We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Danjan” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Residenza Castiglioni

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Residenza Castiglioni
Ranked #48 of 653 Florence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lugano, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Danjan”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2013

We have friend who travels to Florence frequently and highly recommended it. It was all and more. The room we had was large with a very comfortable bed and a lounge area with extremely comfortable chairs. It is located within. Very easy walking distance to all of Florenze's historic sites. Excellent restaurants within very easy walking distance as is the local market place. A very good value. We will stay there again the next time we are in Florence.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Dan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    93
    16
    4
    3
See reviews for
72
153
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Florence
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

I was moved to another room in the middle of my stay (4nights total). The first room had an impresive frescoe on the ceiling but the bed was very bad and the huge windows faced a grey wall so you felt like trapped!
The second room was beautiful, tall windows overlooking the street and buildings, had a lounge area with 3 sofas and coffee,tea,kettle (not available in the first room) although the bathroom was very small and the room seemed big for a single reservation-double bed, there was a double bed and a single bed too. The catch with this beautiful room is that being in the corner of the building it gets all the noise from the street and bussines close by as late as 11pm and as early as 5:30 am! so ear plugs were a must there. Breakfast was nice with more variety while in the second room. I figured that the two rooms were with two different B&B, the second room was Castiglioni but the first one was Alloro. I was not told this at the time of the reservation but only told at check-in that I had to change rooms. The gentleman and lady overseeing breakfast at Alloro were very nice and warm people and chatted with the guests while the atmosphere at Castiglioni during breakfast was uptight so felt weird. I do must thank Cristian who was kind to let me go when I was a few cents short of cash to pay for the tax, which btw is 8 euros and has to be paid in cash.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Luz C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

We have stayed here twice and feel it is a great value b a nd b.Only minutes from the train station, the location is excellent - right by a host of great restaurants and bars, round the corner from the Medici Chapels, San Lorenzo and the magnificent Duomo. There are also some authentic businesses in neighbouring streets including a wonderful local artist in her shop - Studio D'Arte Balletti.
The interior of the b and b is lovely, just as other reviewers have said. During our most recent stay we had a superior room for three and were very happy, surrounded by the beautiful frescoes. Breakfast was also lovely and suits us very well since we prefer local produce to English-style cooked breakfasts. I particularly enjoyed the home-made yoghurt with honey, the fresh local rye bread with cheese and a delicious slice of home-made lemon tart - a perfect start to the day!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Triptykonnoisseur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

we spent 3 nights here whilst in Florence. The location was good for the main station being only a 5 minute walk away. Within easy reach of all the main sights the city has to offer (including about 5 mins from the Duomo) and near some good restaurants. The staff were very friendly and helpful and breakfast was good. The room we stayed in was a little bit noisy as it is near a street that has quite a lot happening (early morning deliveries for example rather than lots of traffic). Other than the noise, the room was good and had everything we needed. Would stay here again in the future, but would either ask for a room further away from street noise (if there is one) or bring some ear plugs. Small inconvenience to pay for a good hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkSparrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

Really excellent location. Clean, comfortable rooms and a great breakfast to set you up for a day's sightseeing.

Given its location in the heart of the city, there was a fair amount of noise late night/early morning, but a price worth paying for given the location.

Would certainly return.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vallejo, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

We stayed in a "superior room" and every wall was painted in landscape murals. It was like living in a palace. The room was large and clean. The breakfast good, although not very diverse -- so few apartments, it couldn't be. Security is excellent: either you are buzzed in or, as a guest, have a key to the street door. For us, the best feature was location. We easily wheeled our luggage to and from the train station -- only about two blocks. All the major sites are within minutes walk of the Residenza. In fact, the Medici Chapel is only a half block down the street. The Santa Maria Novella is two blocks -- across from the train station.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank TomLedig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

Close by to the Santa Maria Novella train station and the Duomo, this hotel is in a really great location. Lots and lots of keys to get you in and out of the hotel, so you know you/your belongings are safe! The rooms are absolutely beautiful and very spacious. Tasty continental breakfast, with the option to eat in your room.

We were slightly disappointed that the staff weren't able to tell us whether or no we had been granted the late checkout we had requested upon booking, but overall, very friendly.

I think the room was somewhat wasted on us as friends, but had I come with a lover this hotel would have made a very romantic stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kirstyboo79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel City
Hotel City
#51 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Laurus al Duomo
Hotel Laurus al Duomo
#71 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,557 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Globus
Hotel Globus
#66 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Balcony
Hotel Balcony
#84 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
San Lorenzo
Alloro B&B
Alloro B&B
#28 of 653 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
Duomo
Granduomo Charming Accomodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residenza Castiglioni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residenza Castiglioni

Property: Residenza Castiglioni
Address: Via del Giglio 8, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 653 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Residenza Castiglioni 4.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residenza Castiglioni is located in a beautiful and historic buildings halfway from piazza Duomo and the Santa Maria Novella train station.Easily accessible by walk also with heavy luggage, Residenza Castiglioni offers to you luxury from the past and the comforts of the modern life together.Few rooms, each one different from the others, bright and pleasant, a particular attention to details, a dream that becomes reality! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Residenza Castiglioni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residenza Castiglioni Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing