We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Residence Michelangiolo
Ranked #28 of 333 Specialty Lodging in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 29, 2013

This residence is just wonderful.
I stayed there with my wife during the end of august in 2013.
The rooms are very nice, clean and big. You have enough space for everything.
When looking out of the large windows you the beautiful garden of this house.

The people working in this residence are so very nice and sweet.
My wife celebrated her birthday while we were staying there and when we came back to the hotel a bottel of Prosecco and chocolatte together with a birthday letter were waiting for her in the kitchen (without telling it was her birthday, they apparently checked that in the beginning).

Anyone who wants to enjoy some very nice days in Florence, this is the perfect place.

The wifi was working in our room and we got good advices for coffee places and restaurants nearby.

Room Tip: I guess every room is very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MatthewKol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (489)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 489 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2013

This residence was over-rated, I was very disappointed. My husband and I have a twin bed bedroom with a connecting room which has got a small wooden table with 4 chairs next to the kitchen in a wardrobe like cabinet. Our bedroom is big, but poorly furnished, can't even find a place to put my skin care in the bathroom. I wouldn't bother to eat in the kitchen, no comfort feeling sitting in that room at all.

The other single room that our group stay is even worse, the shower is a temporary built one, it's like a shatter, I don't see this a pleasant stay for holiday.

Floor is not clean, I walked barefoot on day one, ended up black all over. Our first day was welcome with mosquitoes bites all over the feet and neck.

by the way, I don't see any service, can't complain as this is a residence, not a hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HKtraveller2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Hotels in central Florence are cramped & noisy. The Residence Michelangiolo is only a 15-20 minute (beautiful) walk from the Uffizi and is a delight to visit. The rooms are huge and nicely decorated. Although it's not a hotel so the Reception is not staffed full-time, the manager/owner is absolutely delightful - so friendly and helpful. We would definitely stay there again and highly recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lapine006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We had an excellent family vacation at Residence Michelangiolo. Big clean rooms, very nice garden. The location is very convenient, easy to reach the city center on foot or by bus. Very quite and calm place for family vacation!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

The Residence Michelangelo is a beautiful villa converted into same nice sized accommodations with kitchens. The rooms are very spacious and over look beautiful gardens in this gated property. Very easy to get to and the onsite parking is a big plus for Florence. The only negative is that is a little bit of a walk to the major sights.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnBiscotti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

We stayed at the Residence Michelangiolo for 3 nights a week ago. The residence has numerous apartments built in an old stately house. We had a 3 bedroom apartment on the ground floor. The rooms are large, with 2 bathrooms. There are small (and somewhat crowded) kitchen facilities in the master bedroom. As a nice plus, the ground floor apartments have outdoor sitting areas.

Pluses: the rooms are large, and the hosts are helpful. The apartment is close to a decent supermarket, and their is a pay-to-use self service laundry about 5 minutes walk away. There is also a convenient bus stop 2 or 3 minutes away for easy access to the main tourist areas, to the train station, etc. Free Wifi was provided, with very good internet speeds.

Minuses: Unfortunately, the apartments are right off a rather noisy road, and in fact, we had trouble sleeping due to the street noise. The doors, windows, and walls are also old and not well insulated, so external noise isn't dampened at all. This may be a particular issue with the ground floor apartments, but it was a big issue for us. Also, no food was provided at all; many Italian residences of this nature provide at least cold breakfast foods in the kitchen facilities.

The local restaurants aren't that great, but there are nice restaurants within 10-15 minutes walk. Overall, reasonably convenient for Florence access, and spacious with a wonderful garden.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VivekSub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We were on busines travel in Florence and had a rental car. Therefore the privat parking was essential. The residence itself is very nice, location is graet. The atmosphere in the residence is very pleasant. Angela was very helpful and very friendly.

Room Tip: The room with a garden view was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Hotel David
#1 of 410 in Florence
3,351 reviews
PopArtment
#21 of 333 in Florence
161 reviews
Pitti
Residence Palazzo Belfiore
Residence Palazzo Belfiore
#1 of 333 in Florence
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#23 of 410 in Florence
2,960 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Orto De Medici
Hotel Orto De Medici
#40 of 410 in Florence
2,282 reviews
Hilton Florence Metropole
#148 of 410 in Florence
2,110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Michelangiolo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Michelangiolo

Address: Viale Michelangiolo 21, 50125, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 333 Specialty Lodging in Florence
Price Range: $117 - $298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Residence Michelangiolo 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Michelangiolo welcomes you into a Liberty style Villa dating back to 1917, totally renewed with exquisite details that define the elegance and charme of long ago. The Residence is situated in one of the most exclusive and peaceful areas in Florence, on Viale Michelangiolo, which allows you to reach the historical center of the city with a few minutes pleasant walk. The Residence has 8 Superior room furnished whit every confort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Residence Michelangiolo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Michelangiolo Florence
Residence Michelangiolo Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing