We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unforgettable !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Casa Rovai Guest House
Ranked #106 of 675 Florence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Unforgettable !”
Reviewed June 27, 2012

No better way to feel home in Florence! I stayed there for a week with my grand mother who still doesn't recover from "the amazing kindness of the staff". Everything was perfect!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolinethefrenchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Proprietario at Casa Rovai Guest House, responded to this review, June 28, 2012
Dear Caroline,
thank you very much!!
I'm very happy to hear that your grandmother and you feel loke home.. and I do really hope to welcome you again!
Best,
Anna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    343
    74
    25
    13
    4
See reviews for
101
211
51
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2012

This is our second trip to Florence. Properties located near Duomo are old and poorly maintained. This one did not have elevators, requiring walks up 3 flights of stairs carrying your luggage (don't expect anyone to assist). Had another guest not walked in off the street, we may never have figured out how to get in, or where to go once inside, to register. There is no air conditioning allowed by Florence until June 1; therefore, even if the inside temperature is above 80, don't expect any exceptions. Even when given a controller on June 1, the unit did not work. Because of the damp and heat, there is mold/mildew in the shower that does not appear to have been cleaned in a while. The breakfast is okay, but don't try to take a cup of coffee back to the room while dressing or relaxing. The very gruff housekeeper will reprimand you sharply. The best we can give it is it was the room with an adjoining room (no bath in second room) were large, it was a place to sleep and central to Duomo.

Room Tip: Find another location. All rooms seem to have a view of a very poor courtyard. You can hear childr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Proprietario at Casa Rovai Guest House, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Dear guest,
thank you for your review, we are always interested in what people think about our B&B and the service we give.
We also think it can be useful to know what is the impression we have from the other side and we are happy to specify a few things:

It is true that there was a restriction from the Mayor to use air conditioning before June 1rst but having the impression that it was very important for you, even not being so hot in the days you stayed here, we made an exception and gave you the remote control to allowe you to use it the same day you've arrived. This has not solved the problem since you selected the winter option "enjoyng" heating instead of air conditioning....
When you said that air conditioning was not working we immediately called urgent assistance and paied 60 euros to discover that it was on the winter option.
Same thing happened the second night before you left, but this time the button was stuck on the winter option (again) and we had to change it.
We wrote you an e-mail to explain this the same day you letf Casa Rovai.

"we may never have figured out how to get in, or where to go once inside" you said.

And what we can do to help guest to get in easly more than putting a big brass plate just above the ring (that has to be rang of course, as all guest usually do without asking for help to anyone in the street) and a second one at the beginning of the stairs?

I want to gloss over the hours spent to assist the guest highlighting on a map every single bus stop that could be more convenient, booking restaurants and museums, booking each activity that was required and illustrating everything possible, offering a personal service that few , we believe, would have given.

In conclusion we believe that the meaning to write comments is to support the travelers, doing that it is also possible to express dissatisfaction about a service received .
What we believe is not correct is express dissatisfaction describing situations entirely unrealistic or complain about something that was not even omitted but clearly described in the website...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
Reviewed May 21, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Casa Rovai for eleven nights. Elisa and Anna helped us plan every day and night while we were there. All their recommendations were perfect. They also gave us maps to tell us how to get to our location.

Our room was very comfortable: quiet, down comforter on a nice bed, plenty of hot water for long showers.

Their location good not have been better. 5-10 min walk to anywhere.

We enjoyed the Italian breakfast every morning and camaraderie of the other travelers.

We highly recommend the guest house and hope to return to it one day.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nada h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
Reviewed May 16, 2012

Romantic and nice experience
We stayed here for a 3-day city trip in lovely Florence. The location of Casa Rovai is just perfect, you're at walking distance from almost anything there is to see in this incredible little town: before coming I was convinced it was much bigger place! And a few steps from the B&B you're standing in the (busy) touristic center half way from the cathedral and Uffizi Gallery.
The rooms the proper location and the staff! make this place ideal for a romantic experience at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank darrinxxcm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 5, 2012

‘Our’ room – I Putti -- is the one shown on this website and it is even more incredibly beautiful when you are in it. The perfectly positioned window, the spacious room, the wooden floors, the old armoire, and the amazing painted ceiling cannot be found in a tourist hotel. And you get all of this for a very reasonable price, with delicious breakfast, and Elisa’s friendly face each morning to help you in whatever you need. I can’t thank her enough for her endless patience as I practiced my broken Italian!

The location is equally incredible just steps from the Duomo and a short walk north of the Uffizi and Ponte Vecchio. The area immediately around Casa Rovai is always alive with people and has numerous places to grab a yummy gelato, crusty pizza, hot cappuccino, or perfect glass of wine.

Casa Rovai was a perfect place for my husband and me to spend five glorious days feeling like we were truly living and breathing in Firenze instead of simply touring Florence ‘American-style’.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GSandJR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
1 review
Reviewed May 4, 2012

Our family spent a couple days at Casa Rovai while in Florence. The room are large and comfortable. Each has a unique look and charming feel. The staff is friendly, the breakfast is filling. The location is wonderful - a very short walk to the Duomo and surrounding area. No complaints. We all enjoyed our stay and we'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annameo, Proprietario at Casa Rovai Guest House, responded to this review, May 11, 2012
Thank you so much for your words, dear R T!
I'm very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay here at Casa Rovai.
I do remember about you and your beautiful family, and I really hope to welcome you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2012

We stayed in the room called "La Passione", with private bathroom. Very comfortable bed, Very clean and beautiful room with frescos on the ceiling. Nice breakfast and very nice hosts... Very close to all the touristic attractions. If you need any advice on where to eat or what to visit, at the reception they will be more than happy to help you and they speak good english. Definitely a place to consider for a stay in the center of Firenze.

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Marco N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Sognando Firenze
#51 of 675 in Florence
492 reviews
Piccolo Principe B&B
#24 of 675 in Florence
303 reviews
Duomo
B&b Casa di Dante
B&b Casa di Dante
#411 of 675 in Florence
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
B&B Il Palagetto Guest House
#55 of 675 in Florence
305 reviews
Duomo
B & B Cimatori
B & B Cimatori
#81 of 675 in Florence
297 reviews
Santa Croce
Le Stanze di Santa Croce
Le Stanze di Santa Croce
#245 of 675 in Florence
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Rovai Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Rovai Guest House

Property: Casa Rovai Guest House
Address: Via Fiesolana 1, 50121, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Duomo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #106 of 675 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Rovai Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Casa Rovai Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Rovai Guest House Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing