We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location to explore Florence”
Review of Residence Hilda

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence Hilda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights and couldn't have been happier. We had a large one bedroom suite with a kitchenette. Gave us space to spread out and we were able to have breakfast and snacks available. The suite was immaculate and well maintained. The Il Duomo and the surrounding plaza is right down the street. Florence is such a walkable city, it was wonderful to be in the midst of it.

Staff were extremely helpful and pleasant. Will definitely return!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank slbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xenica, Direttore at Residence Hilda, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

And we look forward to your stay back with us!!

Thank you so much,

Carlo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (539)
There are newer reviews for Residence Hilda
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

191 - 197 of 539 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2013

We took two suites/apartments over 3 nights and cannot say enough good things about Residence Hilda. We arrived at 8am after a tiring night on the Paris sleeper train and although check-in was 3pm, one of our rooms was ready and we were able to use the beautiful bathroom to freshen-up straightaway. Reception is manned between 8am and 1pm and then 3pm and 8pm so if you intend to arrive outside these times you can get a mobile number to allow access. We had omitted to forewarn the staff that one room needed to have twin beds but this was sorted almost immediately in a very efficient manner. The apartments are bright, airy and spacious. The air-conditioning was absolutely brilliant and never let us down which was crucial for a very hot July in Florence. Everything was spotless with a daily maid service and change of linen on alternate days. Towels can be changed daily but there is a small charge for this. Both of our rooms were situated at the back of the hotel and we had no problems with noise from either the street or neighbouring guests. The Duomo is literally at the end of the street so the location could not have been better for us. The staff happily looked after our luggage for us after check-out right up to 8pm when they kindly arranged our taxi to pick us up from the front door. We loved our stay at Residence Hilda and hope to return very soon.

Room Tip: We had suites sited at the back of the hotel on floors 1 and 4 and have no complaints about noise.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 41PAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xenica, Direttore at Residence Hilda, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Thank you so much and we are looking forward to your stay back with us.

Mt best regards,

Carlo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Florence was recently the last leg of a month-long European trip and I cannot speak highly enough of the staff at Residence Hilda. Right from the booking process, they were prompt, courteous and efficient and this only improved when we got there. Valentina was wonderful- nothing was too much trouble. She organised a fantastic babysitter while we attended the Andrea Bocelli concert and even brought up a DVD player and ice-cream for our children while we were away. The accomodation as well was central to everything and luxurious. We will definitely return. If you're planning a trip to Florence, look no further!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VashS219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xenica, Direttore at Residence Hilda, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Dear Madame,

your children were so nice, mature and well behaved that we couldn't do otherwise!!

Thanks to you for being such a nice family.

Really hope to have you back with us and see the children.

Warm warm regards,

Carlo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Residence Hilda is more like a short term apartment than a hotel. The rooms are very large and include kitchenettes that are clean and fully stocked. Very nicely furnished and very clean. If you are looking for a full service hotel, this is not where you want to go as the staff is only on duty at certain times of the day/evening. The location is fabulous.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wasabiwabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xenica, Direttore at Residence Hilda, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Dear Guest,

the reception is open 10 hours/day, but we are ALWAYS available on our emergency numbers (not only for emergencies, you can consider that numbers as a concierge on call) and never missed to reply to our phones. Also, all the alarms (fire, elevators, etc.) are connected with our emergency numbers and the private security and we are usually at the Hilda in 5-7 minutes from the call.

So, even if we are not at the Hilda physically, we are always connected to our Guests and ready to assist them.

Hope to have you back with us soon.

My warm regards,

Carlo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

I've been fortunate to have traveled on over 100 trips to over 20 different countries around the world. I have to say that our experience at the Residence Hilda was one of the more pleasurable stays I've ever had. The Residence itself is huge, up to date, immaculate, quiet, and conveniently located to anything you would want to do in and around Florence. The staff, Marzanna, Valentina, and Marta, were all extremely helpful and accommodating. We left Florence and went on to a five star hotel in Monte Carlo, which didn't compare. in my opinion. We will definitely return someday, and wouldn't consider staying anywhere else. Our stay at Residence Hilda enhanced our entire trip to Florence.

Room Tip: There aren't many rooms, period, but I don't think you could go wrong with any of them
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donnie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xenica, Direttore at Residence Hilda, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

What to say? I thank you so much for your nice words. I look forward to your stay back with us and I hope we will be even better for when you come back.

My best regards,

Carlo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Not easy to find for first time travelers, but well worth the search with a great location. The suite is stylish, clean, elegant and great for entertaining another couple or hanging-out with bottle of wine or 2, after long days walking steps, waiting in line and looking up at sculptures. Kitchen and living room, separate from bedroom, make RH ideal for getting some early morning work done before hitting the bricks to check out Duomos and more Michelangelo. City has a great vibe, a buzz, and RH seems to be right in the middle of it. Could stay here a month. Service is outstanding. Adjacent to Okay Café who's cappuccino is among the best we've ever had.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Douglas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xenica, Direttore at Residence Hilda, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Dear Douglas,

thank you very much for your words. Yes, the cappuccino next door, and coffee in general is one of the best in Florence. It's a very old pastry shop from the 19th century. And there's also a café at the corner serving delicious hot breakfasts (which is quite unusual in Florence).

Hope to have you back with us soon.

Best regrds,

Carlo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Recently I stayed in this charming ,beautiully run hotel. I stayed for five nights and had intended to meet my two friends and stay in a different part of the city however the staff at Residence Hilda were able to accommodate my request for a triple room during the following week so I moved from a large and elegant one bedroomed apartment to an even larger apartment. The impression of the hotel from the street is an illusion - it seems to be a narrow traditional building with a very small lobby. From the time I was checked in, I knew I was staying at an establishment being run like a large modern hotel with great attention to detail and efficient in all ways. Every request was remembered and actioned and great care was taken to ensure that our requirements were met by the friendly and helpful staff. We felt like very valued guests. Because of the gracious personal service, the generously proportioned and stylishly decorated apartments, I would highly reccomment Residence Hilda and I wouldn't ever stay anywhere else in Florence.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnnePJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xenica, Direttore at Residence Hilda, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Thank you so much, our staff makes any effort to assit our Guests, before, during and after their stay. We will not change this habit, this is a promise.

Looking forward to your stay back with us.

Best regards,

Carlo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
Hotel Spadai
Hotel Spadai
#6 of 411 in Florence
1,361 reviews
San Lorenzo
Firenze Number Nine Wellness Hotel
San Marco
Grand Amore Hotel and Spa
Grand Amore Hotel and Spa
#3 of 411 in Florence
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#24 of 411 in Florence
2,811 reviews
San Lorenzo
Room Mate Luca
Room Mate Luca
#42 of 411 in Florence
1,167 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Milu
Hotel Milu
#10 of 411 in Florence
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Hilda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Hilda

Address: Via dei Servi 40 | San Marco - Santissima Annunziata, 50122, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Marco
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 311 Specialty Lodging in Florence
Price Range: $142 - $378 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Residence Hilda 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The comforts of a hotel in a designer apartment, located 3 blocks away from the main cathedral!At the elegant Residence Hilda you get more privacy than at a 5 star hotel, light and streamlined interiors, designer details conspicuous only by their restraint. All the Suites have teak parquet floors, calm off-white walls, soft beige furnishings and some occasional colour accent. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Residence Hilda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Hilda Florence
Residence Hilda Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing