We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, great location, lovely staff”
Review of Hotel Santa Croce

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Santa Croce
Ranked #40 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great hotel, great location, lovely staff”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

This is not a luxury hotel by any means, it is 2 star and in a converted building, so set your expectations accordingly. It does have individual bathrooms and air conditioning.

The location is midway between Santa Croce Piazza and Uffizi gallery which is very convenient for sight seeing. There is no lift but staff will help with luggage. The breakfast is simple continental but very accommodating. The rooms are not large, but clean, well appointed and have good facilities.

The only disadvantages of the hotel is that the area is around many bars and cafes so it was a little noisy at night. Also, the bed was quite small and not very comfortable but a bigger room may have better furniture. Otherwise it is great value for money, a nice place run by lovely staff right beside all of the sights.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lff12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_SantaCroce, Direttore at Hotel Santa Croce, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear Customer,
we are delighted that you liked your stay at Hotel Santa Croce

Thank you for your nice words, they are really rewarding for us.

We're looking forward to hosting you again when you will come back to Florence.

Best regards by Santa Croce Hotel Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

793 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    516
    233
    30
    13
    1
See reviews for
193
320
85
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012

We have stayed in many beautiful hotels with excellent service, but Hotel Santa Croce exceeded our expectations. The hotel is wonderful with much history, but the service was equally wonderful.
It has a very central location, with easy access to all the sites. We would go back in a heartbeat!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wshfultravls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_SantaCroce, Direttore at Hotel Santa Croce, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Dear Customer,
Thank you for your nice review, it's very appreciated !

We are delighted that you liked your stay at our hotel.

We're looking forward to hosting you again for your next stay in Florence.

Best regards by Santa Croce Hotel Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

I read the recommendations of others here and decided to book this hotel for my few days in Florence and I'm glad I did. The price was right but the location really clinched it for me. Santa Croce which was my first stop in Florence- is just around the corner. And everything else you're there to see is within easy walking distance.

The staff couldn't have been more friendly and more helpful. And the Wifi, AC and breakfast were a big plus (and again, part of why I booked this hotel).

It's down a small side street so even though I was on the ground floor (I was in the Dante room) I heard hardly any outside noise.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TessM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_SantaCroce, Proprietario at Hotel Santa Croce, responded to this review, August 2, 2015
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your great review !

We hope to see you again.

Sincerely,
Mario, Gabriele and Staff
Hotel Santa Croce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oulu, Finland
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed July 27, 2012 via mobile

a nice, small hotel close to everything. rooms a bit worn but clean and sober. the staff really nice and polite. The price includes free wifi, air conditioning and breakfast.

I can recommend this to everyone.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PapPa74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_SantaCroce, Proprietario at Hotel Santa Croce, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Pap,
Thank you for appreciating our Hotel.

We hope to host you again in the future.

Best wishes,
Staff
Hotel Santa Croce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed July 16, 2012

My trip plans drastically changed after breaking my foot on the first day of my vacation in Florence. I was supposed to travel with my Italian friends, but due to immobility issues, I decided to remain in the city. Florence is my favourite, and I have been there numerous times, but I usually rent an apartment or stay with friends. As I phoned around looking for a hotel for a long stay, I found Hotel Santa Croce by chance. The friendliness and helpfulness of the staff convinced me to try it out. My sojourn at the hotel turned out to be memorable and extremely enjoyable. The staff is welcoming and attentive, the hotel is clean and has been recently renovated, and the Santa Croce area is central and exciting. Moreover, the hotel is homey, and I was delighted to meet other tourists from around the world. Though the hotel is a 2-star, it far exceeded my expectations. I plan to return soon!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gio L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_SantaCroce, Proprietario at Hotel Santa Croce, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Guest,
Thank you for appreciating our Hotel.

We hope to host you again in the future.

Best wishes,
Staff
Hotel Santa Croce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2012

My friend and I stayed here for several nights and found this hotel and the surrounding area very enjoyable. It is a 20 minute walk from the train station, but that was fine with us. The staff is particularly nice and the light breakfast is good. Rooms are clean, quiet, safe and beds are comfortable. The building is old and has no elevator, but the staff help with luggage, so as long as you are comfortable climbing stairs, this is a great budget option in the heart of Florence.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GradStudentSpouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_SantaCroce, Proprietario at Hotel Santa Croce, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Guest,
Thank you for appreciating our Hotel.

We hope to host you again in the future.

Best wishes,
Staff
Hotel Santa Croce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pozzuoli, Campania, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2012

This is a 2 star hotel, so it does not have the frills of a higher star hotel. That being said it well surpassed its 2 stars. Our triple room was small but clean. A crib was supplied for our child with no extra charge. The bathroom was small as well (but bigger than those I've seen in more expensive hotels). The staff was extremely helpful. Breakfast was basic but the perfect start to the day and was included in the very affordable price.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_SantaCroce, Proprietario at Hotel Santa Croce, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Cathy,
Thank you for appreciating your stay at Hotel Santa Croce.

We hope to host you again in the future.

Best wishes,
Staff
Hotel Santa Croce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Hotel Casci
Hotel Casci
#35 of 411 in Florence
2,695 reviews
Orcagna Hotel
#36 of 411 in Florence
781 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Alessandra
Hotel Alessandra
#39 of 411 in Florence
1,746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Il Guelfo Bianco
Il Guelfo Bianco
#30 of 411 in Florence
2,287 reviews
San Lorenzo
Residence La Contessina
Residence La Contessina
#55 of 411 in Florence
792 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel City
Hotel City
#57 of 411 in Florence
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Santa Croce? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santa Croce

Property: Hotel Santa Croce
Address: Via De' Bentaccordi, 3, 50122, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Uffizi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#30 Family Hotel in Florence
#34 Best Value Hotel in Florence
#36 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#56 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Santa Croce 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
STAYING AT HOTEL SANTA CROCE gives the possibility to live a unique experience in the magical atmosphere of Florence. Small but welcoming, Hotel Santa Croce is immersed in the marvellous historical centre, right in the heart of the artistic, cultural and commercial life of the city. The Hotel is situated in an historical building dating back to the 600s and stands on the remains of an ancient Roman amphitheatre. The illustrious Michelangelo Buonarroti spent his childhood years in the adjoining house (there is a marble plaque showing evidence of this on the wall of the first floor). While just a few metres away you can find all of the most important monuments and museums, as well as the most renowned bars for those who would like a taste of the Florentine night-life. Situated only 100 metres from Piazza della Signoria, the Uffizi Gallery and Piazza Santa Croce (from where the Hotel's name derives), you can admire the enchanting Basilica where the remains of the greatest artists, writers, poets and scientists in Italian history are buried; we are also just a few steps away from il Duomo, il Battistero, the magnificent Campanile di Giotto and the Basilica of Santa Maria del Fiore and Santa Maria Novella, not to mention the precious Ponte Vecchio, under which Florence's rushing River Arno flows. Or if you would prefer to dedicate some of your free-time to shopping, you can spend hours walking up and down Via Tornabuoni or Via De Calzaiuoli discovering the best names in Italian, and international fashion. The breakfast room, cosy, warm and welcoming, will help you wake up in the best of moods. There is a 24-hour reception service and staff are always willing to help wherever possible. Enjoy your stay at Hotel Santa Croce ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, HostelWorld, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Santa Croce reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Croce Florence
Santa Croce Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing