We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!”
Review of Hotel Crocini

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Crocini
Ranked #93 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

Very nice and tipical Hotel, great kindness and hospitality. Very close to the Inner City. Parking inside, TV, internet/wifi, well protected by traffic. Get ready for fabulous breakfasts !!!! We will come back as soon as possible. Remember: Hotel Crocini, for nice and really cheap rest inside the magic Center of Florence.

Helpful?
Thank Pierfrancesco P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
crocini, Proprietario at Hotel Crocini, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Dear Francesco
thank you so much for your review, I'm really happy to see that we matched all your expectations. I hope I'll see you again very soon in our beautiful Florence.
Saluti da Firenze - Lorenzo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

749 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    323
    320
    86
    15
    5
See reviews for
169
362
27
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

The staff was really nice and helpful (gave us wonderful tips). The room was big enough and clean but seemed very old (which may be a good thing as well..). The location is pretty good. Just a nice short walk from the center.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sapir S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crocini, Proprietario at Hotel Crocini, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Sapir S,
thank you so much for your review! We leave to the guests the coiche about the rooms, as you said antique furnishing can be a good thing for someone and a bad thing for some other: our "standard" rooms have the original '700 and '800 fornitures, our "superior" rooms have been recently renovated with brand new fornitures, with a light-colored classical look.
I look forward to see you again in this wonderful city to give you even more tips on what to do and where to go ;)
Saluti da Firenze - Lorenzo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

Mr Peroni was amazing. Extremely knowledgable on the city, sites, and transport -- and very friendly! He was absolutely the best thing about this hotel. Room was clean. My review is more based on other circumstances

Unfortunately, the night staff was not as friendly at all -- when we checked (8pm evening), there was a group of men hanging out in the small lobby w/ the clerk. While it could've been nothing at all, the vibe we got when we walked in was less than comfortable. Our clerk was somewhat cold, and we had initially thought maybe it was b/c he did not speak English well; this was not the case however, as he was very fluent. If Sgnr Peroni had checked us in initially, my overall impression of the facility would have been immensely different I'm certain. Our room was small - not a major issue, but it was actually a little hard opening both luggage at the same time. And unfortunately, it was very loud both outside our window (yelling/talking), and there were plumbing noises coming from our bathroom. The noise, compiled w/ our very uneasy feeling we got from the initial reception crew had us so on edge that we did not get any sleep at all -- but the bed was very comfy actually. We adjusted our reservations after the single night, to which Sgnr Peroni was very accommodating.

This place is not the choice for a hotel "safe haven" in winter weather or romantic stay, but Crocini would be perfect for a very no-frills individual/young couple (traveling with ear plugs).

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deeds947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crocini, Proprietario at Hotel Crocini, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear deeds947
thank you for your time and thank you for your suggestions. I am sorry if Edy appeared cold and not welcoming, I have very good feedbacks about him, many written here on Tripadvisor too.
We have many VERY large rooms and the hotel was not full during your visit, a room change should have been very easy and I should have been very happy doing it, next time consider to ask in case of problems, no complaint = no solution ;)
Saluti da Firenze - Lorenzo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We stayed at Hotel Crocini for a week in October 2012. It is located a bit far from major sites, but most are easily accessible by using the C2 or C3 - a useful free public transportation map is available at Tourist Information. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful, they spoke English and they provided us with a very good free map of the city. Breakfast is served in a pleasant room overlooking a rose garden and is indeed substantial and good. Our room was spacious and had ample storage space with a small fridge and wifi. Daily cleaning was OK with floor mopped, clean sheets and towels and the bathroom appeared to be cleaned daily. Water pressure was good with plenty of hot water. October was unseasonably warm and a working a/c was appreciated. However, off-season deep cleaning appears to be neglected - areas around the windows and doorknobs were unusually grimy. Also, windows did not close tightly and we killed several mosquitoes. Small smears of blood on the walls indicated previous occupants had the same problem. I am surprised no reviewers have commented on this. However, we probably would not have noticed the condition of the windows if we had not had mosquitoes. The discovery was disconcerting in what was otherwise a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank molly1548
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crocini, Proprietario at Hotel Crocini, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear molly1548,
thank you for your feedback, I'm happy you loved our service, our breakfast and the electric buses we have as a mobility solution for Florence :)
I am sorry for the details you've noted in your room, should I had this information during the week you were here I should have tried to solve the matter as fast as possible, with a deep cleaning if necessary (anyway we made off-season deep cleaning in november-december) or with a room change if possible. In every room there is an electric device with a fluid mosquitos repellent, maybe I could give you one more if asked, unfortunatly mosquitos are "the price" we have to pay to have windows facing our very quiet garden, I am really very sorry but you have been here in a "middle season" with the temeperature going up and down, as you said unreasonable. The week before your arrival was chilly and we changed the air conditioning general setting to "warm", but if you can keep the windows closed having the right teperature in the room there are no mosquitos inside , that's why you had this problem. Once again I am very sorry i hope that next time everything will be better, believe me we're doing big efforts to get better and better :)
Saluti da Firenze - Lorenzo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

Pros: it's basic but clean, big rooms, you can buy water, sodas and wine there whenever you want, decent breakfast, nice staff. Cons: far from downtown (you can walk, but not all the streets feel safe), they have their own parking lot but you have to pay for it, hotel precise refurbishment, tiny lift. One small detail: one of our group forgot to deliver the key room. It's an average key with a big piece of acrylic at the end showing the room number, I think it's not expensive. We were traveling around Europe and they asked us to send it back. We were in France and spent almost 9€ to do that, which we imagine is more than the key's value. We know it was our fault, but never thought it was so important for them.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank PIXUPIXU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crocini, Proprietario at Hotel Crocini, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Dear PIXUPIXU,
Thank you for your feedback and thank you for sending our key back, we received it! Actually the key is not an average key but it's a numbered special key part of a set of security keys of a fireproof set of doors and we should have asked to the manufacturer a copy, same thing for the keyholder that you can't buy at the supermarket, as you can imagine. This should have been more or less 20% of what you paid for a standard quad room with parking, breakfast and local taxes fo two nights , definitely was not that expensive, but actually making the difference for a budget hotel like the Crocini :)
Thank you also for all your suggestions and I hope I'll meet you again in Florence
Saluti da Firenze - Lorenzo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Although this hotel has only 2 stars, I'd give it all 5 stars. Just because of it's 100-year old furniture. It's the same as staying at a museum... We LOVED it.

It's very simple, but clean. It has a very nice smell of old-times which gives a pretty nostalgic mood.
This hotel is not for everyone. But if you choose it, other hotels will seem chic-flic too you.

Room Tip: Ask for the second floor. The lift that takes you there is lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ethan1el
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crocini, Proprietario at Hotel Crocini, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear ethan1el,
yes, our standard rooms have all an original very old forniture, some pieces are 200 years old and even older. As I told to you here the world is divided in two, those who love the antiques and those who hate them :)
For this reason we have some rooms with modern style fornitures (superior) and the other with the original forniture of this building, that is a 200 years old palace, but we are not a 5 stars hotel, we are a 2 stars aiming to turn in a 3 stars in the future.
I'm really happy that you had the right room for you and your friends :)
So thank you very much for your very nice review and I look forward to see you again in Florence.
Saluti da Firenze - Lorenzo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2012

My rating is a relative rating. It is a VALUE FOR THE MONEY SPENT rating, not a comparison to a Waldorf Astoria. The location, size of room, charm, continental breakfast, helpfulness of the staff, furnishings all rate as best in class! We stayed 7 nights and had a balcony room with private bath. Anyone looking for the best place for the least amount of money should look here. The courtyard was a warm and cozy place to have breakfast next to. Whatever we needed - iron, ironing board, water, utensils, the owner - Lorenzo, made available. We especially benefited from Lorenzo's guidance on where to go and how to get there. Anyone can find areas of improvement for anything and Hotel Crocini is no exception. The bottom line for Hotel Crocini, though, is that all things together, you will not find a better overall package for the money than here, so just make your reservations here, and enjoy Firenze and the surrounding Tuscany countryside!

Room Tip: Rooms with a private bath are more desirable for couples.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crocini, Proprietario at Hotel Crocini, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear Daniel,
thank you so much for your review. It's true, we keep the service and the quality at the same level either in high or low season and this is a very big deal for the smart tourists like you, joining us in autumn and winter.
By the way Florence and the sorroundings are always wonderful, even in the cold season and they always worth a visit ;)
Saluti da Firenze - Lorenzo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Marco
Hotel Savonarola
Hotel Savonarola
#151 of 411 in Florence
307 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Dali
Hotel Dali
#141 of 411 in Florence
650 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Il Bargellino
Hotel Il Bargellino
#109 of 411 in Florence
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Loggia Fiorentina
Loggia Fiorentina
#175 of 411 in Florence
484 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Balcony
Hotel Balcony
#96 of 411 in Florence
736 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Bavaria
Hotel Bavaria
#145 of 411 in Florence
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Crocini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Crocini

Property: Hotel Crocini
Address: Corso Italia 28, 50123, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Florence
#81 Business Hotel in Florence
#102 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#117 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Crocini 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Crocini reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crocini Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing