We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel. Great location.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Borghese Palace Art Hotel
Ranked #120 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Peoria, Illinois, Usa
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good hotel. Great location.”
Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I are in our 30s and from the US stayed at this hotel for the first time in Florence. We stayed based on previous reviews and wanted to write a review because we disagree with the most recent negative reviews. We found that all staff were helpful, including booking a personal tour. Virtually all you would want to see is within walking distance, and the free spa in the basement provided some relief to our feet and back at the end of the day, though one evening the hot tub was not so hot but was made up with the steamy sauna. The free breakfast had a good selection. The hotel is clean and furnishings are eclectic styled but newer. And there are some good eats nearby, including Ostentaria on the corner. The Borghese's only drawback for us was because of a cancelled flight we missed a day but still had to pay because it was within a certain window stated in their policy.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

776 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    344
    260
    110
    43
    19
See reviews for
115
405
48
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

we stayed at this hotel for one night only. blowned away by the pictures shown on the internet, but we might have expected too much. the size of the room is generous and they seem to have spent quite a bit of effort trying to look fab, but when u take a closer look, they haven't done much on the detail.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

This hotel was a last-minute booking because we decided to come to Florence for an extra day. The stay also coincided with the World Championship of Cycling Event so the entire city was completely booked. Needless to say, we paid way more than the actual rate of the room.

Upon checking into the hotel, the reception area seemed artsy and well decorated. But the lighting was dark and upon closer inspection, we noticed that the couches were stained and dirty. The room that we got was super small. Although there were contemporary furnishings, the place was so cramped that we couldn't sit down. As for the bathroom, the sink and faucets were a bit outdated, but worked ok. The shower stall was so small we found it difficult to take a real shower. We were supposed to get free WiFi, but the server was having issues so we were unable to connect during our stay. And finally, the bed was so saggy that my husband had a back cramp the next day.

The only saving grace for this hotel was the location, as others have mentioned. It was so central to all the sights, yet was on a quiet quaint street. Perhaps our bad experience was with that particular room, but our experience was that the hotel was a lot of smoke and mirrors to look good, but was in fact outdated and a bit run-down.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cchou0001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We visited this hotel on our honeymoon. The room was clean and well decorated. We has wi-fi. Breakfast had quite a selection (eggs, sausage, cold cuts, different types of break, yogurt..). Our favourite part was the spa/cellar. It was free to use (steam room, sauna, hot tub, fitness center). They set it up wonderfully for us with music and towels. It was a nice touch after a day of walking.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Killage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

My good vibes about this hotel were justified. Great location to all the major attractions. All hotel staff were very friendly and helpful - Guissepe on reception knew my husband's home town in UK and was extremely helpful with train timetables and how to buy tickets at the station etc. Used the spa ( should have used it more really) very relaxing - mood music/bird music playing whilst in the jacuzzi. Breakfast more than sufficient. Loved the art work in the hotel. Room 312 very quiet, lots of space and good bathroom. Also loved the history of the Borghese Palace next door. Would recommend and would also go back there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paolina436
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level 5 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

it was a bit of a challenge to find within Florence, at first, but the moment we stepped-out to roam around, we realized its location is actually pretty strategic. it's walking distance from piazza signoria, the uffizi museum, the palazzo vecchio, the outdoor gallery, the gucci museo & a lot of places of interest. interiors are impressive. hotel staff is very friendly and accommodating. breakfast is good and filling enough to keep you going for hours of walking around the city. would recommend to visitors of Florence.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johanna0710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yellowknife, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Walking in we were impressed by the stylish decor of the lobby. The room was simple but had a large bathroom. The highlight was the spa in the downstairs of the hotel. We reserved it for ourselves on 2 occasions and enjoyed the sauna and had a dip in the hottub. Perfect place for browsing Florence, and the staff were very helpful finding me a cycling wine tour and advising on places to eat. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alayna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Grand Hotel Cavour
Grand Hotel Cavour
#103 of 411 in Florence
1,652 reviews
Duomo
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
#61 of 411 in Florence
1,362 reviews
San Lorenzo
Relais Hotel Centrale Residenza D'Epoca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Pierre Hotel Florence
Pierre Hotel Florence
#100 of 411 in Florence
708 reviews
Duomo
Rodo Hotel Fashion Delight
Rodo Hotel Fashion Delight
#45 of 411 in Florence
326 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Degli Orafi
Hotel Degli Orafi
#32 of 411 in Florence
1,490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Borghese Palace Art Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borghese Palace Art Hotel

Property: Borghese Palace Art Hotel
Address: Via Ghibellina 174-R, 50122, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Florence
#74 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#105 Family Hotel in Florence
#123 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Borghese Palace Art Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Borghese Palace Art Hotel offers a free wellness centre, and uniquely decorated rooms blending antique furniture and modern-style décor. Set in a 15th-century building, it is a 5-minute walk from Florence Cathedral.Rooms are uniquely decorated with original works of contemporary art and include an LCD TV with Sky channels. Wired internet is free in the rooms while Wi-Fi is free in public areas. Breakfast includes fresh fruit and croissants.The wellness centre is set in original 13th-century cellars. Relaxation facilities include jacuzzi, a steam bath,a hot tub and a sauna. A fitness room is also available.Ponte Vecchio and the Uffizi Gallery are 650 metres away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Borghese Palace Art Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borghese Palace Art Florence
Hotel Borghese Palace Art

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing