We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent guide”

Artviva: The Original & Best Tours Italy
Book In Advance
More Info
$34.88*
and up
Fascinating Florence: Guided Walking Tour
More Info
$43.30*
and up
Michelangelo's David Tour
More Info
$76.98*
and up
Tales of Florence Walking Tour with Accademia Gallery Skip the Line Ticket with...
Ranked #4 of 349 Tours in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Acclaimed since 1996 for our great guides and tours, we offer the original, small-group Best of Tuscany tour, as well as wonderful guided tours of Florence, Venice, Rome and the Cinque Terre. Our tours are high-quality, entertaining, informative and fun! We love sharing Italy on a more personal level and with our small group sizes, we refuse to make you feel like a tourist. Our highly-qualified guides are passionate, have a sense of humour and enjoy bringing history to life. They include historians, aristocrats, wine makers, art sleuths, well-known journalists, guide writers, as well as talented artists and authors. What’s more, we are an ASTA approved, fully-licensed tour operator. We promise we are anything but ordinary, and we guarantee we are the Original & Best.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

While on a cruise to Italy,my wife and I did the walking tour of Florence. We cannot say enough about how good our guide, Sylvia, was getting there almost ruined the experience. We were picked up with our group in Livorno. Everything on the trip into the city was great. No traffic, making time. Got into Florence and our driver had no idea of how to get to the office to start our tour. We circled around one spot 4 times. One hour in Florence trying to find the office. Extremely disheartening. Finally found the office and Sylvia took over. She was a wealth of information, able to describe the history, use and little known facts of buildings we were walking by. Though she had to speed up tour because we were late and we had an appointment at Academia she didn't skip a beat and put up with our group even though we were cranky due to arriving late. The tour is great because it is up close and with a small group. At Academia she explained the highlights and then let us roam freely to thoroughly enjoy this wonderful museum and see the David up close.

Thank cory9416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artviva, Manager at Artviva: The Original & Best Tours Italy, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to respond to us. We’re thrilled you so enjoyed your guided tour with Sylvia! In regards to entering into Florence, recently the council closed off the historical city centre to traffic. They are now repaving many streets to make them more pedestrian friendly. Due to this, on the day of your visit there was a series of unannounced temporary closures meaning your driver could not get to our office using the regular routes. We’re glad that your guide was nonetheless able to show you all the tour inclusions despite this unusual start. Thank you again for your great review about our tour and guide!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,311)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,594 - 1,598 of 2,312 reviews

Reviewed October 28, 2012

We started our stay in Florence with the Original Florence Walk. Our tour guide, Helen, was a wealth of information on the city, it's people and role in Midieval and Renaissance European history, its architecture, and where to shop and go for deep dives into experiencing contemporary Florence. Her personal background in art and gift for story telling made the three hours fly by.
We then did the Ufizi and David tours the following afternoon. Our guide, Elizabeta, was equally engaging, and helped to see the story being told in each painting, or in the David. The Ufizi is a very big place, and we only saw a portion of it, but I feel that we got the best part, from the standpoint of the impact of the paintings. Both guides were skilled at managing crowds and enabling us to get the most out of the viewings in crowded conditions. Highly recommend ArtViva, and these tour guides if you can request them.

Thank Not50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artviva, Manager at Artviva: The Original & Best Tours Italy, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2012

Our guides are the best in town! Their various backgrounds and wealth of knowledge, each uniquely shape the tours. This, we feel, makes the experience more interesting, personal and real for our clients. Thank you for your kind words about Helen and Elisabetta, and how they managed to capture your group with their story telling abilities.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

What I liked about our Florence Walking Tour guide was her incredible depth of knowledge. She knew a lot
about the art, architecture, culture, history and politics of Renaissance
Florence etc. She delivered this information in an engaging way and brought
the streets to life.

Three hours is a long time to hold anyone's attention, and she did it
wonderfully. My group had a visually impaired woman, and our guide was very
respectful of her.

When passing other tour groups, I listened in to what their tour guides
saying, and it was nowhere near as interesting, detailed or informed as what
we were getting.

Art Viva's strength is the credentials and experience of its tour guides.
But, even more so, it is the ability to find tour guides who are excellent
communicators and know how to deliver information in an interesting way.

I did the Cinque Terre tour with another group and found it lacking in a lot
of information. On the tour, I met another solo traveller and recommended
she do the Florence Walking Tour with Art Viva.

She emailed me a few weeks ago to say she did two walking tours with Art
Viva and loved it. She says she's become an Art Viva snob. So have I.

Your tours might be a little more expensive than other groups, but after
experiencing 4 of your tours in Italy, I will NEVER go through any other
company again. Top marks to the three guides I had with Art Viva (2 in
Florence and 1 in Rome).

I went with you on the strength of the feedback on your website, and I was
not disappointed.

Thank gerty2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artviva, Manager at Artviva: The Original & Best Tours Italy, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2012

We want to thank you for writing this incredible review for Artviva. We work very hard to provide an optimal experience for our clients, hoping that in the end, they will feel fulfilled in their understanding and entertainment during their vacation. It makes us very happy to know that, not only you, but a client that you recommended, were so thoroughly impressed with our guides. It was a pleasure having you on tour with us, and if you ever make it back to Italy, come see us again!

Best wishes,

Artviva

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Having a five year old and an eleven year old in two consecutive tours, Ufizi then Academia was worrying me at first. But thanks to Brenda's interesting stories of the paintings, they were truly enjoying the museum experience. She truly was fun and caring towards the needs of everyone, especially if you have children, they will walk out with a lot of stories and knowledge. After the tour my 11 yr old daughter kept talking about the stories she heard from Brenda which shows how much she was into it. Brenda told everything clearly and to the point. My five year old son never took off his ear piece, he was listening the whole time. There was not one single whining or conplaining. It was the best museum experience i have had so far in my life. Thank you Brenda for your kindness, your knowledge and simply for making our experience an unforgettable one.

1  Thank denizderya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artviva, Manager at Artviva: The Original & Best Tours Italy, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2012

Thank you for your glowing comments about Brenda and our museum tours! Brenda is a fantastic guide, who enjoys spreading her knowledge to everyone. We are pleased to know that even your children took away some interesting stories and memories from their tours with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

I enjoyed everything about the tour. It was perfectly paced, the sights were interesting, the gondola and grand canal rides were fantastic and our tour guide was knowledgable and pleasant to be around.

Thank MoreMediterranean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artviva, Manager at Artviva: The Original & Best Tours Italy, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2012

Dear Jemma,

We are happy to get a review about our Venice tours!! It is great to hear that you enjoyed them so much. Thank you for taking time to comment on your experience.

Kind regards,

Artviva Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Artviva: The Original & Best Tours Italy also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Artviva: The Original & Best Tours Italy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing