We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great charm and staff!”
Review of Hotel Crocini

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Crocini
Ranked #94 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We stayed 4 nights and thoroghly enjoyed it. The building had traditional Italian charm with an internal courtyard. Extremely clean facilities with aircon and Wifi. The position was great for us, approx 100m to the river, 10 minutes tops walk to the centre and two minutes to a beautiful park! Lorenzo and his staff were terrific with their help and advice. Very personal service and we would recommend it to everyone travelling to Florence

Room Tip: Request a courtyard room with small balcony
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ian c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crocini, Proprietario at Hotel Crocini, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

Dear Ian C
thank you so much for your review, I'm truly happy to know that you liked the "Cascine Park", just a few steps from us, it's really a wonderful place to walk, to run or just to relax :)
I look forward to welcome you again!
Saluti da Firenze - Lorenzo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (761)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Crocini
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

158 - 164 of 761 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2013

I had chosen this hotel primarily due to the extremely positive reviews I had read. My girlfriend and I had arrived later at night at the hotel, and it was an interesting setup. Definitely an older-style hotel, and our room had quite high (30ft) ceilings, but everything was definitely older. Had it just been me traveling on a low-budget for work, I think it was fine, but based on the reviews (including numerous couples) I was hoping for something that was more romantic.
At the end of the day, it was fine and the breakfast was decent, and the location wasn't too bad as it's about a 10 minute walk from the centre. Compared to my uncle/aunt who stayed at the Starhotel just 2 minutes away, this was about 1/4 the price and their room, while nicely appointed and very clean, was not so spectacular as you'd expect from such a hotel. My conclusion is that hotels in Florence are expensive!
So, you get what you pay for in short. If you're looking for something a bit more intimate, new, etc., this might not be your cup of tea. If you're okay with an older hotel and, more or less, don't mind much about what's inside, then this is fine!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crocini, Proprietario at Hotel Crocini, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Dear GrahamToronto
thank you for your feedback and your opinion. I would like to remind to the Tripadvisor readers that we have 3 standards of room: the "economy", old fornitures and shared bathroom, the "standard", old fornitures and ensuite bathroom, "superior", brand new fornitures (classic style) and ensuite bathroom.
So it's possible to have a choice between "old" and "new"... different tastes are always welcome ;)
I look forward to welcome you again in a superior room, maybe be this time 2/5 of the price of a four stars hotel ;)
Saluti da Firenze - Lorenzo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We stayed in an older room which had a tiny shower and no shelf space. Aside from that, I have only positive remarks for the Hotel Crocini. The beds were comfortable. Room was air conditioned and had working wifi. Breakfast was very good with fresh baked goods, yogurt, cereal, meats & cheese, coffee, and a great hot chocolate. A couple of the staff were especially helpful, giving us restaurant recommendations, directions & a map, and we very much appreciated that they made reservations for us at the Accademia & Ufizzi galleries before our arrival. The neighborhood was quiet, near the river, and not too far to walk to the main tourist spots. We stayed 3 nights and would happily stay here again if in Florence.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crocini, Proprietario at Hotel Crocini, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Dear SusanEC54
Thank you so much for your feedback, we look forward to welcome you again at the Crocini, the beauty of Florence is always at your full disposal, in a walking distance ;)
Saluti da Firenze - Lorenzo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Cheap reasonable place to stay and central in regard of the center of the city.

The breakfast is ok for the price it is even good.

and in addition the service of the staff (response, helpful.. etc.) was great.

Room Tip: Do not take number 19 In general it is a good price for such a location. Of course it isn't a l...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vielreisend1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crocini, Proprietario at Hotel Crocini, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2013

Dear vielreisend1958
thank you for your feedback and suggestions, I sealed the shower box whit new silicon today as soon as I read your review, now it looks to be ok :)
I look forward to welcome you again!
Saluti da Firenze - Lorenzo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

This hotel is just outside the main area of Firenze. It's a bit of a walk (15-20 min) to the main attractions. The neighborhood was safe and quiet. Staff was kind and helpful. Breakfast was good, more than a typical continental breakfast. Our room was spacious, clean, and comfortable. The wifi was included and we had a good signal. Several good restaurants in the neighborhood at reasonable prices. Also a supermecato nearby.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank azo2ord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crocini, Proprietario at Hotel Crocini, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2013

Dear azo2ord
it has been a pleasure to welcome you and I look forward to your next visit in this beautiful town
Thank you very much for your feedback :)
Saluti da Firenze - Lorenzo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Having arrived at the airport i found the flight closed and the halls empty (first time in 40 years). The next flight was a very long 24 hours late.So, I found myself outside of the infuriating Florentine airport at the mercy of Italian taxi-drivers.And how lucky I was ! Not only was he happy to take me into the city, late at night , at the agreed fee to an unknown destination- he called several hotels and finally took me to Hotel Crocini. The price for the last room was exorbitant for a couple, let alone a single woman. But I was in no position to argue and decided to positively enjoy an "extra" 24 hours in Florence
The room was large, comfortable and clean. Some rooms had a very pretty view over their private garden.I must say there were some other disappointing things. The tv channels were very limited and wifi only worked for me in the lobby.
However, the gentleman in reception went to great lengths to help me with the computer in the lobby and also to substitute the printer and print out my new tickets, in English and with much patience.The breakfast staff were kind enough to stay open to serve me coffee after finally getting organized.Good maps were available. The location of the hotel itself is fantastic- almost on the river, near the airport bus station and lots of coffee shops nearby.
Shabby chic may have been invented here. However, the service was excellent

Room Tip: ask for a room overlooking the garden and don't get there late
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 57narelle57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crocini, Proprietario at Hotel Crocini, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2013

Dear 57narelle57
It's good to see that you arrived safely at home... after all the unlucky events of your last two days in Florence :(
Thank very much you for your feedback and saluti da Firenze - Lorenzo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Just arrived home from a wonderful stay in Firenze , We stayed a total of three nights at the Crocini. We thought it was fantastic, great value for the money , nice room with A/C , breakfast was lovely, and you can even get an espresso ! staff were very helpful and even recomended a couple of local restaurants, `The Rotunda `& `Paper o Rosso ` both great value ! The Crocini is about a fifteen minute walk to both the station and the main area of town, but who minds walking in such a beautiful city. We look forward to a return trip to Florence next year and will definitely stay at the Crocini again. Grazie Crocini .

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crocini, Proprietario at Hotel Crocini, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2013

Dear Steve P
GRAZIE A VOI!! ;)
Thank you for your feedback, I look forward to your next visit :)
Saluti da Firenze - Lorenzo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Hotel Bavaria
Hotel Bavaria
#158 of 411 in Florence
480 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Dali
Hotel Dali
#140 of 411 in Florence
660 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Il Bargellino
Hotel Il Bargellino
#127 of 411 in Florence
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Savonarola
Hotel Savonarola
#151 of 411 in Florence
312 reviews
San Lorenzo
Porta Faenza
Porta Faenza
#70 of 411 in Florence
1,037 reviews
Hotel La Fortezza
#63 of 411 in Florence
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Crocini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Crocini

Address: Corso Italia 28, 50123, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#20 Best Value Hotel in Florence
#81 Business Hotel in Florence
#102 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#117 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range: $60 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Crocini 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Crocini reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crocini Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing