We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Serene rest away from the madding crowds”
Review of SanGaggio House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
SanGaggio House
Ranked #129 of 642 Florence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A Serene rest away from the madding crowds”
Reviewed December 4, 2013

San Gaggio House was not our first choice but it should have been. When the original booking with another B & B was unable to be honoured we were referred to this wonderful establishment. Philomena was a gracious and friendly host with impeccable english. Once settled we could not ask for better base to explore Florence. Clean room the best bed we sleep in while in Florence and a great breakfast looking out to a lovely peaceful garden. Thankyou to Philomena & family to coming to our rescue for three brilliant nights in Florence.

Room Tip: We had the front room which was large and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AWDVERADA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    61
    8
    5
    1
See reviews for
41
216
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2013

This is a great spot to stay in Florence. It is about 15 minutes by foot from the Porta Romana. The building is a lovely terraced home with a great back courtyard with a large fruit tree and views of the other homes nearby. It is a bit of a hike up the hill back, but the buses and taxis are all accessible and stop at the end of the road.

The hostess Flamina was extremely helpful and the rooms were kept in spotless condition. This is a traditional terraced home so if you are not keep on going up a flight of stairs, head for a room on the first floor. We opted for the room on the second floor and what a view! Standing on the balcony first thing in the a.m. and watching the clouds clear to see the Duomo was unbelievable. If you are looking for a late nightcap or lunch nearby, go over the top of the Senise road and on the decline you'll find a super little café that serves wine, paninis and colourful desserts. It proved to be a great option if trekking back into the city did not seem appealing. If you enjoy bed and breakfasts, this one is absolutely super.

FYI - the mosquito thing - well they are everywhere in Florence but this is the first place I've stayed where the hosts pre-equip your room with plug ins and we had no problems on that front.

Room Tip: If you are going for romance, pay the extra and take the upper rooms. the lower rooms are lovely al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hottons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kastav, Croatia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 30, 2013

We did a lot of research where to stay in Florence and we didnt regret for a second to choose Sangaggio, the place is really quiet, the rooms and place overall looks really nice, everything was more than you could expect from B&B. It is only ten minutes walk from Boboli and maybe 20 minutes from Ponte Vecchio (if you don't want ot walk a cab is 8 eur), the biggest advantage for those who will come with the car is that you have a free parking space. Flaminina was more then helpfull and if ever going back to Florence (and we hope we will) we would stay again in Sangaggio. In the end i dont think we could find a better value for money.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ivica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester. Essex
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stayed at the Sangaggio house for two nights. Upon booking we expected what was advertised, "a french four poster bed" with good views. On arrival, the hostess was very welcoming and very helpful by giving us a map of Florence with recommended places to see and restaurants to eat at. We were taken to our room. Very compact, no four poster bed, the toilet (when flushed) continued to fill with water, the shower was so small that you had difficulty to bend down ad wash your legs/feet. the shower doors would fall off. The bed was not what was advertised, a standard bed not a "french style bed" comfortable would be the only positive. And, as the title says, if you can handle being subjected to multiple mosquito bites then a stay here is for you. Both my girlfriend and i were subjected to well over 10 bites. I was close to finding other accommodation as the thought of paying £100 a night to be bitten repeatedly was a real turn off. Unfortunately i was too polite to complain. But i feel others need to know how our stay went. Oh another moan, (sorry) Our room was at the front of the house so when other guests were entering or exiting the place the door would slam loud enough to wake you up and the walls were thin enough to hear other guests conversations. It was a shame as on paper this looked a lovely place to stay. Fortunately Florence itself made up for all the bad things that happened at Sangaggio.

Room Tip: Make sure your room is at the back of the house and make sure your room is what is described. If you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KieronHealy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We returned from a wonderful holiday in Florence, and our house flooded 36 hours later, hence a bit of delay in writing this review.
We stayed 15 nights at SanGaggio House, from Sept 6-20, trying to see everything in Florence, and using the city as a base from which to explore Tuscany. (I really hate packing and unpacking every day or two).
We knew that the hotel was a bit of a hike from the tourist hot spots, but since we we were staying15 nights, the calm and quiet area, and the green backyard was a lovely refuge after a full day of trekking the cobblestones in a busy city. And Flaminia could make taxis appear any time, in 3 minutes flat!
I don't need to reiterate the fabulous breakfasts in the loggia (they were), the view of the Duomo from our room (!!), the lovely, clean and tidy house, or Flaminia's delightful hospitality. But did you know she can arrange for perfect weather, too? (almost joking)...
We knew there were hills (hello, it's Tuscany!), we knew it wasn't downtown (did our homework), and knew it wasn't a "hotel"... (B&B travel suits us just fine. We are independent travellers/tourists, and don't usually need much help deciding what to see or how to find it.)
Flaminia runs a lovely little spot that we found clean, comfortable, relaxing and quiet. If you only have a couple of days, it is a bit removed from the touristy areas, but that was a plus for us.
Cheers, Sheila & Peter

Room Tip: Since the trip was for our anniversary, we asked for "a room with a view", when we first m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheila076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 29, 2013

My wife and I just stayed at the SanGaggio house for the past three nights. We were in the middle leg of our honeymoon trip throughout Italy.

For my TA friends planning a future trip to Florence, here's my rundown of the place:

First, the good ...

1) Flaminia - Our host, Flaminia, was very, very friendly and helpful. Like the other reviewers have said, she and her staff make breakfast every morning (although I certainly wouldn't use superlatives to describe it - it was the equivalent of what you might find at a good hotel in the US).

2) Location - The house is on top of a hill in an upper-middle class residential neighborhood on the outskirts of Florence. It overlooks the Boboli Gardens, and - for fans of Dan Brown out there - it's a hop, skip and jump away from where Langdon passed by, i.e. the Porta Romana is right down the hill.

Next, the not-so-good ....

1) Our Scare - We arrived on a Wednesday evening at 8pm. When our taxi dropped us off, we found a sign on the gate that read "Check in time is from 2:30 to 5:30pm. Call XXXX for after hours check in. Do not ring the door bell." Since we didn't have an international cell phone, we weren't able to make a call. We then trekked down the hill and down a dark road - with our heavy luggage in tow - looking for someone who could help us make a call. Long story short, we lucked out, but we were close to just finding another hotel.

2) WiFi - There's free wifi at the house, but it is horribly unreliable. It cuts out about every 10 minutes, and when it's on, it's slow.

3) Mosquitoes - Both my wife and I were bit at least five times each by mosquitoes. Be ready with insect repellent.

4) Privacy - As other commenters have mentioned, the walls are very thin and it's hard not to be bothered by other guests (even those who are not loud). On our last night, there was a neighbor who was playing live music (drums and singing) up until about midnight. Luckily, we'd grown accustomed to staying up late, but I can see how others would be bothered by this.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

I would like to thank Flaminia for all her help and freshly cooked breakfast every morning. The choice of breakfast yummies was numerous. My room was lovely with a nice view. I enjoyed sitting in the lounge room after a long day of walking, it was just like home. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JHConquest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Betania
Hotel Villa Betania
#67 of 411 in Florence
524 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Belvedere - Florence
Villa Belvedere - Florence
#182 of 411 in Florence
200 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Della Robbia
Hotel Della Robbia
#197 of 411 in Florence
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Villino il Leone
Villino il Leone
#264 of 642 in Florence
148 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mia Palace
Mia Palace
#255 of 642 in Florence
96 reviews
1.7 mi away
I Parigi
I Parigi
#87 of 642 in Florence
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SanGaggio House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SanGaggio House

Property: SanGaggio House
Address: Viale Cardinal Leopoldo 62, 50124, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #129 of 642 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — SanGaggio House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your SanGaggio House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sangaggio House Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing