We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not just a B&B, like a friend home :)”
Review of Franz House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Franz House
Ranked #314 of 675 Florence B&B and Inns
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not just a B&B, like a friend home :)”
Reviewed November 13, 2009

Location is very near train station and Ponte Santa Carraia. Just some Ambulance alarm at night. But it is ok after 10:00pm.
House owner are very nice. They show me how to go to most of the popular place. As I am the first time to Firenze. Breakfast is nice. Have both of bath or shower. There is a washing machine too. I don't know on first night. Therefore haven't tried it. Just 5euro. It is quite good.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wumws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    49
    11
    5
    7
See reviews for
17
48
19
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
canberra
1 review
Reviewed August 17, 2009

We arrived in florence at 9.30 after an hour long train trip through the very beautiful italian countryside... James and i had not a single word of italian between us which we did not even think about before we flew into rome! we decided to call franz house to make sure for a bed, we were greated by a jolly sounding fella that was adamint on meeting us at the station as we had never been to florence/ firenze before!

standing at our meeting place not knowing what to expect a very sexy, loud and new ducati road bike rides up with the rider calling richard richard. we couldnt help but laugh!! so he walks us back to this 'franz house' 5 minute walk if that from the sation right on the beautiful river in the centre of firenze.... the location was simply incredible! up a beautiful little elevator into our room! private bathroom beautiful view ! ahh we were in awe!! beds were the cleanest we stayed in... beautiful girls! great computer!!!

what imprest me the most was this owners fabulous hospitality! example he hired us vespas! they were actually hondas but awesome! invited us to his uncles restaurant, took us to get fuel for our lil scooters. drew us maps of his own or drew a path for us on a existing map, took me for a ride on his ktm to get my scooter that i left on the other side of town! his girlfriend who is a hottie cooked us a fabulous italian breakfast! he helped us out to the max during our stay! 3 nights, best 3 nights anywhere. we met his brother an uncle who was just as nice!

if my mother was to go to florence i would make her stay at this marvelous 'franz house' i simply would not have it any other way! i feel that strongly about this!

cheers mate, your the man! ill see you sometime in the future i promise! rich mcgrath

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richmcgrath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland
1 review
Reviewed June 22, 2009

We stayed for 2 nights in this lovely small B&B. Our bathroom was private but not attached to our room. All very clean and spacious. The breakfast was very good and there was a lot of it. The staff was friendly and helpfull when we needed some information. The location is simply great. Only 20 meters from the river and very close to the trainstation. The only thing that might be an annoyance for some travellers is it can be a bit noisy from traffic outside. Not a problem for me i slept like a baby but my partner decided on some earpluggs.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GuyfromHolland76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
1 review
Reviewed May 20, 2009

To cut a long story short, I booked (and paid a deposit) to stay here but when I arrived I was told they were full! How can that be? The owner offered to take me to his friend's hotel across town but I declined. DO NOT BOOK TO STAY HERE!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelsterNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2008

We were approached my Mr Franz at the railway station - that was good as we did not have a room booked prior to our arrival. 10 minutes walk to railway station and relatively short walks to the tourist "hot spots". We enjoyed our stay (two adults, one 14 year old). Triple room that was clean and spacious, and in this price bracket we felt a better than average (own) bathroom by European standards. 2nd floor - with a lift. We found Mr Franz and his wife to be friendly and helpful. Breakfast was perfectly adequate. Good and free wireless broadband. On a busy intersection, but we were really not bothered by the noise and actually found the bustle outside made fascinating viewing (this may not be to everyone's taste). We would stay again with Mr Franz if we returned to Florence.

  • Liked — Location, price, bathroom
  • Disliked — N problems to speak of
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ThreeScrooges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
148 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2007

Mr Franz hijacked us at the station and took us to his B and B.Said there was a bathroom to ourselves-not strictly true" However for a 2 night stay was fine and we had free internet use at the front foyer. Breakfast barely adequate, room clean and spacious with a slight view of the Arno at an angle.
Owner and wife hospitable and kind to us.
Street noise kept us awake- still 75 euro was economical and for convenience it was worth it. Bacus restaurant nearby is cheap and excellent.

  • Liked — cheap and convenient
  • Disliked — noise
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank europhileAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2007

DO NOT BOOK THIS HOTEL!!! Myself and 3 friends booked and paid a deposit to stay here. However, when we arrived we were told they were full and we had no room. It was Easter and we were left without a place to stay. The owner said his friend's hotel had rooms but this was on the other side of Florence and not where we booked to be. The owner of Franz House was rude, boardering on aggressive. THIS IS CLEARLY A SCAM TO KEEP HIS HOTEL FULL AND GIVE THE OTHER GUESTS TO HIS MATES!

Stayed April 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank AussieBoyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Casa Corsi
Casa Corsi
#385 of 675 in Florence
69 reviews
Pitti
Promenade
Promenade
#506 of 675 in Florence
135 reviews
San Lorenzo
Emerald Palace
Emerald Palace
#338 of 675 in Florence
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
My Friends Guesthouse
My Friends Guesthouse
#130 of 675 in Florence
149 reviews
San Marco
B&B Lady Florence
B&B Lady Florence
#274 of 675 in Florence
123 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Cestelli
Hotel Cestelli
#231 of 675 in Florence
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Franz House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Franz House

Property: Franz House
Address: Via Dei Fossi 1 | ang. p.zza Goldoni, 50123, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #314 of 675 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Franz House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Franz House Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing