We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely guest house but disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Casa Rovai Guest House
Ranked #96 of 659 Florence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 16, 2013

This is a lovely guesthouse but a little difficult to find if going in on foot. We stayed in La passione, which is a stunning room - the frescoes on the walls of the room are wonderful. Unfortunately, being late September the air conditioner controller was removed and being so hot and with so many zanzara we were unable to open the windows to cool the room down without being eaten alive. We were told the next morning that the A/C controller is removed at this time of year but we could use the plug in zanzara repellant in the drawer. A potentially outstanding night marred by inability to sleep due to the heat. We would recommend the controller remain in the rooms and not try to cut costs but ensure customer comfort.
We were referred to an outstanding restaurant - Gastone was a treat.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AVMoulay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annameo, Owner at Casa Rovai Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2013

Dear guest
We regret very much that the stay at Casa Rovai, so enjoyable to many points of view has been ruined by something so trivial.
I'm sorry you did not want to take advantage of the liquid anti-mosquito, completely natural, that we leave in the rooms to help our guests to defend themselves from these pesky insects, even during the day.
With regard to air conditioning i beleive that you are not aware of a municipal ordinance against pollution that forces ALL hotels not to use air conditioning when summer is over.
However, when guests show special needs, we usually make an exception and give them the remote control, assuming the risk of taking a penalty in the case of controls.
In your case, however, no such request came to us.
We hope to welcome you again and make your stay even more enjoyable.
Anna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (474)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 474 reviews

Reviewed November 11, 2013

The staff were very helpful and gave good suggestions for restaurants close by and helped set up reservations for us. The location was perfect for visiting the center of Florence. Not a bad walk to several of the sights around. We were able to return to the rooms for breaks and then move on to other activities. The rooms were three flights up, so be prepared for exercise. The breakfast was very nice.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen7125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annameo, Owner at Casa Rovai Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

Dear Karen,
thank you very much for your review!
I'm glad to konw you enjoyed our suggestions about restaurants and we really hope to welcome you again!
Best,
Anna and Elisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Casa Rovai was an excellent choice for our stay in Florence. Our bedroom was very quiet (all of the bedrooms face away from the street) and the bed was comfortable. The bathroom was fine too, with a good shower. Breakfast was a choice of cereals, bread, cheese, fruit etc. Off the sitting room there is an outside balcony with table and chairs. The staff at Casa Rovai, Elisa and Clo, are friendly and helpful. Elisa on reception made bookings for us and willingly answered our many questions! One of the best things about this guest house is the location - it really is just a five minute walk to the Duomo. Casa Rovai wouldn't suit anyone with mobility problems - it's on the second floor of the building and there are 38 stairs to climb from the street - but for us it was ideal, and I would highly recommend it for a friendly 'home from home' stay in Florence.

Room Tip: Our room was the Passione Room, which had frescoes on the wall and ceiling.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annameo, Owner at Casa Rovai Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

Dear Guest,
thank you for your kind words!
We do our best to make our guest feel at home and I'm very happy to know you enjoyed your stay with us!
I hope to welcome you again and send you our best regards,
Anna and Elisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We stayed at Casa Rovai for five nights and enjoyed our stay very much. The guest house is spotless and the standard is maintained daily through maid service. The beds are comfortable and the bathroom good. The breakfast is nice with yogurt, bread and the obligatory Italian breakfast cake. Art books in the reception area help you prepare for the galleries and give you a sense of which ones to buy. The guest house is centrally located and a great place from which to explore the marvels of Florence.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emmy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annameo, Proprietario at Casa Rovai Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Dear Emmy,
thank you for taking the time to write this beautiful words!
It was great to host you, and I really hope to welcome you again!
Best,
Anna and Elisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Casa Rovai Guest House was very positive experience, Elisa was so helpful and made enquiries and bookings for us, and she has good recommendations, for restaurants, theatre and even hairdressers.
We, felt very safe, and comfortable and a very easy location. Close to everything. Would highly recommend this guest house, for stays in florence.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annameo, Proprietario at Casa Rovai Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Dear Maria,
thank you so much for your review!
I'm very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us at Casa Rovai and our recommendations also about.. hairdressers!! :-))
We are very happy when our guests feel like at home!
All the best,
Anna and Elisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

The room I had featured walls that were 10 feet high and a painted ceiling that was over 100 years old. It was clean and had a private bath. The breakfast was more than adequate. There was a little balcony off the breakfast area from which I wrote emails and enjoyed a morning coffee. The location was central and about a 20 minute walk from the train station. It was a five minute walk from the famous duomo. For 10 euro, a person can walk to the top of the bell tower to take pictures. My knee did not hold up well on the 828 steps (up and down) so make sure the body can take the climb. Restaurants and shops are all within an easy walking distance of this B&B.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancydee51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annameo, Proprietario at Casa Rovai Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Dear Nancy,
thank you so much for your review, I'm very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us!
I hope to see you again and I send you my best regards,
Anna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

First of all - the location. One cannot imagine a better place to stay in if you want to visit most of the Florence attractions. Everything is in a walking distance of 5-10 minutes from the guest house. Also, if you want to plan a trip you can always count on the staff to provide you with necessary information, a good advice and with a city map,
Secondary - the rooms. They are spacious and really beautiful. Staying in a room is not an unpleasant necessity - as it usually is in different hotels/guest houses - but it becomes a tourist experience in itself.
What's more breakfasts are also provided (very tasty breakfasts) and visitors have all day access to drinking water.
What makes stay at Casa Rovai really enchanting are the people responsible for it. Elisa is helpful, caring and treats others with genuine respect. During my stay I have authentically felt welcome and 'at home'. Other people working at Casa Rovai are also as pleasant and welcoming as it gets. Over two weeks I've grown to miss leaving Casa Rovai and its staff.
To sum up I cannot imagine a better place to stay in while visiting Florence. Dont hesitate to book your room there!

Room Tip: Tell Elisa what do you need - she'll choose the best room for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kacper_grzelakowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annameo, Proprietario at Casa Rovai Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Dear Kacper,
I just read your review and I'd like to thank you a lot for it!
It was nice to meet you and I really hope to welcome you again.
We all try to do our best to make our guest feeling at home so.. I sincerely appreciate your kind words!
Best,
Anna & Elisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
I Quattro Poeti
I Quattro Poeti
#104 of 659 in Florence
138 reviews
Home in Florence B&B
#79 of 659 in Florence
440 reviews
Duomo
B & B Cimatori
B & B Cimatori
#74 of 659 in Florence
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uffizi
Bed and Breakfast Galileo 2000
B&B Fifty Seven
#122 of 659 in Florence
44 reviews
Duomo
Relais Il Campanile
Relais Il Campanile
#256 of 659 in Florence
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Rovai Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Rovai Guest House

Address: Via Fiesolana 1, 50121, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 659 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range: $68 - $574 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Rovai Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Casa Rovai Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Rovai Guest House Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing