We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Perfect Place to Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Residence Hilda

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Residence Hilda
Ranked #30 of 653 Florence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
“The Perfect Place to Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

This little haven is all that it promises to be, we stayed in the Classic Suite and it was fabulous. The interior finishes and layout of the 'mini apartment' was great. the kitchenette is very well deisgned and provides you with everything that you could possibly need. Location couldn't be better. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful. We couldn't have chosen a better place to stay in Florence and would definitely go back there.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam0609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xenica, Direttore at Residence Hilda, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you so so much for your nice words.
Hope to have you back with us.

My warm regards,

Carlo Vigiani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    455
    57
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
139
281
16
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Erina, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

The location of the hotel was excellent. We walked everywhere. We chose the Classic suite. When we entered the room our hearts lifted. It was roomier and better appointed than we had expected. It has a well appointed kitchenette. The room was exceptionally quiet. The staff were very helpful. We would be definitely staying here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xenica, Direttore at Residence Hilda, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
And we look forward to your return!

My warm regards,

Carlo Vigiani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
68 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

just 5 minutes, a side street from Duomo

I would call it a small boutique hotel with all the things you need: privacy, comfort, well equipped kitchen. Get tired of going out for breakfast or hungry midnight; the kitchen is good for most simple cooking recipes. You do have to worry about your shirts - got iron board too; and there is a self service laundry shop just across the street.

When we left for the central train station SMN, we took a taxi and it is just around 7 minutes and cost EUR12.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PaterHo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xenica, Direttore at Residence Hilda, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Guest,
thank you so much for your nice words. We also have a laundry/ironing service that you can use, if you wish to not to take care of it on yourself. Laundry is returned in 12 hours (on the same evening).
Hope to have you with us again soon.

My best regards,

Carlo Vigiani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte NC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

I was a bit skeptical. I didn't understand the difference between this and a hotel. So here it is. Your room has a bedroom and very nice bathroom as well as a mini- kitchen and table. (mini frig, small 2 burner stove, microwave and basic dishes). There is daily cleaning service with towel / sheet change every other day (daily if pay more). The staff is excellent very helpful, great food recs, helped us get train tickets etc. We had a late train and they let us have a late checkout until 5pm- very helpful. The only downside is that the staff is not there 24/7. There is an emergency number if need but after 7 or 8 pm or on Sundays (except for check in and out) the staff is gone so they are not there to call taxis or ask questions.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovetastings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xenica, Manager at Residence Hilda, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear Charlotte,

thank you for your comments. I just wish to let you know that our emergency numbers work as a reception on call. You can call for emergencies, but also for information, taxis, restaurant reservations, etc.. so that after 8 pm the physical reception is closed but you have a virtual one at your assistance until the next morning when reception opens again.
Hope to have you back soon.
My warmest regards,
Carlo Vigiani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

The hotel is located right down the street from the Duomo which is nice because no matter where you are in the city you can always find your way back home. The hotel is super clean and the rooms are huge, much larger than what I would expect in a hotel in Europe. The thing that sets this hotel apart from the rest is the service, literally the best I have ever seen the gentlemen at the front desk was super attentive, extremely knowledgable and really made our trip. I would highly recommend this hotel, we will be staying here again when we return to Florence.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dyang77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xenica, Manager at Residence Hilda, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Can't tell you what a pleasure is to hear these words. The man at the reception was Francesco, one of our best receptionist and the expert of restaurants and night life, will pass this mesage on to him too.
Hope to have you with us soon.
My warm regards,
Carlo Vigiani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

Excellent location right by the Duomo and about 15 mins walk from the train station. The accommodation is more of an appartment than a hotel and is very modern inside, which is what we wanted. There is a good sized bedroom, excellent bathroom, sitting/ dining area and kitchenette. The staff were very helpful and all round I could not fault this accommodation. The reception closes during the day between 1pm and 3pm so it is worth checking if someone will be there if you need to arrive at this time, or to leave bags. The only down side was some noise from the street during the night but we would definately stay here again next time we are in Florence and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bluemantraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xenica, Manager at Residence Hilda, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Thank you so much for your review. We now have the best double glasses that we could find (by St. Gobain) and the noise that might occurr in the week-end when the city centre is more lively should have been reduced strongly. We are ina pedestrian area that uses to be very quiet.
I hope to have with us again and I send you my warmest regards,

Carlo Vigiani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Uffizi
Antica Torre di Via Tornabuoni
Duomo
Palazzo Gamba
Palazzo Gamba
#18 of 295 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
San Marco
San Giuliano Inn
San Giuliano Inn
#5 of 653 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Croce
1865 Residenza d'epoca
1865 Residenza d'epoca
#1 of 653 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
Relais Villa Antea
#6 of 653 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 894 reviews
San Lorenzo
Palazzo Tolomei Residenza d'Epoca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Hilda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Hilda

Property: Residence Hilda
Address: Via Dei Servi 40, 50122, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Marco
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 653 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Residence Hilda 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The comforts of a hotel in a designer apartment, located 3 blocks away from the main cathedral!At the elegant Residence Hilda you get more privacy than at a 5 star hotel, light and streamlined interiors, designer details conspicuous only by their restraint. All the Suites have teak parquet floors, calm off-white walls, soft beige furnishings and some occasional colour accent. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Residence Hilda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Hilda Florence
Residence Hilda Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing