We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Accademia House
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
Piccolo Hotel(Florence)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Orto De Medici(Florence)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    Hotel Cimabue(Florence)
    View Hotel
    Good 3.5/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Breakfast included
    Room Mate Luca(Florence)
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Breakfast included
    Hotel Enza(Florence)
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    • Free Wifi
    Athenaeum Hotel(Florence)
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Breakfast included
    View Hotel
    Average 3/5
    • Free Wifi
    Reviews (188)
    Filter reviews
    188 results
    Traveler rating
    115
    53
    10
    7
    3
    Traveler type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    115
    53
    10
    7
    3
    See what travelers are saying:
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    62 - 67 of 188 reviews
    Reviewed October 6, 2009

    My wife and I had a wonderful stay! The bed and breakfast was about 4 long blocks from the central part of Florence. This was both a good thing, in that it was away from the touristy section of town, and a bad thing, in that each night ended with a little longer walk. However, it was in the student section of town, so it felt lest touristy in general. The highlight of the place is Marco, the owner of the bed and breakfast. He is incredibly freindly and helpful, and gives great advice on restaurants, places to visit, and areas of town to avoid. He also speaks English extremely fluently, given he lived in the U.S.. Breakfast is included, but is not on site, but instead at the cafe just across the street (literally). The room itself was VERY large, clean, and air tight so it was very quiet at night. The bathroom was also large, and the bed was the most comfortable we slept in on our trip. Overall highly recommended!

    • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank winoandfoodie
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed September 30, 2009

    Accademia House is a bed and breakfast located a short walk from Piazza San Marco, and the Accademia (which houses the David by Michelangelo) but in a more residential, less touristic area. It consists of three or four large rooms in an old (16th Century) building on the first floor. There is no elevator but Marcos Viti the Innkeeper made it his business to be available to help carry luggage and make you comfortable. The room was spotless and the bathroom was modern with a nice shower. Great towels. Room air conditioner was available. Breakfast was provided (coffee and pastry) at a nearby coffee shop. Marcos was terrific. He is a young energetic man who really knows Florence. He was knowledgeable about night clubs, bars, and restaurants and was helpful in making reservations etc, calling cabs etc, providing maps and other essential information. Overall, this was a friendly, pleasant and reasonable way to visit Florence.

    • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank RJKStLouisMO
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed September 29, 2009

    Accademia House consists of a first-floor apartment, in an traditional Florence-style street-side block. It is located just 10 minutes walk from the centre of Florence. On arrival via taxi from the station, we found a single ground-floor door with a push-button intercom, with Accademia House labelled against one of the buttons. There was no other distinguishing sign to confirm we had arrived!

    When the owner, Marco, opened the door we were presented with a dingy, narrow and very steep staircase going up to the first floor. Just off the first-floor landing, you will find the entrance to Marco's apartment. Inside, we were guided through a small hallway to our room (there are two other rooms in the apartment that Marco rents out to tourists). we had opted for the Luxury Room.

    The room is large with a vaulted terracotta brick ceiling. The walls are plastered. There were two windows that opened onto the street outside. The room was furnished with a large bed, wardrobe & side-board/drawers in antique style. There was also a large, glass-covered table, small occasional table, two arm chairs, dining chair, small fridge, very small portable TV with no remote, various lamps and a fan. The bathroom is off the main room and has been recently furnished with a modern suite, bidet and shower.

    Marco is a rather brusque, direct man and some may find his manner rather off-putting. However, he took us through the best areas to see in Florence on a map and said if there was anything we needed, just to ask. Marco also lives in the apartment but is often off-site.

    Plus-Points:
    Proximity to Florence centre

    Negative Points:
    Florence is a noisy city at night. With street cleaning, refuse bin emptying, car clamping and car removal activities all going on into the early hours in the street outside. We couldn't sleep with the windows open, and although the room had an air-con unit - the remote control didn't work.

    Breakfast vouchers are given which are traded for a coffee and two cakes, or coffee and a sandwich in the cafe' opposite (not much choice!).

    The room is not furnished with any facilities for making a drink, nor any utensils (e.g. knives/forks/glasses). We had to ask for these, which Marco took from his own kitchen. There wasn't even a bottle of water in the fridge and the fridge was so noisy we had to switch it off at night.

    The bed was very soft and only had two slim pillows. We found two other pillows in the wardrobe, one with no pillow-case and the other with a dirty non-matching case. These pillows were nothing more than bags filled with wool - or so they felt! When we asked for two decent pillows we were told by Marco that he didn't have any.

    The linen and towels are stated as changed every three days or on change of guest. We had to ask for the bedding to be changed after the three days.

    We did complain to Marco about the "standard" of our "Luxury" room and although he was "challenging", he did offer to make no charge at all. We felt this was too generous and offered to meet him 50/50.

    What Accademia House needs is more care and attention to the travellers needs. It is not cheap, but offers a very basic standard of accommodation, well below our expectations. I am sure Marco can do more, for not much investment, which would make the accommodation more agreeable.

    • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank AngusSouthShropshire
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed September 13, 2009

    We found the location of Accademia House to be great--a short walk to San Marco and the Accademia, and not a long walk to get anywhere else. At the same time, we loved being on a small, quiet street. We enjoyed the simplicity and good taste of the furnishings in our large airy room. And Marco was very helpful in so many ways, with suggestions of what to see and when to see it, restaurant tips and even art books to enjoy between museum visits. Whatever we needed, Marco was happy to assist us.

    I would be very happy to go back and send friends to the Accademia House any time.

    • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank RHSLosAngeles
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed August 19, 2009

    The room was very clean with all the amenities I could need. Marco was the treasure within. I had traveled alone and was somewhat apprehensive about this first time vist.
    I do not speak Italian and did not know anyone here...I was being a gutsy female. Also, i was staying for a couple of weeks. Marco was very very helpful. Ordinary things that would seem difficult had Marco not helped were now a lot easier. But, he went beyond what he had to do as the innkeeper to be sure that i knew what to do and got what i needed for a comfortable and enjoyable stay.

    The room was very nice and very clean. This was a real find for me.

    • Stayed: August 2009, traveled solo
      • Value
      • Location
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank florence2009
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    View more reviews