We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
University of Florence Natural History Museum
Review Highlights
Part of the University museums

To begin with, the University of Florence has several museums that are all in different areas... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
LSQRD1
,
Kent, Ohio
Unexpected find

I do enjoy wandering around a natural history museum. This one, is one of the old school types with... read more

Reviewed March 18, 2019
Phil_lsa
,
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Read all 117 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Florence
from $74.03
More Info
from $33.03
More Info
from $44.42
More Info
from $34.17
More Info
Reviews (117)
Filter reviews
117 results
Traveler rating
50
48
15
2
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
50
48
15
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews human anatomy wax models on display guided tour skeleton whales parts information
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 117 reviews
Reviewed January 19, 2017

We visited the Museum of Zoology and Natural History, best known as La Specola with our 13 and 15 year old sons and they loved it. It is like a huge taxidermist zoo, they were fascinated with the range of insects and animals on display. They were not so keen on the anatomical wax models, however as parents we thought they were fascinating

Date of experience: January 2017
Thank Barb L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2016

First time visit to Florence and looking for somewhere to cool down.Came across the garden and was able to buy a guide book which pointed out the ancient trees etc.Enjoyed my visit relaxing on stone bench as sun going down. Unfortunately needs some tlc. Could be an oasis for visitors who want to discover ancient plants with histor.y

Date of experience: August 2016
Thank jdrGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2016

The University of Florence Natural History Museum is an interesting pace to visit. Lots of samples of mineralogical items and great educational material on geology and paleontology. Well worth a visit

Date of experience: April 2016
Thank Ibadanboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2016

There are a big collection about more as 25.000 of mineralogical pieces of all the world;
and Cosimo I begins with this collection; a very inreresting collection of about 5000
presentations of Elba and extraordinary Gemstones, a Topaze of Brasil of 150 kg and also many Turmaline of Elba. Very of interess the Geology & Paleontology section. If you have, like me , an interest or passion for stones, it's great to visit.

Date of experience: May 2015
1  Thank Manuela L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2015

First of all, I state that the following review concerns only the "Geology and Paleontology" (Via La Pira, 4), not the other sections of the Natural Histoy Museum, which are scattered in various buildings of the city.
The "Geology and Anthropology" section shows in my opinion some serious flaws.
First of all, of geology items really very little is on display. The geological collections of the Museum are rich, but it seems there isn't space to display them.
Instead the fossils of extinct animals are truly impressive, and worth the visit. The skeletons of "Ursus spelaeus" and especially of "Mammuthus meridionalis", almost all from ancient Tuscany, are really standing out.
However, even in this case, a comparison with the Montevarchi Paleontological Museum works against the Florence Museum. In Montevarchi (a small town about 50 km from Florence) the Museum, recently renovated, despite having fewer items, is better organized in terms of didactic: there, the "story" of the museum follows a coherent unit, which in Florence It is more difficult to identify.
It's hoped that in the future this museum can find larger premises and can be reorganized as its "twin" in Montevarchi.

Date of experience: November 2015
Thank Brun066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews