We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best guides and walking tour of our 18-day vacation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Artviva: The Original & Best Tours Italy

Artviva: The Original & Best Tours Italy
Book In Advance
More Info
$31.87*
and up
Fascinating Florence: Guided Walking Tour
Ranked #4 of 323 Tours in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Acclaimed since 1996 for our great guides and tours, we offer the original, small-group Best of Tuscany tour, as well as wonderful guided tours of Florence, Venice, Rome and the Cinque Terre. Our tours are high-quality, entertaining, informative and fun! We love sharing Italy on a more personal level and with our small group sizes, we refuse to make you feel like a tourist. Our highly-qualified guides are passionate, have a sense of humour and enjoy bringing history to life. They include historians, aristocrats, wine makers, art sleuths, well-known journalists, guide writers, as well as talented artists and authors. What’s more, we are an ASTA approved, fully-licensed tour operator. We promise we are anything but ordinary, and we guarantee we are the Original & Best.
Castle Pines, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best guides and walking tour of our 18-day vacation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

My husband and I booked the "Original Florence in One Day Tour," spread out over two days time, which I highly recommend. Both of our guides were excellent. Brenda took us through the Accademia to see The David, and her enthusiasm was contagious. Helen was our guide on the walking and Uffizi tours. She too was knowledgeable and charming, and being an artist herself, gave us many insights into the wonderful art and architecture we experienced. This company uses guides who are native English speakers, which helped my hearing-impaired husband immensely.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Christine3737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artviva, Manager at Artviva: The Original & Best Tours Italy, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Thank you so much for the great compliment. It is rewarding for us to know that we offered the best tours during your 18 day trip. We can only hope to continue making that sort of impact on people during their visits to Italy. We appreciate you taking time to comment on our lovely guides. We are so thankful to have them as a part of our team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,082 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,864
    157
    32
    17
    12
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Tours”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

So far, we have taken the Venice in a day, Florence in a day, and the Day in Tuscany tours and have thoroughly enjoyed all of them. In Venice, our guides were Jennifer, Alessandra, and Christine. All were informative and entertaining. Loved the gondola ride.

In Florence, our guides were Florinda (walking tour) and Brenda (museums). Again, both were excellent and enthusiastic about the city and its art works.

Today we did the Day in Tuscany tour with Stefan. We were not disappointed with Stefan either. Stefan was entertaining and informative as well. He also was helpful in providing tips for getting around Florence and where to and not to shop!

We are looking forward to our tours in Rome when we get there.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank CarolG29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artviva, Manager at Artviva: The Original & Best Tours Italy, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear Carol,

We appreciate your reviews, and we are very pleased that we were able to provide you with so many great experiences during your trip to Italy. Hopefully, you will be able to make it back to Italy someday to see us again. Until then, best wishes!

Artviva Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Tuscany Bike tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

We decided to take a chance and visit the countryside by bike. We were thrilled with the tour. Jessica is an incredible guide. Definitely worth every penny.

Helpful?
Thank matcec89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artviva, Manager at Artviva: The Original & Best Tours Italy, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
I’m glad you enjoyed it! Come back and see me again sometime.

Kind regards,

Jessica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best way to see Florence in 1 day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

We are travelling with friends who have not been to Italy before. To make the most of the day we booked a morning walking tour of Florence and a guided tour of the Uffisi in the afternoon.
Charles was our superb morning guide who managed to distill several centuries of Florentine history into the 3 hours..we all felt we now have an understanding of the complexity that is Florence. Charles is passionate and so very knowledgable and we all felt we had known him for years. Try to book him as your guide..you will learn a lot.
In the afternoon our guide for the Uffisi was Niklaas..superb. The Uffisi can be very overwhelming but he let us through a fascinating tour,linking the art and history of the Renaissance..teaching each of us a lot about the art and artists. You can not do the Uffisi in one tour but you can return time after time and learn something new every time. Hopefully you can have Niklass as your guide..you will enjoy every minute

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Stella C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artviva, Manager at Artviva: The Original & Best Tours Italy, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
It’s great to hear that your group was so enthusiastic about Charles and Klass! Their passion and knowledge inspire others around them, which I’m sure you experienced during your tours. Thank you for your wonderful review of Artviva!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Yes-I would hire them again !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

Just came back from a terrific Medterainean Fall 2012 Crusise and hired this private tour company as a alterntative to ship offerings/Pisa for Florence. It was a very good decision. Better value with another traveling couple for the travel upgrades and customized insight sharing. We learned and experinced so much more with manny Q&A's from our tour leader Marco who has two young kids and would work well with any group / couple pairing. He took us to one of his favorate lunch resturants and the best gelato ice cream parlor we had in Itally. You don't get these tour perks with bus group!
Yes--I would hire them again for future trips to Itally.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Al P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artviva, Manager at Artviva: The Original & Best Tours Italy, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thank you for your kind review. We hope your trip was a memorable one!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Artviva: The Original & Best Tours Italy also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Artviva: The Original & Best Tours Italy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing