We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay for a few days in Florence”
Review of La Casa del Garbo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
La Casa del Garbo
Ranked #47 of 675 Florence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place to stay for a few days in Florence”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

I stayed in La Casa Del Garbo in mid September in the Michelangelo room. It was a great place to stay for a range of reasons. It was very close to everything, the staff were helpful and whilst it is described as a B&B our suite was a self contained apartment with 2 rooms with 2 double beds and a well equipped kitchen meeting our needs for a 5 day stay. The accommodation itself was also quite atmospheric as well (including for us a view of the beautiful Piazza adding to a great stay.) it also wasn't noisy despite one of our rooms opening up onto the square. I can highly recommend this as a place to stay in Florence - high quality accomodation, centrally located and providing flexibility with comfort, self catering and escaping from the big groups of tourists but still feeling like you are in the fabulous city of Florence! We were also happy to get a discount for paying in cash and enjoyed breakfast delivered to out rooms.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marvic1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    394
    95
    8
    6
    1
See reviews for
103
300
17
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Venice FL
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Friends told us about La Casa del Garbo and our experience was great too. The location is fantastic. We had the Leonardo Suite and it was roomy and very comfortable - and overlooking the Piazza. Wifi and everything worked well. I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Floridagal50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

This apartment was amazing. We have travelled Europe for the past 6 weeks and this was the most memorable place we stayed. The apartment was huge, comfy and in the best location you could get in florence. Amazing experience. Would highly recommend. Breakfast was delivered to our room, wifi and air conditioning worked well.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MishEl21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

La Casa del Garbo was actually recommended to us by a friend who had stayed, saying "It made her trip!" How can we not book with a recommendation like that! IT ABSOLUTELY LIVED UP TO IT'S REPUTATION! Oh to be back again! It was phenomenal! The location, the suite, the breakfast, all top notch! We stayed in the Lorenzo suite. It blew our mind. Absolutely Luxurious, high high ceilings and everything you could ask for including a fully equipped little kitchen area, brand new bathroom and large closet, and fabulous view of the Piazza. The place is located in the corner of Piazza Della Signoria, a very popular square a stones throw from the Uffizi Gallery, Palazzo Vecchio, Loggia Dei Lanzi, and the replication of the Statue of David. It is also just above one of the best restaurants we ate at in Florence down the alley way, Vini e Vecchi Sapori. Eating there is an absolute MUST! The receptionist was also very very accomodating and informative, she had lots of recommendations for good restaurants and such.
The breakfast was so so yummy!! omg, try the cream filled croissants! DELISH!
We wouldn't dream of staying anywhere else if we ever return to Florence. Furthermore, Piazza Della Signoria turned out to be our favorite Piazza too!

http://www.visitflorence.com/florence-monuments/piazza-della-signoria.html

http://www.tripadvisor.ca/Restaurant_Review-g187895-d1110760-Reviews-Vini_e_Vecchi_Sapori-Florence_Tuscany.html

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janni55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We chose this inn because it fit our budget and the location couldn't be beat. But we didn't realize that it would be quite so beautiful. Very romantic. The room ("Eleanora") itself was luxurious with beautiful furnishings and a large lovely bathroom. Perfect for a couple. And falling asleep looking at the lit-up Palazzo Vecchio was a huge treat! The breakfast room was decorated in keeping with this old building (apparently, a nunnery in the 16th century) and Virgilio made delicious cappucino and laid out a lovely breakfast. There are ancient stone steps leading up to the rooms of the inn, so if steps are a problem, be aware.

Room Tip: The "Eleanora" room is over a restaurant and so there is noise related to that. It didn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SNJMom62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

In the heart of Florence at Piazza della Signoria, beautifully appointed suite which included 2 bedrooms, sitting room with sofa bed, kitchenette, and full bath, . It’s a B&B with a 4-star hotel ambiance. Clean, fully furnished, air-conditioned, WIFI, television, and other comforts of home. We had the top-floor suite, no elevator so we had quite a work out, but helps to burn off calories after great meals.

Marcello and Natalia were wonderful hosts. They patiently worked with me through problems with the credit card validation. I needed a prescription for antibiotics and Marcello was able to quickly refer me to a Dr. and pharmacy; within a few hours I had my medication and was able to go on the wine tour the next day. Marcello’s kindness and caring was truly a blessing!

When we stepped out of the B&B we were in the square facing the Palazzo Vecchio with the replica of Michelangelo’s David and the Uffizi Gallery. Also immediately upon exit into the square were numerous café’s, and just around the corner were amazing shops filled with Italian shoes, purses, clothing, etc. It’s 5 minutes walk to San Lorenzo marketplace for the best deals.

We plan to return to Florence and La Casa Del Garbo for more of beautiful Florence and Tuscany experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil367
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Beautiful!! Fantastic room, breakfast, service, location, etc. etc. Our room was large, clean and very comfortable. The Gamma room does overlook the square, so it can be noisy in the evenings, but we were so tired after a day of touring it didn't matter! We had an early excursion one morning, and they accommodated an early breakfast for us. After the 1st day, the server knew exactly what we drank and simply brought everything to us without us having to ask. Fantastic!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Uffizi
La Torre dei Salterelli
La Torre dei Salterelli
#35 of 675 in Florence
164 reviews
Uffizi
Relais Piazza Signoria
Relais Piazza Signoria
#3 of 305 in Florence
557 reviews
Uffizi
La Signoria di Firenze B&B
La Signoria di Firenze B&B
#30 of 675 in Florence
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uffizi
Palazzo Uguccioni
Palazzo Uguccioni
#44 of 305 in Florence
98 reviews
Uffizi
Residenza d'Epoca in Piazza della Signoria
Duomo
B&B Emozioni Fiorentine
B&B Emozioni Fiorentine
#25 of 675 in Florence
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa del Garbo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa del Garbo

Property: La Casa del Garbo
Address: Piazza della Signoria 8, 50122, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Uffizi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 675 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — La Casa del Garbo 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Casa del Garbo**** A home in the heart of the art of Florence Florence is a city that amazes you every day while remaining the same. It boasts a wonderful succession of artistic vestiges and characteristic corners that little by little will surprise you as you stroll the streets of its center. The historical accommodation, La Casa del Garbo, is an elegant Bed & Breakfast located in the heart of the Florentine historical center, in Piazza della Signoria. It is right in front of Palazzo Vecchio, a few meters from the world famous Galleria degli Uffizi, near Piazza del Duomo and Ponte Vecchio. Every day that you spend in one of the suites of La Casa del Garbo, you will breathe the charm of Florence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your La Casa del Garbo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Casa Del Garbo Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing