We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice owner... Good location but rooms not too good.”
Review of Hotel Aldobrandini

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Aldobrandini
Ranked #241 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Level Contributor
68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Very nice owner... Good location but rooms not too good.”
Reviewed October 9, 2012 via mobile

the owner is very nice, good service and attended, breakfast average and eatable, good location (a short distance to the terminal and all the turistic places) but the bathrooms awful...the building even inside is very old.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MightyMMigue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    96
    70
    19
    9
See reviews for
13
107
68
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kihei, Hawaii
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

The location near the train station can't be beat! Its in the heart of the city near lots of great attractions and was very easy to find. We had our own room with a shared bathroom and it worked out great for our 1-night stay. If we had stayed longer, I'd have sprung for a private bath, but in the time we were there, I never had to wait. The owner was so nice and accommodating, the bed was comfortable, and the A/C worked great. The reviewers complaining about noise must have had their windows open, because when they're closed, you can't hear anything on the street below. The breakfast was delicious and filling and everything was clean and in order. I highly recommend Hotel Aldobrandini for a stay in Florence! I'd stay there again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ERoe11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Booked one night here as we were returning a rented car before catching a train. Certainly the price was right but.........

The Hotel is located in an interesting older building and is located near many of Florence's attractions. It is within easy walking distance of the train station. The entrance is a huge automated wooden door that creaks as it opens and closes and people with a vivid imagination will think they are entering something other than a hotel.

On the negative side we found the noise factor to be quite high & it was so until well after midnight. The woman who checked us in had definitely forgotten to take her friendly pill that day & I suspect everyday. Other staff, particularly the owner were certainly better in this regard. They could use a light in the stair case as it is pitch dark dark at night and while there is an elevator available there is no good reason to render the stairs unusable after dark.

Positively we had no real complaints relative to cleanliness which is obviously a top priority. Breakfast was included but given time restraints we did not have an opportunity too try it.

This is a OK option for the budget conciouse traveler but I would prefer to add a few euros and stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rayhar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Very conveniently located for both the station and main attractions. Found the rooms and bathrooms to be very clean and met all my needs for an overnight stay, even including a TV which was an unexpected surprise. The owner was extremely friendly and went out of his way to be of assistance. If you are on a tight budget, you could do worse than spend a night or 2 here.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judith12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhinebeck, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2012 via mobile

A bit hard to find, and VERY basic. Main problem was the disgusting bathroom, with mold in between shower tiles, very moldy shower curtain for the shower/bidet combo, and the dirty and cracked plastic cup. Had the bathroom not been so awful, I could recommend the hotel, because the owner was very nice and very helpful. I wasn't expecting much since it is only one star, but I was expecting it to be clean! Narrow winding stairs to rooms on second floor would not be suitable for anyone with mobility issues.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank cquimby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Florence hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2012 via mobile

the location is perfect. Shocking first time visited bathroom..But for 2 days couldn't found better for this price.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RivikRU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2012

Great location close to station , practically in the middle of the leather markets, 5-10 minute walk to all attractions. Staff very friendly and helpful including not minding that we arrived at midnight. Rooms basic but very clean and tidy. Price not particularly cheap for one star hotel but given all the positives probably reasonably priced .Breakfast included coffee and croissant.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frodi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Albergo Giovanna
Albergo Giovanna
#280 of 422 in Florence
53 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Giappone
Hotel Giappone
#269 of 422 in Florence
91 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Sole
Hotel Sole
#156 of 422 in Florence
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel San Giovanni
Hotel San Giovanni
#253 of 422 in Florence
227 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Il Bargellino
Hotel Il Bargellino
#109 of 422 in Florence
451 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Nizza
Hotel Nizza
#167 of 422 in Florence
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aldobrandini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aldobrandini

Property: Hotel Aldobrandini
Address: Piazza di Madonna Degli Aldobrandini 8, 50123, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#21 Best Value Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Aldobrandini 1*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Aldobrandini reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aldobrandini Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing