We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of my best stays ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Santa Croce

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Santa Croce
Ranked #41 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
ARLINGTON
Level Contributor
81 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“One of my best stays ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

I hesitate to say great things about the Hotel Santa Croce for fear they'll be overrun by guests! I was in Florence for a week on business and wanted something that wasn't the conference hotel. The Hotel Santa Croce was simply the best. The staff was excellent (special mention of Gabriel). The light Continental breakfast was just right and the location, steps from the Piazza Santa Croce more than convenient. There is a lot of nightlife in the area, so you will hear some late night party-goers, but that's life. I had a single room, that, though on the small side, was clean and suited my needs.

Room Tip: I had the "Dante" room on the first floor (a single). Located on the street level, there w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MARTINKalfatovic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_SantaCroce, Proprietario at Hotel Santa Croce, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear Martin,
we're very happy you had one of your best stays ever in our Hotel.

You already wrote a lot of wonderful things in your review; in fact, also for this reason, we have been invaded by more customers :-D

Thank you for your visit, we hope to see you again as soon as possible.

Sincerely,
Gabriele and all Staff
Hotel Santa Croce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

759 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    493
    223
    30
    12
    1
See reviews for
182
306
82
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Mexico
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

We would highly recommend Hotel Santa Croce to family and friends. It has several good features: great location, clean rooms (with hot water, TV, wifi, and blow dryer), good breakfast (fresh croissants, yogurt, cereal, tasty cappuccino, juices), plus an English speaking staff. The two brothers (Mario and Gabriele) who own the hotel are usually there to help you make reservations, suggest restaurants, print boarding passes, and make your stay a pleasant one.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank srfnm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_SantaCroce, Proprietario at Hotel Santa Croce, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you very much for your wonderful review in which you highlighted a lot of the most important aspects of our hotel and our services.

We hope you will be back as soon as possible.

Sincerely,
Mario, Gabriele and Staff
Hotel Santa Croce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

Very much enjoyed our stay at Santa Croce! The staff were absolutely lovely, very kind and eager to help you as much as they could. Upon arrival we were given a map and told the best sites to visit - a really nice and helpful touch.
The location is wonderful - so close to everything!
The room was very small however we didn't come to Florence to just stay in our hotel so it didn't bother us. Bathrooms were recently renovated which was great! It was all very clean and as we were two girls travelling together we felt very safe. The breakfast in the morning was good too - multiple juices, coffee, fresh croissants and bread and a variety of spreads.
I would definitely recommend Hotel Santa Croce to friends and family - a lovely hotel!

Room Tip: If you don't like stairs ask for a room on a lower level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katherine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_SantaCroce, Proprietario at Hotel Santa Croce, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Dear Katherine,
thank you very much for your nice words about your stay at Santa Croce Hotel.

We are really delighted that everything was to your liking.

We hope to see you again during your next visit to Florence.

Sincerely,
Staff
Hotel Santa Croce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

Great 2 star hotel in a perfect location to explore Florence. The hotel is very clean and the staff are so friendly,I would recommend to individuals and families. There are some great restaurants and bars right on the doorstep and its situated in the old historic part of Florence so very safe and not noisey in the evening. I hope to visit Florence again next year and will be coming back to Hotel Santa Croce.

Thanks for a great stay in early Oct!

Room Tip: We had a family room for 4 adults and it worked well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoveFlorence2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_SantaCroce, Proprietario at Hotel Santa Croce, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you for your review and for recommending our Hotel to your friends, Family and the Tripadvisor community.

We are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again asap.

Best regards
Santa Croce Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lloydminster, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

We stayed in Florence for 2 nights and this hotel was perfect. It is close to the city centre and you can reach all the sights by foot. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The restaurant that the hotel recommends served the best meals we had in italy! Make sure to take the 10% discount voucher and visit the restaurant! Rooms were clean and comfortable and ensured we had a taxi waiting at the exact time to get to the airport on time even though we had technically checked out 6 hours before.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_SantaCroce, Proprietario at Hotel Santa Croce, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Dear Jen,
thank you for appreciating our services.

We hope to have you back soon as a guest.

Sincerely,
Staff
Hotel Santa Croce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

After a long journey to get to the hotel, we were greeted upon arrival by the owners with our choice of a cold glass of water or juice. The hotel owners and staff were very friendly and hospitable to us our entire stay. We asked if we could extend our stay another night; they did some rearranging with rooms and other guests to make that possible for us. They were very helpful with directions, including bus and train lines for out of town day trip, and also with restaurant recommendations. They went out of their way to help. The room was adequate and had A/C, which helped because we wanted to close the windows at night to keep the room quiet from street noise, which worked fine. WiFi was reliable. Breakfast was good and the cappucino served with a smile. The hotel was in a good location, close to Santa Croce, Piazza Signoria, the Uffizi Gallery and a favorite - Vivoli's for gelato!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff n Patty V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_SantaCroce, Proprietario at Hotel Santa Croce, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Jeff,
thank you so much for the wonderful review and enjoyed all our services.

We're just a little bit sad that you've only put 3 points on 5, undoubtedly due to a mistake, simply because you wrote a review so beautiful that it deserved the highest value :-)

Maybe next time.

We hope you will be back as soon as possible.

Best wishes,
Staff
Hotel Santa Croce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

I travelled alone for 4 days to Firenze and this hotel was perfect for me: it is really close to the center of Firenze and it is a really good place to enjoy the Firenze's life. The treatment was excellent and they helped me a lot to organize a trip to Pisa and another one to Siena.

The single room was more than enough for me : it was really clean with a private bathroom. The breakfasts were really good.

I just can give thanks to them because the experience was perfect and if in the future I go to Firenze, I will come back to this hotel for sure!

Grazie mille per tutto!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EAwera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_SantaCroce, Proprietario at Hotel Santa Croce, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Madam,
thank you for choosing the Hotel Santa Croce for your stay in Florence and for wonderful review you wrote.

We were very happy to organize all your tours in Florence and other Tuscan cities and we are happy that you enjoyed these our services.

We hope to see you soon.

Sincerely,
Staff
Hotel Santa Croce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Orcagna Hotel
#32 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Alessandra
Hotel Alessandra
#34 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,697 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Casci
Hotel Casci
#37 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#26 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,220 reviews
San Lorenzo
Residence La Contessina
Residence La Contessina
#55 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 767 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel City
Hotel City
#54 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Santa Croce? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santa Croce

Property: Hotel Santa Croce
Address: Via De' Bentaccordi, 3, 50122, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Uffizi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#30 Family Hotel in Florence
#36 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#38 Best Value Hotel in Florence
#55 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Santa Croce 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
STAYING AT HOTEL SANTA CROCE gives the possibility to live a unique experience in the magical atmosphere of Florence. Small but welcoming, Hotel Santa Croce is immersed in the marvellous historical centre, right in the heart of the artistic, cultural and commercial life of the city. The Hotel is situated in an historical building dating back to the 600s and stands on the remains of an ancient Roman amphitheatre. The illustrious Michelangelo Buonarroti spent his childhood years in the adjoining house (there is a marble plaque showing evidence of this on the wall of the first floor). While just a few metres away you can find all of the most important monuments and museums, as well as the most renowned bars for those who would like a taste of the Florentine night-life. Situated only 100 metres from Piazza della Signoria, the Uffizi Gallery and Piazza Santa Croce (from where the Hotel's name derives), you can admire the enchanting Basilica where the remains of the greatest artists, writers, poets and scientists in Italian history are buried; we are also just a few steps away from il Duomo, il Battistero, the magnificent Campanile di Giotto and the Basilica of Santa Maria del Fiore and Santa Maria Novella, not to mention the precious Ponte Vecchio, under which Florence's rushing River Arno flows. Or if you would prefer to dedicate some of your free-time to shopping, you can spend hours walking up and down Via Tornabuoni or Via De Calzaiuoli discovering the best names in Italian, and international fashion. The breakfast room, cosy, warm and welcoming, will help you wake up in the best of moods. There is a 24-hour reception service and staff are always willing to help wherever possible. Enjoy your stay at Hotel Santa Croce ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Santa Croce reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Croce Florence
Santa Croce Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing