We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Hotel in a Quiet Part of Florence”
Review of Hotel Crocini

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Crocini
Ranked #92 of 422 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
New Mexico, United States
Level Contributor
44 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Hotel in a Quiet Part of Florence”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

I stayed here for a week and was happy. I had the little single unit out in the garden. It was quiet and lovely. The bed was comfortable. Television and internet reception were better than Rome. The bathroom was large and modern. The breakfast buffet had a large selection. There was espresso, fresh juice, the typical continental breakfast as well as American food. There was also meats and cheese that could be made into a sandwich. The room had a small refrigerator and safe. The staff were friendly and very helpful in giving directions and recommendations. They set up a Tuscany tour for me and got taxis for me several times. The area is away from the middle of Florence. If you are young and have good legs, you could easily walk to the center of Florence. The hotel is a short block from the Arno River. It was about a three block walk to the bus stop, but I was able to get everywhere from there. I don’t know what the rooms inside were like, but it was so nice being out in the garden. There were little tables with umbrellas to sit under. The price was very reasonable. All in all a very pleasant place with wonderful people.

Room Tip: I was alone and little garden room was very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Manatee27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crocini, Proprietario at Hotel Crocini, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Dear Manatee27
thank you very much for choosing the Crocini and for your precious and nice feedback, I look forward to welcome you again :)
Saluti da Firenze - Lorenzo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

737 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    314
    318
    86
    15
    4
See reviews for
161
360
27
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vicenza, Italy
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for a weekend and it was reasonably priced in comparison to the other hotels in the area. The staff is friendly and the hotel is about a 20 walk to all the major attractions in Florence. Breakfast was nice and a good selection for eating it 2 days in a row. Two things that should be emphasized with this hotel:
- the parking area is inside the hotels private courtyard. We parked our car and felt like it was completely safe and there was no risk of it being broken into.
- the family room was WAY bigger than expected. It was 2 separate bedrooms which was not advertised when we made the reservation. The main bedroom was very large. A very pleasant surprise.

We are a family of four and we do a lot of traveling so we focus more on necessity and convenience than all the amenities that comes with a higher star rating. This hotel was perfect for us, lots of room, free breakfast, parking available, and walking distance :) Highly recommended if you just need a place to sleep and use as a "base camp" for your sight seeing.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank DCoe33364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crocini, Proprietario at Hotel Crocini, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Dear DCoe33364
thank you very much for your feedback, our large rooms are perfetc for families and if you move by car having a parking is a MUST in Florence, you're right.
Saluti da Firenze - Lorenzo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2014

This hotel doesn't have a great view; however it is at walking distance to many interesting places: the Arno River, Gli Ufizzi Galery, the Communal Theatre. It is located also in a very nice area of Firenze, the staff is very helpful and polite -all of them English-speaking, which is a huge help- and breakfast, not your everyday ridiculous american breakfast but GOOD GOOD BREAKFAST is included in the price, which by the way is very good. I asked for a bathroom in the room, I'm not sure if every room has one but while traveling in Europe I suggest not to forget to ask for this. It has a small, slow elevator just in case you can't use the stairs and the over all decoration is nice. The area is quiet, safe and has lots of places to eat, shop and walk. I highly recommend it. By the way, I went to Firenze on April-May, wonderful weather, say 60-70 Farenheit average.

Room Tip: Don't forget to ask for a bathroom in the room while traveling in Europe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cocoloustaunau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crocini, Proprietario at Hotel Crocini, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Dear cocoloust
thank you for your visit and for your feedback, I agree with you, rooms with private bath are always better, we have 17 with bath and 3 without ;)
Saluti da Firenze - Lorenzo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2014

We chose this hotel for its reasonable price in an expensive city, its location and positive reviews. We were completely satisfied. In rating the room as excellent, it is in consideration of the hotel class and price; for its class and price, the hotel exceeds expectations.

The room was spacious with ample closet space and other areas to place suitcases. The bathroom was huge and spotlessly clean. Our friends, in the room next to us, had an awkward bathroom with limited space around the toilet area but they were good-natured about it since everything else about the hotel was so favorable. The hotel is in a peaceful area - an easy, pretty walk along the river to reach museums, etc. it was nice to return to this quiet setting after each busy day. The outdoor patio is a pleasant place to have drinks in the evening. There are wine glasses to take to the patio with wine/beer purchased from the hotel or from elsewhere. The breakfast was by far the best during our trip to five different cities in Italy. The breakfast room is pleasant with soft music, comfortable seating and adequate distance between tables. The breakfast included scrambled eggs, cheese, fresh fruit, cereal, yogurt, meat, pastries, juice, tea and coffee.

Front desk personnel during daytime hours were, without exception, very knowledgable and friendly. The owner, Lorenzo, obviously takes great pride in his establishment and always seemed genuinely interested in providing his guests with the best service possible. Our only complaint is that one of the men staffing the desk in the evening was very surly. From the moment we met him and smiled with a "thank you" for letting us in, he was grumpy. Despite all attempts to win him over, we were never the least bit successful! Oh well, the rest of our experience made up for a few unpleasant interactions with this one person.

This is a fine hotel and makes for a very pleasant stay while visiting Florence.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MNMinneapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crocini, Proprietario at Hotel Crocini, responded to this review, June 14, 2014
Dear MNMinneap
thank you so much for your very nice description of the Crocini, loved your feedback. I'll let Edy (the night concierge) read this for sure ;)
Saluti da Firenze - Lorenzo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2014

Five minute walk from the heart of Florence. Traditionally furnished and decorated Hotel in need of a little TLC. beautiful 'courtyard' garden allowed for off road secure parking. Limited breakfast options. Friendly helpful reception staff.

Room Tip: Reserve secure parking as this is limited
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philip H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crocini, Proprietario at Hotel Crocini, responded to this review, June 14, 2014
Dear Philip H
thank you very much for your feedback, hope to welcome you again in our Hotel ang gest at least one more "ball", we'll try to improve ;)
Saluti da Firenze - Lorenzo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2014 via mobile

Hotel Crocini was everything that was mentioned in earlier reviews. The staff were very helpful, the superior room was good, breakfast was excellent.

The hotel is close enough to the staton and the historical centre. We walked everyday and enjoyed the whole experience.

The reason for not giving 5 stars: We were charged for water at this hotel. I agree that it is not mentioned anywhere that water is free, but, you expect that at least one small bottle would be provided for a room.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank From_hyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crocini, Proprietario at Hotel Crocini, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear From_hyd
thank you so much for your nice feedback: just for information... tap water in Florence is absolutely good, clean, fresh and 100% drinkable, the Major of Florence is proud to offer to you all the water you want in order to save the environment from plastic bottles :)
Saluti da Firenze - Lorenzo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2014

I've stayed at this hotel for one night and I can only say positive things. Small, family run hotel, with super nice staff, very helpful at all times, all speaking English very well. Rooms are spacious, clean and well kept. Families can get baby cot for free, the breakfast room also has a child seat. Breakfast buffet has many different items, so you should take breakfast as well. The building has lift installed (small and old, but a special experience riding in it as in many other italian hotels). If you come by car, you can park it within hotel grounds for free. WIFI is also free and operates without problems. It's location is close to sights of Florence, all within walking distance. I would gladly come back another time and would recommend this place to friends.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank D0B1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crocini, Proprietario at Hotel Crocini, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear D0B1
thank you so much for your feedback, it's true we love babies and kids and all the families are absolutely welcome ;)
Saluti da Firenze - Lorenzo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Balcony
Hotel Balcony
#95 of 422 in Florence
733 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Savonarola
Hotel Savonarola
#147 of 422 in Florence
302 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Dali
Hotel Dali
#143 of 422 in Florence
648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel Fiorita
Hotel Fiorita
#88 of 422 in Florence
888 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Bavaria
Hotel Bavaria
#153 of 422 in Florence
464 reviews
Hotel La Fortezza
#62 of 422 in Florence
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Crocini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Crocini

Property: Hotel Crocini
Address: Corso Italia 28, 50123, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Florence
#81 Business Hotel in Florence
#102 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#117 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Crocini 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com and HRS so you can book your Hotel Crocini reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crocini Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing