We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excelent location at incredible price!”
Review of Franz House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Franz House
Ranked #314 of 675 Florence B&B and Inns
Israel
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excelent location at incredible price!”
Reviewed June 13, 2011

Very cosy hostel, rooms completely renovated and great location! Just 10 min. walking from central train station and walk distance from all the attractions.
Really cheap, with free wifi and nice breakfast for 2.5EUR

Room Tip: The room in front of the entry door
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bertonet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    49
    11
    5
    7
See reviews for
17
48
19
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2011

Great place to stay. Perfect location... clean... quiet.... and delicious home cooked breakfast. Fantastic value! Thanks franz house for a great stay in Florence.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2011eurotravel2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLC, UT
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2011

I highly reccomend Franz House for your florence stay. Very clean hostel. Rooms bright with clean linens. Bathrooms always kept clean. Owners are very helpful and kind. They are always around to meet needs. Free Wifi in rooms. Fridge in main area. Best breakfast ever! Totally worth the extra 2.50. We also had laundry done for pretty cheap. This totally made our florence experience even better! It's Right behind the train station and church ( between the river and the church by the train station). About a 5-10 minute walk. Totally doable. Also had an elevator/lift. Do not hesitate to stay here.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank busybec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2011

I travelled with a friend for a cheeky last minute getaway to Florence to clear our heads in January... Franz House attracted my attention for it's location and fairly good reviews and excellent price. Whilst not clearly sign posted, once you're in the rooms and bed are large enough for 2 friends to happily share and the shower was really good.

Reception was manned when we got there by a very helpful guy who's name now escapes me but he was able to recommend some good local restaurants and supply us with a map on which he personally noted points of interest etc. Very helpful ansd his restaurant recommendation led us to a real 'locals' joint where we had some fantastic pappardelle and rabbit.

The location is truely fantastic, on the river and whilst Florence is a very 'walkable' city this was just in the most convinient of locations.

Our only issue was with some drunken idiots outside the hotel on the Saturday night. Nothing that could be done about it but I just couldn't believe how loud they were! Double glazing would definitely be a blessing here!

We did not eat at the hostel but tea and coffee facilities were available. All in all just perfect if you are not spending a great deal of time indoors... and when in Florence who would want to?!!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vanessa_b85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2010

We stayed in the bedroom for 4. It was spacious and clean. We also had an attached bathroom in the room. very clean as well.
They also provided clean towels and shower gels. It was very unexpected of a hostel. I am really appreciative of the place.
Wifi is good and speedy as well.
Staff is friendly and helpful.
Location is thumbs up too. Near to station and near to main tourist area.

The only set back is that i paid a 10% deposit online when i booked the accommodation but when we are making the payment for room, i forgot to mention and we paid 10% again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nice_vyvy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 14, 2010

We stayed at Franz House with my husband in October for 3 days (wedding anniversary trip). We already miss that place. Room was very cozy, breakfast big and delicious (bacon&cheese toast, omlette, croissants, coffee, juice and much more), location is the best ever! Nicolette and Mauricio are very helpfull and friendly. I would recommend that place to everyone!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnaPat04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 16, 2010

My husband, I and two adult children stayed 2 nights at Franz House. The accommodation was comfortable and clean. The hosts, Maurizio and Nicoletta were outstanding. Nicoletta thank you for the wonderful breakfasts!! During our stay in Florence we were robbed of our documentation, money, bank cards etc. Without Maurizio we would not have survived the ordeal. He helped us with our police report and helped us in finding our way to the COnsulate in Milan for new passports, etc. We would return to Franz House any day. I wish them all the success in their Bed & Breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ana J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Casa Corsi
Casa Corsi
#385 of 675 in Florence
69 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Cestelli
Hotel Cestelli
#231 of 675 in Florence
229 reviews
San Lorenzo
Emerald Palace
Emerald Palace
#338 of 675 in Florence
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santo Spirito / San Frediano
Piazza del Carmine
Piazza del Carmine
#295 of 675 in Florence
33 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Residenza Vespucci
Residenza Vespucci
#160 of 675 in Florence
211 reviews
San Lorenzo
My Friends Guesthouse
My Friends Guesthouse
#130 of 675 in Florence
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Franz House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Franz House

Property: Franz House
Address: Via Dei Fossi 1 | ang. p.zza Goldoni, 50123, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #314 of 675 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Franz House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Franz House Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing