We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent service”
Review of Hotel Santa Croce

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Santa Croce
Ranked #46 of 412 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
“excellent service”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

i have nice days in italy, special in florence at hotel santa croce, which actually had the best care. the location is excellent. the coffee "super "doppio and smile face capuccino, done by gabriele made, my days happier.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlcioneY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_SantaCroce, Proprietario at Hotel Santa Croce, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Dear Guest,
we're so flattered that you consider our Hotel the best service you got during your whole trip around Italy.

We hope to have you again in our Hotel when you'll come back to Florence next time.

Thanks a lot.
Best regards
Santa Croce Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

805 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    521
    238
    32
    13
    1
See reviews for
195
325
86
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Brilliant location for exploring the city. We had a very warm welcome and were even offered fruit juice on arrival - very handy as we had had a long drive and it was really hot. We were also given a city guide and the receptionist wrote on all the main points of interest. It was really helpful. The hotel is very clean and breakfast was good and included in the room price. Best of all it's just 5 minutes walk from the centre of things. Well worth a visit. Parking is an issue in Florence! We didn't know that only residents cars are allowed in to the centre but again the receptionist came up trumps and told us where to take the car which was only 10 mins walk away and even contacted the council on our behalf in case the security cameras had spotted our mistake - all taken care of - amazing.:)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_SantaCroce, Proprietario at Hotel Santa Croce, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Dear Guest,
we are very happy that you liked everything of your stay at Hotel Santa Croce, especially our services.

Thanks for your nice review and ee hope to have you back here as soon as possible.

Best Regards,
Staff
Hotel Santa Croce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Spent 3 nights here and it was great value for money & can only echo everyone else's experience.

The multilingual staff were really helpfully and always friendly. Reserved some attractions for us (at no extra cost) to save us queuing for the main galleries.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_SantaCroce, Proprietario at Hotel Santa Croce, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Dear Peter,
we are very happy you liked your stay with us; thank you so much for the "precious" definition you wrote about our hotel, it's very important for us.

We're sure you will come back to Hotel Santa Croce for your next trip in Florence.

Sincerely,
Mario, Gabriele and all Staff
Hotel Santa Croce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 6, 2013

we stayed in this hotel for 4 days from the 20 of august last to attend a friends wedding in florence.can i say the service and care from all the staff was excellent especially from the owner mario and simona the receptionist.they were most helpful and kind any time of the day.the room was very clean.if you came down late from your room they still served you breakfast.this standard of friendlyness has to be seen to be believed.you were treated like you was part of there family.this is a 2 star hotel and it should be changed and rated as a 3 star hotel instead.we really enjoyed our stay.thank you mario and staff.excellent hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Francis K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_SantaCroce, Proprietario at Hotel Santa Croce, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear Francis,
we are so glad you appreciated your stay at Hotel Santa Croce.

We are really excited that you consider us an hotel of higher class and especially that you felt part of family; we want all our Guests can feel like at own home.

We hope to see you again in our Hotel as soon as possible.

Sincerely,
Mario, Gabriele, Simona and all Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

Upon arriving we were greeted by two men that were incredibly sweet and helpful. We had a stressful drive to the hotel and they put us at ease. My boyfriend was freaking out about a potential issue with our rental car and they helped us determine that there was no issue. One man took our bags while the other one dealt with getting our car to the parking garage. Once we got inside we were greeted with juice. After checking in we were amazed because both our bags were carried up the steps and already inside of our room. Wonderful! We then tried to give a tip and they said that it wasn't necessary but eventually he took it as we insisted. The staff is just so helpful and friendly! They go the extra mile for you!

The location of the hotel was perfect as it is close to many attractions but in a quiet street. As one of the previous reviewers mentioned, the showers are small, but this size of a stall seems to be the norm in Italy. We had the same size in Venice. The mattresses could have been more comfortable. But I loved the fact that if I got really worn out from sightseeing then I could pop back to the hotel for a quick nap. Also, the hotel has a deal with the restaurant Trattoria Anita for 10% off. Go there! The porcini mushroom pasta with truffle oil was fantastic! The prices were cheap and the food was quality. Thank you for everything Hotel Santa Croce!

Helpful?
1 Thank Erin K
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotel_SantaCroce, Proprietario at Hotel Santa Croce, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear Erin,
thank you so much for your wonderful review.

We are happy that you appreciated our help and your stay at our Hotel and especially that together, we were able to solve the problem of your car.

Come to visit us when you'll go back to Florence.

Sincerely,
Staff
Hotel Santa Croce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We chose to stay at the Hotel Santa Croce due to it's central location and competitive prices. We arrived at the hotel and were met by a very friendly man, our bags were immediately taken to our room and as we were obviously hot and exhausted they brought us some drinks to the check in desk.

Our room was quite small but had everything you need for a short city break, and the size of the room is to be expected given the age of the building.

The breakfast that is offered is small but it does the job, with coffee and brioche on offer.

The main thing that made the Hotel Santa Croce for us was the friendly service, there was almost always one of two guys working the desk (I think they are maybe the owners) and they went consistently above and beyond what you'd expect them to do.

I will definitely stay again, and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank danhnq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_SantaCroce, Proprietario at Hotel Santa Croce, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Dan,
thank you very much for appreciating all our services and especially for recommending our Hotel to your friends.

We hope to see you again ASAP.

Sincerely,
Mario, Gabriele and Staff
Hotel Santa Croce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mermaid Beach, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

The building is historic and has no elevator, however this was not an issue for us. Its location was excellent and just steps away from the centre of town, Duomo, restaurants, and shops. The staff were helpful, friendly, and accommodating in every aspect of our stay, and the rooms were clean and comfortable. Our shower was very small, and something to be aware of for taller/larger people. We would definitely stay again given its location, and great staff! Mary

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_SantaCroce, Direttore at Hotel Santa Croce, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Miss Mary,
thank you for your nice review.

We hope to see you again as soon as possible, when you will come back to Florence.

Sincerely,
Staff
Hotel Santa Croce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Casci
Hotel Casci
#40 of 412 in Florence
2,721 reviews
Orcagna Hotel
#36 of 412 in Florence
786 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Alessandra
Hotel Alessandra
#37 of 412 in Florence
1,758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Residence La Contessina
Residence La Contessina
#55 of 412 in Florence
795 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Fiorita
Hotel Fiorita
#94 of 412 in Florence
903 reviews
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#31 of 412 in Florence
2,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Santa Croce? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santa Croce

Property: Hotel Santa Croce
Address: Via De' Bentaccordi, 3, 50122, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Uffizi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#30 Family Hotel in Florence
#33 Best Value Hotel in Florence
#36 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#56 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Santa Croce 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
STAYING AT HOTEL SANTA CROCE gives the possibility to live a unique experience in the magical atmosphere of Florence. Small but welcoming, Hotel Santa Croce is immersed in the marvellous historical centre, right in the heart of the artistic, cultural and commercial life of the city. The Hotel is situated in an historical building dating back to the 600s and stands on the remains of an ancient Roman amphitheatre. The illustrious Michelangelo Buonarroti spent his childhood years in the adjoining house (there is a marble plaque showing evidence of this on the wall of the first floor). While just a few metres away you can find all of the most important monuments and museums, as well as the most renowned bars for those who would like a taste of the Florentine night-life. Situated only 100 metres from Piazza della Signoria, the Uffizi Gallery and Piazza Santa Croce (from where the Hotel's name derives), you can admire the enchanting Basilica where the remains of the greatest artists, writers, poets and scientists in Italian history are buried; we are also just a few steps away from il Duomo, il Battistero, the magnificent Campanile di Giotto and the Basilica of Santa Maria del Fiore and Santa Maria Novella, not to mention the precious Ponte Vecchio, under which Florence's rushing River Arno flows. Or if you would prefer to dedicate some of your free-time to shopping, you can spend hours walking up and down Via Tornabuoni or Via De Calzaiuoli discovering the best names in Italian, and international fashion. The breakfast room, cosy, warm and welcoming, will help you wake up in the best of moods. There is a 24-hour reception service and staff are always willing to help wherever possible. Enjoy your stay at Hotel Santa Croce ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HostelWorld, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Santa Croce reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Croce Florence
Santa Croce Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing