We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hotel in a quite area but close to the centre”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Villa il Castagno
Ranked #326 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Lawrence & Vonny - Malta
My wife and I have spent 6 nights at this hotel in May 2013. We may frankly say that this hotel is kept impeccably clean and serves quite a good continental breakfast. The hotel is situated in a very good area where one can find all shopping facilities, including electronics and very good restaurants at decent prices. Just walk uphill “Via Dei Artisti” and you'll come across the "Papero Viola" restaurant where you can have a very good two course meal at less than €14; of course, including wine.
The first impression of the staff members, could be not very welcoming. But once they are approached and conversed with, they loosen up and become typically Italian and make you feel like a family member.
With respect to proximity to the centre, you can walk all the way downhill “Via dei Artisti” to the Duomo at a leisurely pace and be there in less than 20 mins. If you are lazy, then take bus No 17. Perhaps it would take longer than that, to get you there.
I really enjoyed discussing daily issues with Antonio, the receptionist. We really liked this hotel and feel that we had a very good deal and a very good time. We will definitely go there again.

Room Tip: In case you read about complaints mosquitos, keep the window closed at night and don't forget to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank YvonneMalta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (153)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 153 reviews

Reviewed May 31, 2013

hi,

we are couple 30 and 32 years old. we used this hotel for two nights. We are never very demanding people and have a good feel of common sense, and prefer to be happy rather then insisting to be always 'right'.

Good:
- location
- breakfast was enough
- room was very nice

Bad:
- staff wasn't friendly, came across to us as grumpy
- staff didn't speak enough English
- there were some hair on the floor in the room and the bathroom.

Room Tip: 20 mins walk to Duomo, Old Town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JoeBarAce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

I went to Florence with my boyfriend at the end of April and we were looking for a cheap accommodation not in the city centre as we didn't want to spend a fortune in car park.
The hotel provides car park on request but €15/day for parking is too expensive (it's actually a rip of) so we decided instead to park in a quiet street close to the hotel. It is in a good location as just 10-15 minutes walk from the city centre. We arrived at the hotel a bit early and as the room was not ready yet, so the owner allowed us to leave our luggages in the hall. Our room was big in size with a really comfortable bed and it was clean. The bathroom was clean as well but the shower was actually blocked so I was a bit concerned about not floading the room.
Breakfast was inclued and it was a very simple continental breakfast but with the price we paid (€30 each) I really would not complain about the breakfast.
There was a garden which unfortunately was not available as under work.
I'm not sure I would go back because some of the staff working in the hotel were really nice but other ones not (not friendly at all) but saying that the room and the price was actually really good.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank laurasuper79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

A nice hotel within 5 minutes walking from Vasari bus statuin (line 10, ,17) and about 15 minutes walk from the Duomo, the hotel is located on a quitet, residential part of the city. No drunken tourist yells, no traffic. So you can have a good nights rest. The bar/breakfast hall is a bit hard to access for disabled, but easy to find otherwise. Breakfast is as simple as it gets- breads, croissants, flakes, butter, jam. However, there's also the day's cake, which is a must - try treat (unless you're gluten sensetive). The bar prices are very reasonable. For example- a 1.5 litres bottle of water in a supermarket is 0.8 Euro- in the bar is 1 Euro. Why bother walking?
The reception is not 24-7/ At night you have to key in a code (ask at check in) to enter the hotel, but once there- grab your key from the panel and welcome home.
First floor rooms have access to a backyard- to smoke or to breathe, nice all the same.
Had all the soap and towels we needed and the room was sparkling clean.
Wifi is extra charge but here's the fun part. You buy 24 hours- it's not a day, it's 24 hours in total, you can spend it in one day or a week, 24 hours for 5 euros. Signal's good on floor.
Staff doesn't always understand English, but they do their best still. Have a cute Russian-speaking worker too, she was a real help.

Room Tip: First floor has backyard access, better Wifi too. But 24 hours at the Wifi- you can spend them grad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Demiriya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Stayed here for a weekend during a Study Abroad tenure in Italy. Being on a budget, this was the best option for us. Its about a 15 minute walk from the center of the city. Rooms are a bit small, however, I did not experience any bed bugs. Make sure to ask for towels and soap as those are not standard in the room. The breakfast inclusion was a plus! Overall, if you just need a place to lay your head while traveling in Florence, this would be it.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank quething247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

We stayed at Hotel Villa Il Castagno for 4 nights, after the first night we commented on how many mosquito bites we had when we woke up, thinking nothing of it we went out and toured florence. After 2 more nights of this and realising that we hadn't actually seen any mosquitoes or even opened the window we came to the conclusion that there were bed bugs. Our bodies were covered all over, it was truly disgusting. When we approached the receptionist about his he said that it was "impossible". He explained that he HIMSELF! had moved the new bed into the room no less than 1 week ago. He then asked us to find a doctor to substantiate our claims, when our faces showed the absurd nature of this request he said that we had been drinking too much in the room, once again our faces betrayed our surprise at this allegation, he then said that it must be lice from our heads. Dumbfounded with these obtuse allegations we shook our heads with concern. Assuring us once again the impossibility of our claim he promised us the bed was fire proof, urging us to test this. When we explained that it was not fire but bed bugs we were concerned with he said "impossible" and stormed out of the room. Apart from this no one in the hotel speaks english and it is a long walk (at least 30 minutes) to get to the center. If you do make the mistake of staying here DO NOT follow their instructions to the hotel, they are misleading and tell you to take the bus but not which stop to get off. After 5 months travelling in Europe this was the most disappointing service we have experienced the whole time.

Room Tip: avoid the rooms with bed bugs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Adelaide W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2011

• Internet €5/day extra
• non-touristy hotel (non-English)
• basic breakfast (assorted bread)
• street parking (scarce; take first available white spot on one way street in front of hotel)

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GreenBayJack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Hotel Masaccio
#275 of 410 in Florence
174 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Bijou
Hotel Bijou
#301 of 410 in Florence
242 reviews
Hotel Emma
#254 of 410 in Florence
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Spagna
Hotel Spagna
#354 of 410 in Florence
421 reviews
Ungherese
#211 of 410 in Florence
262 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Elite
Hotel Elite
#263 of 410 in Florence
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa il Castagno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa il Castagno

Address: Via Andrea del Castagno 31, 50132, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #326 of 410 Hotels in Florence
Price Range: $56 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Villa il Castagno 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Villa il Castagno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Il Castagno

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing