We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Casa Rovai Guest House
Nearby Hotels
Il Guelfo Bianco(Florence)
$240
$200
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$415
$348
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Bretagna(Florence)(Great Value!)
$246
$227
Official Hotel Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$858
$791
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$389
$328
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
$302
$255
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$779
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
$399
$300
NH Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$336
$312
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Alessandra(Florence)(Great Value!)
$232
$217
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (477)
Filter reviews
477 results
Traveler rating
355
77
28
13
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
355
77
28
13
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb ba great place to stayroom was spaciousstefaniaduomocentury
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
91 - 96 of 477 reviews
Reviewed May 7, 2013

This is one of the most difficult reviews I have done, especially in light of other reviews of this property. What I think it boils down to is that as long as you understad exactly what you are buying, you will not be as disappointed as we were.

First, the hotel is ideally located within walking distance of the Duomo, Ponte Vecchio and other main attractions. It is also relatively quiet for a city-center location. The rooms are nice. The staff is reasonably helpful, but with an asterisk as you will see. They are helpful for limited town attractions and even nicely, but unsuccessfully, attempted to get us a ticket to the Uffizi Museum.

Now for the "issues". Not mentioned in the literature I viewed online when I registered is that the B&B is on the third floor of a tiny building that doubles as apartments and office space. Next, if not enough help is available (we only saw three staff during our stay), you have to carry your luggage up the stairs yourself. To their credit, the three women did come downstairs to help with my wife's luggage, but I had to carry my suitcase. When we left everyone was busy so we carried all our bags ourselves. Did I mention there is no elevator?

Next, and this one is very significant, when we arrived back at the hotel after dark, the staircase was absolutely pitch dark! If not for our iPhone flashlight app, doing those stairs would have been challenging, to say the least. I think a single woman would be petrified. Plus, I cannot imagine what the liability issues would be in case of a fall.

The hotel is located on a somewhat seedy side-street as we learned when we came back at night and there were lots of young men hanging out drinking on the corner. Also, lots of litter on the sidewalk.

As far as parking goes, if you dare drive into Florence (as we did), parking is a block away and costs $25 Euros for each 24 hours, with a $5 Euro charge for each additional hour. Normally you would get a major fine for driving into the city center, but if you pay an additional $1 Euro the parking garage notifies the police and they nullify the fine. You should also know that you will have to lug your suitcases through the street (the sidewalks are too narrow), which are beautiful, but uneven, flagstone all the way. I mention this and the stairs so that elderly guests will think carefully before booking here.

While the breakfast is highly touted in the advertising, we found it to be rather mediocre, as did another couple we met at breakfast. Coffee, tea, a few fruit choices, yogurt, toast/jam, corn flakes, one pastry choice. The woman who supervises the breakfast was very helpful. The breakfast room is very small and crowded.

The shower worked fine, the room was clean and nicely appointed. There is free Wifi. The woman at the desk, however, was quite negative and unhelpful for the most part. During the day, after noon, you will not find anyone in the B&B. Same is true in the evenings. To their credit, they allude to this, although tangentially, in some of their literature.

We felt the price was reasonable ($90 Euros in early May), but on our next visit to Florence (Firenze) we will choose other lodging.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LesPicker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annameo, Owner at Casa Rovai Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Dear Guest,
thank you for your message: we truly believe it help a lot reading review written by people who have been with us at Casa Rovai to improve our services.
Nevertheless we strongly believe it is important to replicate when things described are generated from premises that seems to be not coherent or that the comment contains information not corresponding to the reality of things.
- You describe Casa Rovai as an hotel while it is a B & B and it is
not a matter of form but of substance because you did not booked
directly but the reservation was made on the same the day of your arrival by
the receptionist of the hotel where you stayed before coming to
us, you did not visited our web site and had no idea of the
structure that you had booked.

- You say that the property is on the third floor while our B & B is
on the first. Our site that you didn't had a chance to visit says clearly that we
do not have lift. Despite this, upon arrival at the entrance two people came down
at the entrance to carry your luggage but have only been able to help your
wife, since you did not accept to be helped by a woman , same
thing at the time of departure.

- a very serious complaint concerns the alleged lack of light in the stairs.
This is just something that cannot happens since any structure in Italy (and everywhere else in the world, I guess) would not have the legal authority to act as if there was no lighting.
The lights are there, just to be swiched on at the entrance: the switch is
glowing so that can be easily identified.

But most of the complaints concerns organizational aspects of your journey that
do not compete to us even if we are always happy and used to assist our guests in
the best way possible...but we cannot do impossible things:
* On Monday the Uffizi Gallery and the Accademia Museum are closed for weekly
rest and the next day there were no more entrance that could be booked;
* Just before leaving you asked us to make a reservation for an Hotel in
Abruzzo without specifying which city or if you preferred the
countryside etc. When we asked for some more details you replied that you would have done it on your own;
* You entered into the merits of the number of people who worked considering that
three people for six rooms were insufficient...
* You found the side walk down the street uncomfortable...how can we dial
with this?
*Finally, all these complains for less than 24hours stay: reservation on the morning
of 6th, check in the afternoon of 6th, check out the morning of May 7 ...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

We absolutely enjoyed our stay at Casa Rovai.

Elisa and Anna are very kind and nice, and made our stay a friendly one. Their advices on hidden and nice places were amazing, including restaurants for "local" people. We didn't felt being tourists!

We loved very much our room (Passione) and its remarkable frescoes: an original of the sixteenth century!!

A lovely place to stay in such a beautiful city.

Room Tip: if you are a couple, ask for the Passione room!! It is really nice!!
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marina N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annameo, Owner at Casa Rovai Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Dear Marina,
thank you very much for your review!
It was nice to meet you and I really hope to welcome you again very soon... we still have a lot of suggestions to give you about Florence!!
Best,
Anna and Elisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

This is a great place centrally located. I felt like a resident more than a tourist. The rooms are beautiful, and large for Europe. Nice clean bathrooms, lovely breakfast. The water machine was my favorite! Would go back again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shellbellmay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annameo, Owner at Casa Rovai Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2013

Dear Shellbellmay,
Thank you so much for your words!
It was very nice to meet you and I'm very happy to hear that you felt like a resident and not like a tourist.. this is exactly what we hope to make our guests feel!!
I send you my best regards and I hope to welcome you again at Casa Rovai!
Anna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at Casa Rovai in Dec/Jan. The location, between the Duomo and Santa Croce is very good --- we could walk everywhere. We had a nice room and bathroom. Elisa, our hostess, was warm and very helpful in recommending and making reservations at restaurants which were generally good and very Italian. She also booked an enjoyable day trip to San Giminiani, Siena and the Chianti wine region. She went the extra mile to make our stay memorable.

Willem and Susan, Cape Town.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Willem B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annameo, Owner at Casa Rovai Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Dear Willem and Susan,
thank you so much for your words; it's really very important for us and for our possible 'future guests' to have a feedback of your stay!
It was very nice to meet you and your family, and we are very happy to hear that you sicerely appreciated our suggestions about restaurants and tours.. we love our work and we try to do our best every day!!
We hope to meet you again some day.. soonest, hopefully!
Warm regards,
Elisa and Anna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Thank you Anna and family for so graciously making us feel like one of the family!
As soon as we arrived, Anna helped us determine what we wanted to see and where we should go. Recommendations to restaurants and attractions were excellent. We also completely enjoyed hearing about the history of this special home.
While we were not expecting to find no lift, we were helped with our luggage up the stairs. From the sitting area, the open courtyard and surrounding residence brought in a true taste of an "Italian atmosphere" that was quite nice to hear.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, and I hope to return again someday!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annameo, Proprietario at Casa Rovai Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2012

Dear Karen,
thank you so much for your words!
I'm very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Casa Rovai and that you found very helpful my suggestions!
It was very nice to meet you and I hope to welcome you again soon,
best,
Anna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews