We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Very special hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Porcellino Gallery

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Porcellino Gallery
Ranked #218 of 626 Florence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
1 review
“Very special hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

I stayed in this lovely boutique hotel for a couple of nights last June. The location is great, very central, in the heart of the Centro Storico, close to the main sights in Florence. The room was very cosy, the service extremely friendly and helpful. A good breakfast is served in the salon, with fresh fruit salad, pastries, etc. Every evening a glass of wine is proposed as an aperitif, free of charge, which I found very nice and quite unusual... Will definitely book there next time.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Natalia_G2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    18
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
11
35
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

I can't say enough about this beautiful boutique hotel. The management is extremely accommodating and friendly. The rooms are super clean and immaculately taken care of. The location could not be more central and perfect. The decor is stunning and a work of art. From the first day until the last, I was gleaming with joy because I could not have dreamt of a better experience. I am in love with Porcellino Gallery! Superb!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank becca g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havre de Grace, Maryland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

I stayed here for two dates in Florence. It was close to everything....shopping, restaurants, site seeing, museums. There are only five rooms so it us very intimate. There's no elevator but staff will schlep your bags for you. Be advised that it may be difficult to find as it is a small place and the busy market is right in front. Look for the bronze statute of the Porcellino pig that is just steps away. Staff was friendly and spoke English. Eclectic decor. No fitness area or pool so I wouldn't choose this place for a long stay but it was perfect for two nights on a budget!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingCookArtist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

DO NOT STAY HERE. I have no idea how this place gets positive reviews. Nice as the rooms and location may be you will find it IMPOSSIBLE to get any sleep here. The windows overlook a street filled with restaurants rowdy til late at night and somewhere else nearby playing music with a thumping bass. I always travel with bionic earplugs but the level of noise is like trying to fall asleep inside a disco so the earplugs did not nearly suffice. I am incredibly disappointed that I booked this hotel. Do not repeat my mistake.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LondonCarlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

This is a beautiful place right in de centre of town. Within only a few minutes you're everywhere!! We stayed in one of the rooms looking at the market. Great view!! Nice gallery room. They serve a real nice breakfast en have a Happy Hour with wine and snacks. The staff is great. They are willing to do everything for you. Thank you Gary!! You're our hero!!
A small comment: overlooking the market means also a lot of noice very early in de morning and at late at night. If you do not mind: you really should take a room with a view. Otherwise have a room at the back (they are also less expensive) and have a goodnight sleep.
Whatever you decide: you'll have a magnificent stay there!

Room Tip: The deluxe rooms with a view are realy noisy. if you want a good sleep, take a room at the back. But...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Arlette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

We had a lovely time in Florence and enjoyed our stay at this quirky place in a central location. The room and view were great. There were some very special touches like the offer of a glass of local wine. Breakfast was served in the lounge. LJ was so helpful and appeared to work very hard to help guests. I counted 10 mirrors in our room! The two closest restaurants: mammamia and osteria del porcellino are both very good traditional italian restaurants.

The only slightly negative thing was the noise at night from the piazza.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelsbyCarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Nine fabulous days at Porcillino Gallery. To call this a B&B is a misnomer. If it was designated a hotel it would be rated 5 star. Five beautiful decorated rooms in the heart of Florence, with unsurpassed hospitality by the owner, Alessandra Biachini and her wonderful staff Aldo, Mark, and JR. What a delight to awaken to a full-walled photo of Ava Gardner in our newly remolded immaculate room, complete with every possible modern convenience, Frette linens, and a sparkling contemporary bathroom. Complimentary wine from Alessandra's Chianti vineyard, and hors d'oeurves served daily in the beautiful lobby-lounge. Five weeks traveling Italy, and this was our highlight. Our only regret is that it will likely be impossible to book in the future when the word gets around. We have just retuned home and miss it already. Oh, by the way, breakfast was delicious.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LPB1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Uffizi
Relais Uffizi
Relais Uffizi
#167 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 364 reviews
Uffizi
Relais Cavalcanti
Relais Cavalcanti
#83 of 626 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 308 reviews
Uffizi
La Torre dei Salterelli
La Torre dei Salterelli
#47 of 626 in Florence
5.0 of 5 stars 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uffizi
La Signoria di Firenze B&B
La Signoria di Firenze B&B
#21 of 626 in Florence
5.0 of 5 stars 583 reviews
Uffizi
Residenza Castelli
Residenza Castelli
#92 of 626 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 197 reviews
Uffizi
Relais Piazza Signoria
Relais Piazza Signoria
#4 of 276 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porcellino Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porcellino Gallery

Property: Porcellino Gallery
Address: Piazza di Mercato Nuovo 4, 50123, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Uffizi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #218 of 626 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Handily placed in the heart of Florence amidst world famous attractions, the Hotel Il Porcellino is the perfect base from which to explore the city and its rich artistic heritage. Set in Piazza del Porcellino, an attractive square featuring a wild boar fountain, this small yet welcoming property is within easy reach of the Uffizi Gallery, the Ponte Vecchio, Palazzo Pitti and Santa Maria del Fiore cathedral. The hotel offers finely appointed bedrooms, a superb location and above all a homely atmosphere coupled with friendly and attentive service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Porcellino Gallery reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Porcellino Florence
Il Porcellino Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing