We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Relais Piazza Signoria
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect Location”
Reviewed April 17, 2012

On our second leg of the trip we returned to Florence for a few more evenings and stayed at this boutique hotel. You just can't beat the location on the Piazza Signoria, the minute you walk out the door you are caught up in the sights, smells and crowds of this lovely city.

I was concerned about the noise at this hotel as shortly after I made the reservation they sent me an email explaining that their buildings historical facade had slipped and they would be repairing it during the time we were staying there. My first thought was, how often do you hear of a facade slipping? They offered us an upgrade to an apartment, though it didn't have a view of the piazza, and a rate reduction. I felt that was generous and decided to stay anyway.

It is a small hotel with limited staff that aren't available all the time. You enter off the street into a long hall and head up to the 1st floor to reception which is really just a small room. Unfortunately the neighbor had sewer issues so it was pretty stinky in the hall but the smell didn't make it past there.

They weren't ready for us to check-in even though we had kept them updated on our arrival time so we left our bags and headed out for lunch while they cleaned the room. Though this is a historical building the rooms are decorated in a contemporary style. Ours was an apartment so it was large with a kitchenette, sitting area, large beautiful bathroom and bedroom. The decor is natural woods and stone with white furniture and linens, a bit sparse but very comfortable.

The views were over the rooftops to the Uffizi on one side and the hills surrounding Florence on the other. The sunsets were pretty spectacular!

Other than the first day we didn't really see any staff until we checked out. I believe they offered breakfast coupons for the cafe next door as there's no on-site restaurant.

It is a nice boutique hotel, if we hadn't had the upgrade I think it would have been a bit overpriced for the services. I would stay here again due to the quality of the rooms and location.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the upper floor with views of the rooftops if you don't like noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trvlmuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    379
    142
    24
    9
    3
See reviews for
111
333
8
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2012

Just came back from staying in this apartment and I could say that this place was better than most of hotel. The room was spacious, we choose studio room and it was very large, we bought 2 big luggage and cabin size luggage, and there're places for every luggage. The bed was king size and so comfortable. There're small dining table with 4 chairs, small kitchen in the corner. Two large window facing Piazza. Clean and spotless bathroom.
Location was perfect, situated on the Piazza Signoria, 5 minutes walking to Duomo, 10 minutes walking to Santa Croce, 20 minutes walking to Santa Maria Novella Station.
A lot of shops, restaurants, snack bar and gelatos nearby, which most of them were open until late.
No doubt that we will stay here again and recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nikendayu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2012

This review is long overdue--We spent our 2008 honeymoon traveling around Italy and this was one of our favorite hotels. The location couldn't be better: it is situated right on the Piazza Signoria, next to the Uffizi Museum. Our room was very clean and contemporary and extremely comfortable. The staff was very knowledgeable and friendly and made us feel completely at home. We would most definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chalk08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca NY
Level Contributor
69 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2012

This was our first time in Florence and we were totally happy with our choice. The view of the Piazza was great fun, the beds were comfortable, the amenities lovely. The hosts were only in the office during the day, but they were completely helpful and gracious and helped us with many aspects of our trip. We stayed in two different rooms (because we traveled elsewhere midweek) and each was marvelous in different ways. The first had a magnificent bathroom with a large tub and separate shower. The second had a more typical bathroom but had an extra sitting room with a couch and second TV. They both had kitchenettes. The location is very convenient, with many sites within easy walking distance.

Room Tip: If you are a very light sleeper, you might want to request a room at the back of the hotel, but if y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 3300Photos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyiv, Ukraine
Level Contributor
136 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2012

The best views and mattress in Florence, high speed wired internet.

Check-in/check-out at business hours only, you should call Rosa to cell phone if coming before or after, rooms are on different floors, walls quite thin.

Was before the renovation started, check for impact on experience in other reviews.

The price per night is a little bit high for what you get, but magic location, location, location....

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kostiantyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belgium
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2012

We stayed at the 5th floor with a nice view on the famous Piazza Signoria. The appartment was new and clean, the bed was very good and we really enjoyed the shower. The maid service was OK because every day we discussed the time she would come. You can have the best breakfast at Cafe Rivoire (because Relais Piazz Signoria is not a hotel). The owners were friendly (enough) and nobody bothered too much about our 2 small dogs, which we really appreciate(d)!
However the noise at night kept us out of sleep. During the night too many loud groups of kids crowd the piazza and around 0500hrs in the morning all small cars of the waste-disposal gather to put in all the waste they have gathered in a bigger truck. We visited Florence in March when it was not too crowded yet.
So only if you really had a very good dinner with lots of wine you will be able to sleep and not notice what is happening outside. Because these reasons -which are not controlled by the owners- we rate relais piazz signoria 3 stars.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andykok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
133 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2012

This is our second time with the Relais Piazza in Florence within 3 years. Same room as before (they only have 3-4 rooms), same month as before and same staff as before. The major reason for my less than great review had to do with the maid service. It was seriously lacking and at times, we felt like no one knew we were staying there. We had several times asked for fresh towels, toilet paper, shampoo and trash removal. The room had also been neglected for some time before our arrival. The air/heating system needed repairs and caused both of us to become sick with a dry cough. I was briefed on the construction/ building renovations well before arrival. They even discounted my room for this, as well as being a return guest. Maybe I should have seen this as a warning. What was perhaps the reason for this negative review was shutting down the hot water.... on a Friday morning and right in middle of my shower. When I thawed out asked about it, they said the hot water was shut for repairs.
Have you ever heard of a piece of paper slipped under my door, say the night before, so I could plan my shower around it??? What made things worst was that they showed no compassion or acknowledging any mistake on their part. Unlike most Europeans, I shower daily, so I simply can't understand waiting around for the next day to shower. Sorry guys, but the charm is gone.... and so is my patronage.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paul274Boston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#8 of 422 in Florence
3,463 reviews
Uffizi
Portrait Firenze
Portrait Firenze
#3 of 422 in Florence
502 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Degli Orafi
Hotel Degli Orafi
#31 of 422 in Florence
1,478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#23 of 422 in Florence
2,728 reviews
Uffizi
San Firenze Suites & Spa
San Firenze Suites & Spa
#5 of 422 in Florence
571 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Della Signoria
Hotel Della Signoria
#48 of 422 in Florence
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais Piazza Signoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Piazza Signoria

Property: Relais Piazza Signoria
Address: Via Vacchereccia 3 | Angolo Piazza Signoria, 50122, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Uffizi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 305 Specialty Lodging in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Relais Piazza Signoria 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relais Piazza Signoria, a discreet welcome in a unique location in Florence. Is a dream vacation a question of your point of view? All our Studio Deluxe and Studio Executive apartments face the Piazza della Signoria giving you an unforgettable view.The Attic/Penthouse is the ONLY apartment with private terrace. All type of apartment description are detailed regarding amenities and type of View. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Relais Piazza Signoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Piazza Signoria Florence
Relais Piazza Signoria Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing