We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NOISE IS UNBEARABLE”
Review of Porcellino Gallery

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Porcellino Gallery
Ranked #206 of 652 Florence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“NOISE IS UNBEARABLE”
Reviewed May 7, 2014

DO NOT STAY HERE. I have no idea how this place gets positive reviews. Nice as the rooms and location may be you will find it IMPOSSIBLE to get any sleep here. The windows overlook a street filled with restaurants rowdy til late at night and somewhere else nearby playing music with a thumping bass. I always travel with bionic earplugs but the level of noise is like trying to fall asleep inside a disco so the earplugs did not nearly suffice. I am incredibly disappointed that I booked this hotel. Do not repeat my mistake.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LondonCarlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    22
    4
    3
    3
See reviews for
14
48
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 4, 2014

This is a beautiful place right in de centre of town. Within only a few minutes you're everywhere!! We stayed in one of the rooms looking at the market. Great view!! Nice gallery room. They serve a real nice breakfast en have a Happy Hour with wine and snacks. The staff is great. They are willing to do everything for you. Thank you Gary!! You're our hero!!
A small comment: overlooking the market means also a lot of noice very early in de morning and at late at night. If you do not mind: you really should take a room with a view. Otherwise have a room at the back (they are also less expensive) and have a goodnight sleep.
Whatever you decide: you'll have a magnificent stay there!

Room Tip: The deluxe rooms with a view are realy noisy. if you want a good sleep, take a room at the back. But...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arlette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

We had a lovely time in Florence and enjoyed our stay at this quirky place in a central location. The room and view were great. There were some very special touches like the offer of a glass of local wine. Breakfast was served in the lounge. LJ was so helpful and appeared to work very hard to help guests. I counted 10 mirrors in our room! The two closest restaurants: mammamia and osteria del porcellino are both very good traditional italian restaurants.

The only slightly negative thing was the noise at night from the piazza.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelsbyCarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Nine fabulous days at Porcillino Gallery. To call this a B&B is a misnomer. If it was designated a hotel it would be rated 5 star. Five beautiful decorated rooms in the heart of Florence, with unsurpassed hospitality by the owner, Alessandra Biachini and her wonderful staff Aldo, Mark, and JR. What a delight to awaken to a full-walled photo of Ava Gardner in our newly remolded immaculate room, complete with every possible modern convenience, Frette linens, and a sparkling contemporary bathroom. Complimentary wine from Alessandra's Chianti vineyard, and hors d'oeurves served daily in the beautiful lobby-lounge. Five weeks traveling Italy, and this was our highlight. Our only regret is that it will likely be impossible to book in the future when the word gets around. We have just retuned home and miss it already. Oh, by the way, breakfast was delicious.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LPB1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockport, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

A really pleasant boutique hotel in the heart of Florence activities. The entire facility has been completely redecorated in a very interesting and tasteful way. The hotel only has 5 rooms and each has it's own theme. The room is nicely decorated with very modern bathrooms. Location is within blocks of Uffizi Gallery, Ponte Vecchio, etc. It is perfect for a person or couple without a car. The owner and staff were very courteous and made us feel extremely welcome during our visit. No request went unanswered. An enjoyable visiting room where breakfast is served and complimentary refreshments are available We definitely would stay here in a return to Florence.

Hotel does not have an elevator and one must go up two flights of steps. Staff handles your bags so not bad but could be a problem for someone having difficulty with steps. Hotel is tucked in a corner behind a merchants market so Taxis can not pull up to front door. However, distance from nearest corner is only about 50 meters.

Room Tip: We had room 4. Handsomely decorated in an African safari motif. It has a nice view of the street an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Porcellino Gallery is an apartment-type complex perfectly located in the heart of Florence. It is a 3 minute walk to any of the major sites in Florence, and directly above the leather market. Alessandra and her staff of Aldo, Mark, and LJ are kind, dedicated, and very helpful. They willingly offer everything you could need.

Breakfast, snacks, wine, alcohol, drinks, and bottled water are all included. They make awesome cappuccino and espresso. The building was recently renovated and just reopened during the early summer 2013. Our rooms were immaculate, with very powerful air conditioning. The showers had good water pressure and had lots of hot water. We had no problems with smell or dampness as another poster noted. The only thing to note is that because it is located above the leather market, it can be very loud if you are a light sleeper. If you close your window at night though, it is no problem at all. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JAB1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neuss, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Actually this B&B could be really great. Perfect location, nice interior, friendly staff, but it has two downsides. The location is not only an advantage, because it is almost impossible to find it with your own car and it is hard to fall asleep at nightime because of the noise outside. Second, the smell in the entire hotel is a bit funny and in the bathroom it is explicitly stinking (gets worse after having a shower, so we assume it comes from the plumbing). It is ok to stay there, but don't think I'd book it again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Haubitze87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Uffizi
Hotel Della Signoria
Hotel Della Signoria
#49 of 412 in Florence
451 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Por Santa Maria
Hotel Por Santa Maria
#213 of 412 in Florence
168 reviews
Uffizi
B&B Olga's House
B&B Olga's House
#136 of 652 in Florence
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uffizi
Relais Piazza Signoria
Relais Piazza Signoria
#5 of 310 in Florence
563 reviews
Uffizi
Relais Cavalcanti
Relais Cavalcanti
#107 of 652 in Florence
323 reviews
Duomo
B&B Repubblica
B&B Repubblica
#161 of 652 in Florence
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porcellino Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porcellino Gallery

Property: Porcellino Gallery
Address: Piazza di Mercato Nuovo 4, 50123, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Uffizi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #206 of 652 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Porcellino Gallery is in the very heart of Florence on the first floor of the 16th century "Palazzo Cavalcanti", in the same Florentine family for meny generations. From the large French door windows, views over the leather market square, Piazza Mercato Nuovo, also known as the Piazza del Porcellino (where the bronze statue of the famous boar is) at a few minutes from the Uffizi Gallery, from Ponte Vecchio and from Piazza della Signoria. Porcellino Gallery has just been renovated in contemporary art and design style. The rooms have been decorated with great attention to quality and comfort, selecting Made in Italy materials and art objects. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, HRS, Hotel.de, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Porcellino Gallery reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Porcellino Florence
Il Porcellino Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing