to find breakfast as it was located a block or so away (a printed map would have helped). However, when we finally found the breakfast place, we loved it (go at night for wine - they know their stuff).

Florence is a beautiful, bustling city. We found it quite noisy well into the early morning hours. With windows closed, it was quiet, but too warm. The host didn't want to turn on air conditioning because it was too expensive, even though we were willing to pay extra.

All and all, nice but I would probably try another location in Florence.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PJDPDX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zwevegem, Belgium
Level Contributor
59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

h00came in around 15h00 and bumped into the owner, said that we had a reservation...He answered yes yes the cleaning lady will give you the key!!! We came in our room wich was perfect for 2 nights, also the hotel is situated amidst Florence so no complaints about that! But i wanted to pay since i used a friends credit card to make the reservation!
An old lady was sitting at the reception, again I asked to pay no no englisch no parlare...later! Ok so into town we went! in the morning breakfast voucher were in the room...again no one at the reception! Noon no one at the reception! Evening no one at the reception! And a radder unfriendly note: since you are avoiding us...we d like you to pay between 8h00 and 09h00...what a joke our flights was at 08h008 So when we came home everything was charged to our credit card (my friends) also the city( tax)...the joke is also the last night they took the toilet paper away from the room...Myself I am in the hotelsector but this was a first!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Faustocoppi1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Florence hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Nice, France
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Hi friends! If you want to spend few days in Florence and get the flavour of art and history, this B&B certainly offers a very good solution. Opposite to the Dante's House and Museum, the bedrooms are located in a historic and charming building. Therefore, you are in the very old town centre, short walk to all the amenities and interesting sites. They give you a voucher for the breakfast that you'll be able to have at a cafè few meters away (not opened on Sunday though!).
If you are by car, there is a private garage few meters away (remember to go there by walk first in order to have an idea of the route by car, otherwise you can get lost by GPS, what a labyrinth!). Basically you get taken a picture and charged with a fine for entering the historic centre by car BUT, as soon as you give your car details to the private garage, they'll communicate it to the police and you'll be cleared of any fine. You have to let your car keys to the garage. We even let all our christmas gifts in the car! The cost is €22 per night.
Cosy, clean and warm bedrooms. Quite dated bathrooms. The man at the reception is very kind and friendly.
Excellent location at a very reasonable price!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emilia m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012

There is an elevator, the room is clean and comfortable. The owner is very accommodating and quite nice. Breakfast is about a block away but worth the trip. We have now stayed twice, and really feel at home. The location cannot be better: out of one window we see the Ufizzi, out of the other window we see the Bargello. Reasonably priced. Free wifi.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cynthia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
B&B Il Gattopardo Firenze
B&B Il Gattopardo Firenze
#257 of 675 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Duomo
B&b Casa di Dante
B&b Casa di Dante
#388 of 675 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Locanda de' Pazzi
Hotel Locanda de' Pazzi
#323 of 675 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Tourist House Duomo
Tourist House Duomo
#583 of 675 in Florence
3.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Duomo
Relais Il Campanile
Relais Il Campanile
#253 of 675 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
Santa Croce
A Teatro B&B
A Teatro B&B
#248 of 675 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sani Tourist House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sani Tourist House

Property: Sani Tourist House
Address: Piazza Dei Giuochi 1, 50122, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #364 of 675 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sani Tourist House 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Sani Tourist House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing