We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent value, but away from main attractions”
Review of Hotel Crocini

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Crocini
Ranked #96 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 12, 2013

By the time I booked a room in Florence all of the closer in reasonably prices hotels were booked. Crocini was a great value then. But it is a little far from the main attractions there, on the flip side it was a very quiet part of town. The room was decent and the AC worked well. Breakfast was decent with some fresh fruit, yogurt, cold cuts and variety of breads and pastries. The room had an in-room safe.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barfood_MO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crocini, Proprietario at Hotel Crocini, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Dear Barfood_MO
thank you very much for your kind rview! Nice to read that you liked the hotel, maybe that finding this quiet area you exchanged the 10 minutes walking to the main attractions with a good silent rest at night. Having a window on the wrong street in Florence could be your worst nghtmare ;)
Saluti da Firenze - Lorenzo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (767)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

177 - 183 of 767 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Crocini for one night on June 15th 2013. It was very well situated up a quiet street near the river making it an easy 10 minute walk into Florence along the river. The room was very clean with crisp white sheets and the bed was one of the most comfortable we slept in during our time in Italy. The continental breakfast was good with lots of choice and you could sit outside in the garden if you wanted. I would like to thank the concierge personally for recommending a lovely little restaurant on the other side of the bridge. It was called Trattoria Da Ginone and was excellent value for money with a very "italian" atmosphere. We also went to St Marks Church to see some Opera. It was absolutely fantastic and the whole audience loved it. Have a look online - it really was quite magical! All in all - a great little hotel for the money.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hawkes01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crocini, Proprietario at Hotel Crocini, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Dear Hawkes01
thank you for your nice review! That restaurant is really a good option in Florence, it's a little bit out of the crowd and on the less touristic side of the river. I love it too, it's worth a try even if it's in 20 minutes walking from the Hotel :)
I hope to see you again here in this beautiful town.
Saluti da Firenze - Lorenzo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Stayed at Hotel Crocini in April 2013, with a friend. We had a comfortable twin room with ensuite. We booked the hotel before leaving our base in Umbria, and travelled to Firenze by car, with a stop at 'The Mall' outlet shopping centre en route. Hotel management sent excellent directions, which with the google map on the ipad were invaluable navigating our way to the door. A bonus was the availability of on site parking. Crocini is located in an area I had not previously considered, but it was worth the change. A very pleasant walk along the river to the main sights, or through the streets full of great shops not jammed with tourists. Good restaurants within 5 and 15 min walk. Only complaint was the inconsiderate group of guests who sat down below our open window at 3.00am and proceeded to chatter and smoke... yuk!

Room Tip: Perhaps try and get a room a bit further along from above the outdoor chairs and tables in case late...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jaunting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crocini, Proprietario at Hotel Crocini, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

Dear jaunting
thank you very much for visiting us, we are lucky as well to have guests like you and your friend.
Saluti da Firenze - Lorenzo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

The staff overall is very good; the daytime staff being more positively engaged than the nightime staff. We got good information and assistance from the daytime staff.

The complimentary continental breakfast was very good with some choices of pastries and fruits, cheese, meat, yogurt and juice. Excellent coffee. And a friendly responsive dining room staff.

The setting is lovely. An older building from the 1920's featuring period furniture and appointments in the lobby, hallways and dining room. But, it would be much more attractive with a good cleaning of the rugs and stair runners, painting of the walls and ceilings, and a more professional well-organized reception area. Also, an elevator to help with the baggage would be a welcome addition.

The hotel is on a quiet side street with a beautiful backyard garden and terrace for dining. Our room featured french doors that opened out to this lovely space and we could hear the birds The surrounding hotels are quiet, too.The guest rooms have been updated with new furniture and comfortable beds and pillows. However, the bathrooms are still very dated. The bathtub is very high and narrow, making it difficult to shower in and uncomfortable to bathe in.

We discovered some good restaurants about 10-15 minutes away. And all of the major attractions like the Uffizi Museum and Piazza Signoria, Ponte Vecchio and Duomo comlex were all within easy walking distance. Even the train station was within walking distance so you can save yourself a taxi ride for12 euros!

Room Tip: If you have light luggage, or can get the reception staff to help, I would recommend an upstairs roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sue D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crocini, Proprietario at Hotel Crocini, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2013

Dear Sue D
tahnk you so much for the time you dedicated to write your review and thank you for all your precious suggestions helping us to understand what our customers are expecting from us.
I look forward to see you again at Crocini :)
Saluti da Firenze - Lorenzo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Staff were excellent. They assisted us with everything and gave great advice. For an early day trip where we were going to miss the breakfast buffet, the night concierge packed us a to-go breakfast! The decor was very old world, but the facilities were modern. There was an elevator to our room. Room was clean and comfortable. The breakfast buffet was more than we got at other hotels. It was a little bit of a walk from the city sites. Maybe 15 to 20 minutes. We planned for the day without thinking about being able to stop for a quick return to the hotel- though one day we did have to return so it is doable, but a little out of the way. Also had to walk a couple of blocks to get to restaurants. Considering everything, including price, would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Room 21 has a balcony and faces the courtyard :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elizabeth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crocini, Proprietario at Hotel Crocini, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

Dear Elizabeth
thank you really very much for this review, all of us is very proud and happy to read about your satisfaction :)
Saluti da Firenze - Lorenzo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

we had booked 2 superor rooms at refundable rates so the hotel was certainly not value for money at 120 euros plus the city tax.there was no lift for our rooms its meant for the cheaper rooms but it was very old & i wonder how well it works. lorenzo carried most of our bags. the hotel has no restaurants near by and public transport to the centre is limited. the other staff are not as knowledgeable as Lorenzo ..

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ista660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crocini, Proprietario at Hotel Crocini, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2013

Dear ista660
thank you for you review, sorry to read that you have been not fully satisfied. During the 4 days you spent here I tried to do as usual my best for you and your family, believe me, you had the same attention we give to every single guest. I believe that you opinion has been influenced by the horrible weather you found in Florence, that much rain doesn't help for sure.. but as I told to you I really can't manage :(
I am also sorry because in 4 days you did not noted the restaurant right in front of the hotel, if you were tired that one was just a few meters from us, and as many other rewievers wrote there are several options in the immediate neighborhood, many italians, a chinese, a japanese, a mexican and one indian too :)
We do have the C2 and the C3 electric buses stop in 3 minutes walking from the Hotel - for those like you that don't like to enjoy the beautiful (if it's not raining like it was, you're right) 10/15 minutes walk along the river to reach the main monuments - and their frequency in direction of the city center is 10 minutes: we do not hide our location that can be found everywhere online, everyone should check this very important detail before booking.
Our elevator is running up and down smoothly and efficently since his installation in 1930 and it's the subject of 90% of the pictures of our guests, they love it. I assure to you that is still perfectly working, I am proud of my elevator :)
Saluti da Firenze - Lorenzo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights in April - what a gem! Desk staff is absolutely the best anywhere - every single one of them. Upon arrival, she helped us with getting our luggage up the short staircase (I was really tired). The room is standard European size - I agree with other reviewers, love the tile floors. Bathroom was also tiled and clean. My roommate wasn't feeling well, and the desk staff very kindly turned on the AC so she could sleep in the afternoon without toasting (while I went shopping!!!) The long windows were lovely - just didn't want to let the mosquitos in. Our windows opened onto an inner courtyard, so no street noise at night. Breakfast was good. When we weren't sure what to do with our open day, sure enough we got great tips on taking the train to Lucca. When we needed a taxi, Gabriel arranged it quickly and efficiently. To reach this hotel from the train, take the tram and then it's a short 2 block walk. There was even a little fridge under the desk that kept our water bottles cold. Cleaning staff were very nice and did a great job. When we came back later after watching the sun set over Piazza Michaelangelo (you simply have to do that), we were cheerfully met at the door. The only con was that the beds were a bit firmer than I'm used to, but I was so tired I really didn't notice. In the lobby, there is water and other supplies at a very reasonable price. I would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank castlesara2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crocini, Proprietario at Hotel Crocini, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2013

Dear castlesara2010
thank you very much for your nice review, glad to see that you liked the Hotel and our service ;)
I remember with pleasure those warm days when you were here last month... we had many weeks of rain after that sunny break, you have been lucky !!
Saluti da Firenze - Lorenzo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Hotel Dali
Hotel Dali
#137 of 410 in Florence
664 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Bavaria
Hotel Bavaria
#166 of 410 in Florence
489 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Savonarola
Hotel Savonarola
#158 of 410 in Florence
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uffizi
Hotel Santa Croce
Hotel Santa Croce
#47 of 410 in Florence
825 reviews
Hotel La Fortezza
#64 of 410 in Florence
332 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Il Bargellino
Hotel Il Bargellino
#116 of 410 in Florence
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Crocini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Crocini

Address: Corso Italia 28, 50123, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Florence
#81 Business Hotel in Florence
#102 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#117 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range: $54 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Crocini 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Crocini reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crocini Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing