We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just OK”
Review of Hotel Aldobrandini

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Aldobrandini
Ranked #236 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Omaha, NE
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Just OK”
Reviewed June 14, 2010

we booked this hotel directly and paid 70E per night. we knew this hotel would be very basic, but when we arrived we were a little surprised. the woman working when we got there did not know any english, and we had a very hard time checking in. there are a lot of stairs at this hotel as well. we were put on the very top floor, and had to take luggage up a winding staircase in order to get to our room.

the room itself was very, very basic. our bathroom was small and we had a hard time taking a shower without totally flooding the bathroom. when I booked the room I had asked if they had air conditioning and was told yes. however it was not turned on when we arrived. when I asked I was told that it was not warm enough yet (it was in the mid 80's when we were there). Finally on the third and final day, the owner gave us the remote to the ac.

Ignazio was very helpful when we asked him questions about the area and he was able to book us Accademia tickets in advance, which was very helpful.

The location is very good- it is only a few blocks from the train station and a couple of blocks from the Duomo. But there is a LOT of street noise, especially when you have to have your window open because there is no air conditioning. And the street that runs by is a main area that goes to the San Lorenzo market, so there is constant traffic, yelling, honking and the noise from setting up the shopping stalls.

Overall we would not stay here again. However if you are okay with very basic accomodations and needed an inexpensive place to stay this would be okay.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brooklyn24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    96
    70
    19
    9
See reviews for
13
107
68
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2010

Admittedly this hotel was forgettable. However I did not have any negative experience like a few of the other reviewers. The reception was adequate, and the room was acceptable. It was clean enough, and nothing seemed out of sorts. The location was its strong point, centralized between the trainstation and all major sights. Now one thing that can not be missed under any circumstance is the exceptional Panini shop across the street to the left when exiting. Of all the expensive Italian meals I had around Italy, those simple paninis stand above all else in my mind. I would have rather missed seeing the David than not eating one of those sandwiches (of which I had 3 during my stay). However if proximity to one of Europe's best sandwiches isn't reason enough to stay at this hotel, than I should mention that it isn't perhaps the choicest of neighborhoods. Outside the entrance some scruffy character offered to sell me Hash, and the vendor stall directly opposite the door sold a vast array of knives and other assorted blades. You may be getting the idea now that the Sandwich really skewed my judgement of the Aldobrandini, and you're probably right. Did I mention the panini shop across the street ?

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DistrictSelectman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
2 reviews
Reviewed December 18, 2009

Was in Firenze for just one night in January 2009 and stayed at the Hotel Aldobrandini. The hotel is located in the perfect spot if you want to be within walking distance to all the city's must-sees. We paid only 65 euros for the night which included breakfast. The breakfast was simple, but tasty and essentially free. January is cold and the room was kept very warm. Ignazio was very friendly. Definitely recommend to anyone looking for a budget hotel. Didn't experience any of the negatives written by other reviewers.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank h2ogirlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed November 18, 2009

Very nice hotel! The owner is very friendly and gives you every type of information you could need to make your stay in Firenze a real experience. Also, it's really cheap, even when it includes breakfast. And the most important thing?? It's in the middle of the city, so every landmark is just a few steps away. Maybe the trip to San Miniato al Monte could be a little hard, specially if you're going during the summer, but it's a place you must visit.
In this hotel you'll find a bed, a bathroom, food and a lot of places to go!

Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank MPSalgado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, TX
1 review
Reviewed November 18, 2009

The hotel was wonderful. The rooms were clean, the breakfast was tasty, the hotel manager was fantastic, and we would go back in a heartbeat. For us the hotel was difficult to locate since historical buildings in Florence can't have large signs on them (thank god). However, asking a few friendly folks on the street put us in the right location easily. It is within walking distance of the train/bus depot and close to many of Florence's landmarks. A must stay!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank odomr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2009

On a 3 week vacation through Europe I was so excited to find this "gem" of a hotel. After only a few hours my outlook began to change. The hotel is owned by a brother and sister...the brother is very nice and truly wants to be accomodating but the sister nothing short of rude - will not acknowledge guests and makes your stay quite difficult. The rooms are not well kept - dirty sheets, backed up toilet, mosquitos EVERYWHERE.

Worst of all, my second (and last) night there I heard the night manager get into a screaming match with another man that carried on for over an hour. When asking other guests if they heard it the next mornign at breakfast the couple next to me said they were so scared they couldnt sleep the rest of the night (much like myself). When I told a bar tender at a local pub where I was staying he also told me to be careful. I wouldn't recomend this place... no matter how cahrming the owner or the building.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank peach679
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Florence hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2009

We stayed here based on some good reviews others had written. We are not high class by any means. HOWEVER, I would NEVER stay at this hotel again. I can't put into words how bad it was. The bed was very hard and sagged. I couldn't even sleep. We were bit up by mosquited and left a note in Italian to please leave the windows shut - I had just killed all 10 in our room and didn't want to have to do it again that night. When we returned the window was wide open with the note still in front of the window. UGH!

Blood stains on the sheets from what I think were mosquitos I rolled over at night.

The shower drains so slow it backs up into the basin. The women who worked the front desk came across as very rude, she didn't speak a word to us as she checked us in. She lead us up the 2.5 flights of stairs carrying our large suitcases with out telling us we could use an elevator. Once checked in we had to climb a very tight spiral staircase another flight to get to our room (with our large suitcases). Down was even worse than up with luggage.

Breakfast was a cold roll with butter and jam and coffee out of a machine.

We couldn't get out of there fast enough. Made us think of staying in a college guy's bedroom, only worse.

The night desk guy was watching porn on the computer clearly visible as you walked into the hotel. Nice.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MidwestGal73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel San Giovanni
Hotel San Giovanni
#255 of 411 in Florence
231 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Giappone
Hotel Giappone
#270 of 411 in Florence
93 reviews
San Lorenzo
Albergo Giovanna
Albergo Giovanna
#277 of 411 in Florence
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Ferretti
Hotel Ferretti
#272 of 411 in Florence
444 reviews
San Lorenzo
HOTEL LORENA
HOTEL LORENA
#135 of 411 in Florence
452 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Sole
Hotel Sole
#162 of 411 in Florence
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aldobrandini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aldobrandini

Property: Hotel Aldobrandini
Address: Piazza di Madonna Degli Aldobrandini 8, 50123, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Aldobrandini 1*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Aldobrandini reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aldobrandini Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing