We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but not without issues”
Review of SanGaggio House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
SanGaggio House
Ranked #123 of 656 Florence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 29, 2013

My wife and I just stayed at the SanGaggio house for the past three nights. We were in the middle leg of our honeymoon trip throughout Italy.

For my TA friends planning a future trip to Florence, here's my rundown of the place:

First, the good ...

1) Flaminia - Our host, Flaminia, was very, very friendly and helpful. Like the other reviewers have said, she and her staff make breakfast every morning (although I certainly wouldn't use superlatives to describe it - it was the equivalent of what you might find at a good hotel in the US).

2) Location - The house is on top of a hill in an upper-middle class residential neighborhood on the outskirts of Florence. It overlooks the Boboli Gardens, and - for fans of Dan Brown out there - it's a hop, skip and jump away from where Langdon passed by, i.e. the Porta Romana is right down the hill.

Next, the not-so-good ....

1) Our Scare - We arrived on a Wednesday evening at 8pm. When our taxi dropped us off, we found a sign on the gate that read "Check in time is from 2:30 to 5:30pm. Call XXXX for after hours check in. Do not ring the door bell." Since we didn't have an international cell phone, we weren't able to make a call. We then trekked down the hill and down a dark road - with our heavy luggage in tow - looking for someone who could help us make a call. Long story short, we lucked out, but we were close to just finding another hotel.

2) WiFi - There's free wifi at the house, but it is horribly unreliable. It cuts out about every 10 minutes, and when it's on, it's slow.

3) Mosquitoes - Both my wife and I were bit at least five times each by mosquitoes. Be ready with insect repellent.

4) Privacy - As other commenters have mentioned, the walls are very thin and it's hard not to be bothered by other guests (even those who are not loud). On our last night, there was a neighbor who was playing live music (drums and singing) up until about midnight. Luckily, we'd grown accustomed to staying up late, but I can see how others would be bothered by this.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (316)
There are newer reviews for SanGaggio House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

36 - 42 of 316 reviews

Reviewed September 27, 2013

I would like to thank Flaminia for all her help and freshly cooked breakfast every morning. The choice of breakfast yummies was numerous. My room was lovely with a nice view. I enjoyed sitting in the lounge room after a long day of walking, it was just like home. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JHConquest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the SanGaggio House for 6 days / 5 nights in mid-Sept and it was a great place. The place is big, clean and with a great breakfast. Flaminia was the perfect host and always checked on us to make sure that our needs were met. She also made the best cappuccinos around.

Flaminia was very knowledgeable about what do and see in Florence and always gave us great recommendations.

We recommend this place to anyone wanting to have a great time in Florence.

Room Tip: Make sure to look at all of the different rooms before you make your selection. I didn't do tha...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeoGarrido27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We stayed a few nights with Flaminia and were very happy with our choice. The B&B was a little way out of the center which it is not a bad thing if you want peace and quiet. The area was residential, but Flaminia recommended 2 excellent local restaurants where the rib eye steak was well worth choosing and sharing between 2. She also booked for us the visit to the Uffizi and to Tuscany and Siena and prepared some food for us. Our room overlooked the city and we were able to enjoy the view while sipping some wine before and after our meals in the evenings. It was just delightful. Our bathroom was very small, and so was the shower!The walk to town was easy, and we took our time to walk up the hill again in the evening! It was not that bad as we chose to dine locally - cheaper and closer!
Our breakfasts, served on the terrace, were copious and the homemade pastries absolutely delicious. Thank you so much Flaminia. You are a wonderful host!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MillbrookCottage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

San Gaggio House gave us a scenic, romantic room, a thoughtfully prepared breakfast in a beautiful setting, and a great base of operation from which to start our sightseeing day. Our hostess was truly outstanding. Flaminia was professional, efficient, and informative while still being personally charming and friendly. She was available when needed yet never obtrusive. Our room was almost perfect. An extra shelf in the bedroom and a toilet paper holder in the bathroom would be welcome additions, but their absence did not detract from the room's classic ambience and fantastic view. This B&B is a solid 20 minute walk from town, but the bus stop is less than a 5 minute walk and the buses run at least every 30 minutes. We took the bus into or out of town without trouble every day for 4 days. We used an ATAF bus map to plan our route, and our Firenze Card made the ride free of charge. The short distance from the city also gave us the chance to see a more intimate portrait of day to day life. We hope to see Flaminia and stay at San Gaggio again some day!

Room Tip: Our second floor room with a balcony overlooked the city and gave us a romantic, beautiful scene thr...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KBandSZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

San Gaggio is a pleasant residential area on a hill which is about 15min walk from the centre of Florence. The B&B is tastefully decorated and very pleasant, good location and fair price. The breakfast was special with the freshly baked pastries. But the best point is indeed Flaminia, who is an excellent host, she will ensure your stay is the best it could possibly be and assist you in booking restaurants, transport, etc. We would be happy to come back.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Loidezinha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We stayed 4 nights at SanGaggio House and loved it. We needed a later check-in because our train wasn't arriving in Florence until 7pm, Flaminia was very accommodating with this and even when we missed our later check-in she made sure that someone was around to let us in.
The room was basic, clean and had everything that you'd need; including air-con, space for luggage and a comfy bed.
The location was quite a walk into Florence (20-30mins to the station), but really near to the gardens and only 5 minutes walk to the bus stop (€1.20, runs regularly and takes about 10mins); we tended to walk into the city and then get the bus back.
The trip into city was worth it, as being out of the city meant that there was a lovely garden and terrace which breakfast (the best we had in Italy) was served on.
Flaminia is a lovely host, she helped us with making museum bookings, recommended some good restaurants and truly made us feel at home. I would definitely stay at SanGaggio again, it was get value for money and I wouldn't let the distance from the city put you off (even if you don't have a car).

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sian V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
0.2 mi away
Villa Belvedere - Florence
Villa Belvedere - Florence
#194 of 411 in Florence
204 reviews
0.4 mi away
Classic Hotel
Classic Hotel
#222 of 411 in Florence
184 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villino il Leone
Villino il Leone
#342 of 656 in Florence
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Casale dei Cento Acri
Casale dei Cento Acri
#7 of 311 in Florence
246 reviews
1.7 mi away
I Parigi
I Parigi
#86 of 656 in Florence
252 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mia Palace
Mia Palace
#254 of 656 in Florence
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SanGaggio House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SanGaggio House

Address: Viale Cardinal Leopoldo 62, 50124, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #123 of 656 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range: $67 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — SanGaggio House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your SanGaggio House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sangaggio House Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing