We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First class” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Crocini

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Crocini
Ranked #92 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level Contributor
197 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“First class”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

The best hotel for value and service that we have stayed in during our Europe holiday. The rooms are very comfortable, clean and there is a lify for luggage on upper floors. The staff are extremely hopeful and professional. Breakfast offers a varied menu. The hotel is metres away from the river and the highly regarded Florence Theatre. A top hotel at extremely attractive rates. We will definitely return to this very well run hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 30carat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crocini, Proprietario at Hotel Crocini, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear 30carat,
thank you for your nice comments, to be really honest we are not a first class hotel actually but just a small family run 2 stars aiming to the third ;)
I really appreciate the "well run" , this is my greater satisfaction!!
Grazie mille!! Saluti da Firenzew - Lorenzo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

708 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    301
    306
    82
    15
    4
See reviews for
154
345
24
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
piemonte
Level Contributor
190 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

Large confortable room, but common bathroom was outside and not always clean. Great breakfast, good position not far from city center. No free parking in the area. Extremly cheap. good place to visit Florence.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marycri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crocini, Proprietario at Hotel Crocini, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear marycri
thank you for your feedback, you got exactly the right spirit of our budget solution for a cheap stay in Florence, offered by our "economy rooms", a very basic accomodation with the same level of services of the other solutions, standard and superior rooms, but saving up to 50% for the disadvantage of the external shared bathroom.
Thank you for noting that in the center of Florence is not possible to park the car if you are not resident, so it's really very important to book a parking, as you have seen we have a very small availability of parking spots inside the hotel.
Saluti da Firenze - Lorenzo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
73 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

The staff at the hotel were amazing - kind, helpful, knowledgeable. The room was very comfortable, the washroom was a decent size, the shower was a decent size with good water pressure. The breakfast buffet was good, nice choices - good quality food, one of the better ones we had while traveling in Italy. The location was great - not right in the core but close enough for short walks to key things. The tram line is close, too.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellingdoris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crocini, Proprietario at Hotel Crocini, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear travellingdoris
thank you so much for your feedback, everybody here is really happy when the guest is satisfied, we are tryng to do our best every day :)
Saluti da Firenze - Lorenzo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

Very nice and tipical Hotel, great kindness and hospitality. Very close to the Inner City. Parking inside, TV, internet/wifi, well protected by traffic. Get ready for fabulous breakfasts !!!! We will come back as soon as possible. Remember: Hotel Crocini, for nice and really cheap rest inside the magic Center of Florence.

Helpful?
Thank Pierfrancesco P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
crocini, Proprietario at Hotel Crocini, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Dear Francesco
thank you so much for your review, I'm really happy to see that we matched all your expectations. I hope I'll see you again very soon in our beautiful Florence.
Saluti da Firenze - Lorenzo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

The staff was really nice and helpful (gave us wonderful tips). The room was big enough and clean but seemed very old (which may be a good thing as well..). The location is pretty good. Just a nice short walk from the center.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sapir S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crocini, Proprietario at Hotel Crocini, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Sapir S,
thank you so much for your review! We leave to the guests the coiche about the rooms, as you said antique furnishing can be a good thing for someone and a bad thing for some other: our "standard" rooms have the original '700 and '800 fornitures, our "superior" rooms have been recently renovated with brand new fornitures, with a light-colored classical look.
I look forward to see you again in this wonderful city to give you even more tips on what to do and where to go ;)
Saluti da Firenze - Lorenzo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

Mr Peroni was amazing. Extremely knowledgable on the city, sites, and transport -- and very friendly! He was absolutely the best thing about this hotel. Room was clean. My review is more based on other circumstances

Unfortunately, the night staff was not as friendly at all -- when we checked (8pm evening), there was a group of men hanging out in the small lobby w/ the clerk. While it could've been nothing at all, the vibe we got when we walked in was less than comfortable. Our clerk was somewhat cold, and we had initially thought maybe it was b/c he did not speak English well; this was not the case however, as he was very fluent. If Sgnr Peroni had checked us in initially, my overall impression of the facility would have been immensely different I'm certain. Our room was small - not a major issue, but it was actually a little hard opening both luggage at the same time. And unfortunately, it was very loud both outside our window (yelling/talking), and there were plumbing noises coming from our bathroom. The noise, compiled w/ our very uneasy feeling we got from the initial reception crew had us so on edge that we did not get any sleep at all -- but the bed was very comfy actually. We adjusted our reservations after the single night, to which Sgnr Peroni was very accommodating.

This place is not the choice for a hotel "safe haven" in winter weather or romantic stay, but Crocini would be perfect for a very no-frills individual/young couple (traveling with ear plugs).

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deeds947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crocini, Proprietario at Hotel Crocini, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear deeds947
thank you for your time and thank you for your suggestions. I am sorry if Edy appeared cold and not welcoming, I have very good feedbacks about him, many written here on Tripadvisor too.
We have many VERY large rooms and the hotel was not full during your visit, a room change should have been very easy and I should have been very happy doing it, next time consider to ask in case of problems, no complaint = no solution ;)
Saluti da Firenze - Lorenzo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
37 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

We stayed at Hotel Crocini for a week in October 2012. It is located a bit far from major sites, but most are easily accessible by using the C2 or C3 - a useful free public transportation map is available at Tourist Information. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful, they spoke English and they provided us with a very good free map of the city. Breakfast is served in a pleasant room overlooking a rose garden and is indeed substantial and good. Our room was spacious and had ample storage space with a small fridge and wifi. Daily cleaning was OK with floor mopped, clean sheets and towels and the bathroom appeared to be cleaned daily. Water pressure was good with plenty of hot water. October was unseasonably warm and a working a/c was appreciated. However, off-season deep cleaning appears to be neglected - areas around the windows and doorknobs were unusually grimy. Also, windows did not close tightly and we killed several mosquitoes. Small smears of blood on the walls indicated previous occupants had the same problem. I am surprised no reviewers have commented on this. However, we probably would not have noticed the condition of the windows if we had not had mosquitoes. The discovery was disconcerting in what was otherwise a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank molly1548
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crocini, Proprietario at Hotel Crocini, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear molly1548,
thank you for your feedback, I'm happy you loved our service, our breakfast and the electric buses we have as a mobility solution for Florence :)
I am sorry for the details you've noted in your room, should I had this information during the week you were here I should have tried to solve the matter as fast as possible, with a deep cleaning if necessary (anyway we made off-season deep cleaning in november-december) or with a room change if possible. In every room there is an electric device with a fluid mosquitos repellent, maybe I could give you one more if asked, unfortunatly mosquitos are "the price" we have to pay to have windows facing our very quiet garden, I am really very sorry but you have been here in a "middle season" with the temeperature going up and down, as you said unreasonable. The week before your arrival was chilly and we changed the air conditioning general setting to "warm", but if you can keep the windows closed having the right teperature in the room there are no mosquitos inside , that's why you had this problem. Once again I am very sorry i hope that next time everything will be better, believe me we're doing big efforts to get better and better :)
Saluti da Firenze - Lorenzo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Balcony
Hotel Balcony
#84 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Dali
Hotel Dali
#133 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Savonarola
Hotel Savonarola
#135 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel Nuova Italia
Hotel Nuova Italia
#97 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 815 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Bavaria
Hotel Bavaria
#166 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
Hotel La Fortezza
#122 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Crocini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Crocini

Property: Hotel Crocini
Address: Corso Italia 28, 50123, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#15 Best Value Hotel in Florence
#80 Business Hotel in Florence
#102 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#117 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Crocini 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Crocini reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crocini Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing