We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel”
Review of Alex House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Alex House
Ranked #573 of 659 Florence B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 26, 2013

The location is just wonderful. close to the Uffizi and everything else in Florence. And there are a great library in the hotel.
The room was clean and comfortable relatively spacious for a Florence hotel and well equipped complete with books, a Nespresso machine and decent water pressure in the shower. The staff was helpful when engaged .
I would recommend staying at this hotel .

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kasey J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (84)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 84 reviews

Reviewed September 22, 2013

We stayed in the separate small apartment with adress Via Magalotti, just around the corner from the hostel itself. The standard was ok considering the price and our late booking (clean sheets, ok beds, two very cramped rooms and an interesting solution to building a bathroom in a very old house) and the location is very central. And of course you must accept some amount of night-time noise when staying in this kind of lodging. But - big but - after two nights we had itching bug bites and identified bed-bugs (vägglöss) in the bigger room. Also the hotelier did not show up to help out as promised with phoning for a cab on our departure (to be fair it was extremely early).

Room Tip: The apartment has bed bugs. Don't know about the hostel rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lu R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

This place is awesome. On our Euro Trip we were used to taking the metro to the places we wanted to see, but not this one. You are in the middle of everything! The room was great and the price was affordable. The staff was very friendly and helpful. They gave us a map and started circling all the must-see things from the get-go.

Room Tip: apartment palazzo vecchio view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

The location was great. It's around the corner from one of the main streets for restaurants/bars and a few minutes walk from the major sights (Ponte Vecchio, Palazzo Vecchio, etc.) The area is very safe and the room/bathroom is clean. The staff were very friendly and helpful. There was no kitchen, but there was a table and fridge in the common area. Wi-Fi was slow and the room was cold, but other than that it was a good place to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VisitorLL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Certainly in my top 3 hostels to stay. Awesome security, they have great facilities, i.e. showers, kitchen, wi-fi, TV´s, it´s very quiet and the location couldn´t be beat.
Everything was great, great hostel, mice for meeting interesting people!

Room Tip: quad room private on the top!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andrew m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We had a good visit to Alex House in Florence with our family of 4. The quad turned out to be an apartment with a nice balcony, full kitchen and w/d. I don't think we would have used the kitchen anyway, but there was literally NOTHING in the kitchen --- not even a glass or a fork, much less a pot or pan. Those with mobility problems would struggle to get up the extra set of narrow stairs to the quad apartment after using the elevator. Our biggest frustration was that we had been told that they would accept credit cards but then did not. Florence in June turned out to be extremely hot though, so we checked out early and headed to Monterosso instead!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MillsFamMission
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Really good location, room was huge and clean. Staff was extremely friendly. Wifi was only available in the floor below but we could still get signal at the entrance of our room. Would highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank summerdusk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Hilton Florence Metropole
#148 of 410 in Florence
2,058 reviews
San Lorenzo
Plus Florence
Plus Florence
#15 of 326 in Florence
2,572 reviews
Villa Morghen
#1 of 1 in Settignano
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel Casci
Hotel Casci
#51 of 410 in Florence
2,823 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#23 of 410 in Florence
2,885 reviews
Duomo
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
#53 of 410 in Florence
1,453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alex House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alex House

Address: Borgo dei Greci 13, 50122, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Uffizi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #573 of 659 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range: $73 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Alex House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing