We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel!”
Review of Hotel Aldobrandini

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Aldobrandini
Ranked #245 of 409 Hotels in Florence
Reviewed June 10, 2009

My wife and I stayed in Hotel Aldobrandini during our recent visit to Florence and couldn't have been happier. If you are expecting the typical budget hotel, you will be pleasantly surprised! Our room was quite large and everything worked wonderfully. The hotel's marvelous location and Iganzio's (the owner) helpful advice, recommendations, and assistance really made our time in Florence more enjoyable. I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ltsdd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (265)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

91 - 97 of 265 reviews

Reviewed April 2, 2009

I was trying to save money, but this place was too cheap. The bottom line is that you have to have air conditioning in the summer in Florence. The open windows let in the mosquitoes and noise. In one of our rooms, the shower was a curtain that encircled a tiny space that included the toilet. It was unusable, but we had two rooms so we all shared the real shower. Breakfast was very basic, but acceptable.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FamilyLlama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2008

The hotel is just about 5mins walk from the railway station and 10 steps away from the medici chapel.
The piazza outside the hotel is also bustling with shops, restaurants and take-aways.
The owner is friendly and ever willing to help us. (Though his sister didn't smile throughout our whole stay there)
Room and breakfast were decent.
We paid 75E for a night in a room with bathroom.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank jetlkh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2008

My husband and I just returned from our 2 week honeymoon in Italy. We started out in Venice, where our hotel was a 45 minute bus ride into the city. We then traveled to Florence. When we arrived in Florence and attempted to figure out how to get to our hotel, a gentleman at hotel reservations informed us it would be yet another LONG trek back and forth. We decided against staying at the hotel we booked, (hotel lido in case anyone is thinking of booking there, is very very far from the city) and we decided to see if we could reserve a room somewhere closer. As we approached hotel reservations again a different man handed us a brochure and began telling us about his little family run hotel, the hotel aldobrandini. He told us the cost as well as showed us some pictures and offered to show us the room and if we didn't like it, we didn't need to stay there. He simply wanted to offer it to us. We had also booked one night at the Grand Hotel Baglioni, which was about a block away from this hotel and when he heard that he couldn't believe we would want to stay at his "one star hotel" because baglioni was 4 stars. We stayed at this wonderful little hotel and it was probably one of our better experiences..simply because of this wonderful man. The room was simple, with a larger bathroom than most european hotels. there was one review that said the fan didn't work and that the cleanliness was an issue. First of all, we stayed in 2 different rooms at this hotel and there was no fan at all, and the rooms were always cleaned well. yes we slept with the window open one night and yes we got bitten by some misquitos, but you can't really blame the hotel for the bugs getting in. There is a spiral staircase from the check in area to the upper rooms so I would agree that if you have leg/foot/mobility problems you should avoid this hotel. Overall we had an excellent stay and found his little one star to be far better and more comfortable than the "grand hotel baglioni" which had beds that felt like plywood and more bugs with the window closed! I would recommend this hotel to anyone who is just looking for something simple and friendly with a wonderful atmosphere.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank claire1524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2008

On a trip to Italy in October 2007, we stayed in a fantastic hotel in Florence called Hotel Aldobrandini, (degli Aldobrandini 8, tel. [--]. www.hotelaldobrandini.it.) It was listed in the Rick Steves guide for 2007, but omitted in the 2008 edition--not sure why. Located near the Medici Chapels and San Lorenzo Market, we found the location very convenient. The amenities of the hotel are average--small but clean rooms, very quiet. The gem of this hotel is the hotel day manager, Ignazio. He is a delight! He was very welcoming when we arrived, and recommended to us an excellent restaurant very near the hotel (Palle d'Oro, 43-45 Via Sant'Antonino), where we enjoyed the best meals of our trip! Then, then next morning, Ignazio was in the breakfast area, cheerfully delivering our cappucinos during the hotel's streamlined but pleasant complimentary breakfast. Two caveats to this hotel--the street noise is noticeable, and the hotel's super narrow spiral staircase. If you have any issues with stairs or cannot carry your own luggage, ask in advance for a room on the ground floor.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oak_Hill_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2007

Our three week holiday in Italy was great except for our short stay in the Aldobrandini Hotel in Florence. Problems we encountered were a rude female receptionist, a humid noisy room with bugs, an ineffective fan, poor cleaning of the room and a lack of toilet paper and soap. When we complained to the manager, he only made excuses and said over and over again that he was sorry. For 70 euros a night, we could have done better. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CanadaTravelnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2007

I booked this hotel on the strength of the reviews on Tripadvisor and I've got to admit I was a bit skeptical at first but surprisingly our stay turned out really well. The hotel is rather basic and the lift was out of order when we arrived so we had to take our luggage up 3 flights of stairs. The young receptionist was polite and courteous despite the late hour. The room was small but very clean and the breakfast is simple but we found it satisfying for the price and the category of this establishment. Also there was a lot of noise during the night from the street outside. We really appreciated the smile and warmth of the owner who served us breakfast. This consisted of a couple of croissants and buns which were fresh and some butter/jam. The coffee and tea came from a dispensing machine and had a queer taste. Overall, I would stay here again since it is central and a port in a storm if you arrive late at night and don't feel like dragging your suitcases about in Florence. However, I don't recommend it for those suffering from claustrophobia (hardly room to swing a cat!) or those who are fussy on the quality of breakfast.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank jojo589
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Aline
Hotel Aline
#305 of 409 in Florence
43 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Ferretti
Hotel Ferretti
#276 of 409 in Florence
460 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Romagna
Hotel Romagna
#236 of 409 in Florence
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel Accademia
Hotel Accademia
#226 of 409 in Florence
302 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Centro
Hotel Centro
#314 of 409 in Florence
328 reviews
San Lorenzo
Lombardi Hotel
Lombardi Hotel
#206 of 409 in Florence
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aldobrandini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aldobrandini

Address: Piazza di Madonna Degli Aldobrandini 8, 50123, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Florence
Price Range: $46 - $77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Aldobrandini 1*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Aldobrandini reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aldobrandini Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing