We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not as advertised” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Firenze Loft

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Florence
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Firenze Loft
Ranked #193 of 295 Specialty Lodging in Florence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not as advertised”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

We stayed in the Firenze Lofts for a week in June of this year. We were very disappointed due to the fact that many of the perks advertised as being available in our apartment were simply not there. The walls are paper thin, you can hear everything in your neighbours loft; the noise from the fridge kept us awake at night, and you can hear the toilets flush next door. The loft was not clean, and while advertised for 4 people, there was not enough chairs, or kitchen supplies for just the two of us, never mind 4. There is no gift basket, no washing machine, no toiletries, and many of the items you see advertised on various other travel sites. We found the location a little too far away from the center of town after being on foot all day, and a fair walking distance to a grocery store. We are fit people, but we found that extra distance at the end of the day a challenge. The kitchen stove worked well, but there are few dishes, and things you need to cook. There were no movies as advertised and basic Italian tv stations were only available. We should have asked if there was some outdoor space as we felt quite claustrophobic in the apartment as we could not see outside, and the mosquitos in Florence make you keep the windows closed. We did not meet anyone else while there, which is not a reflection of the Lofts, rather something we personally would have enjoyed. The Loft would probably work if you were just coming and going from the train station, but it needs a good scrub and some extra furniture. The sheets and towels were clean, but the sofa bed cover and pillows were in need of a good wash. The photos on the website did not correctly depict our actual environment

Room Tip: I would request a picture of your room, assurance it has been professionally cleaned, and minimal co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank toes123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommmaso, Proprietario at Firenze Loft, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Ciao Toes123, thank you for this review, it provides useful suggestions for improvement.
We are very sorry to read that some of the services during the stay where not up to your expectations and for that we sincerely apologize.
We would like to clarify, however, that our location is specified very well, also with google map, with the distances from the main tourist attractions (12 min walking to Duomo, 4 to Central Station etc..) as we indicated in our mails before booking.
The dvd were all at your disposal in the lobby of the Loft in the ground floor and chairs you missed were simply folded in your closet, you just had to ask
Our lofts are characterized by the cleanliness and the first quality bed linen and towels.
With the hope to have you back here as our guests, we send you best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    6
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
4
12
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto (GTA), Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

We spent 3 nights at the Firenze Loft in and stayed in Space One (smaller loft apartment for two people). The best thing I have to say is Tommaso was very nice and helpful. Unfortunately the apartment was not as nice as we were expecting based on the photos on the website. I don't think the apartment is professionally cleaned after each use, as there were smears on the fridge and dust around the apartment, almost like someone tidied up in a hurry (which may have been the case since we booked this a day before we arrived).

As another review pointed out, no hair dryer, which is not what I would expect from a "fully furnished apartment" and we definitely heard the plumbing through the walls. The toilet was running non-stop so we had to keep the bathroom door closed to reduce the noise.

The main reason I would not stay here again is I did not like the area. Other than a really nice coffee shop across the street, I found the Santa Maria Novella area to be kind of grimey. If I return to Firenze I would likely stay in the Oltrarno neighbourhood (across the river).

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dcaputi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2011

My wife and I just stayed 9 nights in Firenze and we rented the smaller loft apartment from Tommaso. The price was great and even though it is a loft apartment it is bigger than any hotel for the same price. The apartment was very clean, which is extremely important to us. The loft had wireless internet and digital tv (no english channels) i speak italian so for me it was not a problem. Tommaso was always available and just a phone call away. This apartment is located down the street from the Santa Maria Novella train station and on a busy street, we were worried about noise but you can not hear traffic noises in your apartment. We were very happy with the apartment.

Mille Grazie della famiglia Pace

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank luigipace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2011

We spent 3 nights at the Firenze Loft on our honeymoon. Tommaso was very kind to us and was there when we arrived to greet us. We didn't spend much time in Loft during our stay but it's very close to the train station and an easy walk to anywhere. A great value considering what you get staying in a regular hotel in Florence. We would definitely stay here again if we decide to come back to Florence.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kweebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foggia, Italy
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2011

I arrived in Florence to discover that the apartment I one was in was not the one I had rented. There was no hair dryer, no washing machine, one towel. When I asked for another towel I was told that I have already been give one. The apartment is not well furnished with kitchen utensils and definitely needs new pillows. Noisy neighbours and hearing every time someone flushed to toilet did not make for a good night sleep! Would not stay here again, especially for the price I was charged!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roberta D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2011

The loft was clean and well equipped but felt very confining with no outlook at all, the bed was also uncomfortable. To be honest the welcome and attitude of the owner was that we were just a nuisance and irritant in his life so we won't be back.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank debwaldo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dubin, ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2011

A great 4th floor penthouse apartment. Fantastic views. Lovely neighbourhood. Very quiet. Very safe. Only 25 minutes to Piazza della Signoria. Very well maintained. Tommaso very helpful. Very big for one person Very expensive for one person. 4 Would be comfortable and more economical. No Lift. No washing machine.
Everything else perfect. I would have no hesitation is recommending this apartment. I will return to it when I am next in Florence.

Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Anna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#9 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,396 reviews
Hotel David
#1 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,986 reviews
Villa Aruch
#24 of 295 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#20 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,626 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Orto De Medici
Hotel Orto De Medici
#49 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Firenze Loft? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Firenze Loft

Property: Firenze Loft
Address: Via G Monaco 22, 50100, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #193 of 295 Specialty Lodging in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Both kind of Loft (to 2 people and up to 4 people)have a fully equipped kitchen with dishwasher, oven, big fridge and freezer, stove, cutleries and crockery's, tea and coffee making facilities, toaster etc & and a bathroom with towels and toiletries, just refurbished and elegantly furnished. They are all sound-proofed and fitted with adjustable Air-Conditioning, telephone, satellite TV, DvD plus film archives, Wi-Fi internet connection and other modern comforts. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Firenze Loft Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing