We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonably comfortable for a 1 night stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Convitto della Calza
Ranked #344 of 649 Florence B&B and Inns
Bondi, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Reasonably comfortable for a 1 night stay”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Hotel Convitti della Calza is a former monastery & it showed from the minute you arrive at reception. Reception was warm & welcoming, though had very limited english. The first thing that you noticed was the width & size of the corridors they were huge. The room was very spatan with extremely basic furniture just as the monks would have had, however the room was clean & the bed comfortable. It had a flat screen TV & was also airconditioned. Wifi was unlimited & free. Breakfast was good & plentiful with cereals, croissants, breads, meat, cheese, yogut, fruit, juices & coffee. The Hotel seemed more of a convention/conference centre then a hotel proper & it was probally too far from the centre of Florence for most tourists. We stayed for the one night as our B&B was close by & were unable to stay their on that due day. However for a one night stay Hotel Convitto is not a bad option.

Room Tip: Rooms facing internal couryard garden are quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BarbaraRowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    64
    41
    11
    5
See reviews for
21
54
3
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
France
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2012

This hotel used to be a monastery and it has a lovely internal garden with cloisters all around. The rooms were very clean, although basic, and the beds were comfortable. It is in a nice area about 15 minutes walk to the Ponte Vecchio. The breakfast was good with fresh croissants, youghurt, fruit, etc and excellent coffee! The only downside was mosquitos (even in May!) but the rooms had anti-mosquito plug-ins. Note that the hotel is used as a religious retreat so you may come across prayer groups in and around the hotel, but to us that just added to the charm

Room Tip: Make sure to get a room looking onto the internal garden as the rooms facing the road can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lafrenchchic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2011

It is a lovely place with a wonderful court yard. The rooms are spartan, but adequate and the whole place is clean. Corridors are very long and tiled, so anyone talking will echo down and could be an issue for light sleepers. Staff are lovely. Breakfast is ok, although we had a few times quite stale croissants/bread. But, and this is a big but, you can not get even a glass of water in the place and have to walk to a shop a few min away to purchase bottles or cans if you want any refreshment apart from breakfast. Not really what you want to do when you had a 12 hours journey getting there.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 2nightowl432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Florence hotels

NJ
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 19, 2008

If you are expecting a four star hotel, it should be up to you to investigate. The accommodations are a half hour walk from the Duomo, 15 minute walk to the Ponte Vecchio, Pitti Palace, etc. Excellent location for exploring.

Lovely hotel transformed from a previous monastery complete with painted murals in the courtyard and throughout hotel. Rooms are basic, and very affordable and comfortable. I would definitely stay again. Room ratings in Europe are different from else where. A four star in Italy may be more of a 2 or 3. But as I said, very accomodating, comfortable.

Church next door is very interesting - statue of Jesus with crown of thorns, and a statue of the Madonna at the left of the altar in the corner.

There were families staying at the hotel as well as business travelers since it is a conference center. I have nothing negative to say about the facility. I was here to enjoy the sites!

Stayed May 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank amolItalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 29, 2005

The travel agent said this hotel was something to see.... we are still waiting. On a family trip from Oz we were booked here for five nights, on a four star budget. I dont know how the agent got 4 star accom and Cinvitto DC mixed up. The CDC is a conference centre and student accom hotel/hostel. 1 star student accom and business traveller on a really tight budget would suit this "hotel". Staff were good, rooms clean, breakfast typically italian, but why we were booked there is beyond me. Boboli gardens and some other tourist things close by, but overwhelmingly conference centre, and student b&b based, my wife and two children seemed out of place here.
Spartan is the word for accom and facilities, but the art work in the meeting rooms were splendid.
A pity we stayed here in these circumstances as the business centre seemed well appointed and well used as there was a constant flow of suits in and out of the CDC, and the building had an aura of peace about them that was soothing as we sat and figured out how to get a refund from our agent.

Helpful?
15 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
albatrax, Proprietario at Convitto della Calza, responded to this review, November 5, 2010
Unfortunately the travel agent booked erroneuosly the Convitto as a 4 stars hotel , which CDC is not, being a Holiday House- congress center, with all services compared to a 3 stars hotel. Convitto della Calza is everywhere advertised this way.
We do accomodate not only groups , but also individuals and the very large 400 s.m. open-air-spaces (courtyard) , we think, may give the opportunity to grant everybody's comfort and privacy.
What concerns the "spartan accomodations and facilities", we took in good consideration these observations, and recently improved those aspects .
Thank in any case to these guests for the suggestions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Hotel Annalena
#224 of 412 in Florence
238 reviews
Hotel Villa Betania
#82 of 412 in Florence
527 reviews
San Marco
Hotel de la Pace
Hotel de la Pace
#176 of 412 in Florence
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Select Hotel
#317 of 412 in Florence
484 reviews
Hotel Grifone Firenze
#253 of 412 in Florence
534 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Kursaal Ausonia
Hotel Kursaal Ausonia
#139 of 412 in Florence
1,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Convitto della Calza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Convitto della Calza

Property: Convitto della Calza
Address: Piazza della Calza 6, 50125, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Pitti
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #344 of 649 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Convitto della Calza 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Convitto della Calza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing