We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Bed and Breakfast”
Review of La Casa del Garbo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Casa del Garbo
Ranked #33 of 659 Florence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Beautiful!! Fantastic room, breakfast, service, location, etc. etc. Our room was large, clean and very comfortable. The Gamma room does overlook the square, so it can be noisy in the evenings, but we were so tired after a day of touring it didn't matter! We had an early excursion one morning, and they accommodated an early breakfast for us. After the 1st day, the server knew exactly what we drank and simply brought everything to us without us having to ask. Fantastic!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dawn728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (526)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

98 - 104 of 526 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2013

Me and my wife stayed at the La Casa Del Garbo last November for 3 nights during our Italy trip. The location couldnt get better. You find yourself in one of the most amazing piazza 's in the whole of Florence -Piazza della Signoria! Everything you want to see is at such close proximity, be it the Uffizi, the Ponte Vechhio or the Duomo.
Now coming to the hotel itself, its located at the end of the square close to the Gucci museum. The staircase to the reception and the rooms can be a bit tricky, especially if you have lots of luggage but its fairly managable. We stayed at the Cosimo room, which was tastefully done, and was pretty spacious by Florence standards. It did not offer any views, though we did not complain much, since if you wanted a view, there was nothing better than heading to the piazza itself :-) the breakfast on offer was delicious.

Highly recommended for everyone who wants to stay right in the middle of all the action at this historic city.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MayurNayak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

Good as it gets in Florence - gorgeous apartments right on Piaza Della Signoria. Tasteful decor, spacious, breakfast delivered to room in morning. Only caveat- no elevators, so if you have mobility issues, this is not for you. Location is perfect in Florence, lots of good restaurants, close to museums, shops, all the important sites. Would come back in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauriegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

The location...WOW! The room (Eleanora)... WOW! The breakfast... Very, very nice. But the service.... this tops them all! I had originally planned on traveling alone, but a friend joined me. They agreed to put a second bed in the room, however, we arrived in the early evening and the maid service had forgotten. Apologies were made and my friend was quickly GIVEN a separate room! The way problems are handled is the truest measure of a person or a company and La Casa del Garbo is a real stand-out! A hint: wake up early and watch the city come to life in the early am ... but be prepared for some piazza noises in the early evening.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Panicali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

I can hardly imagine a better location in Firenze - we could directly see Palazzo Vecchio literally without moving our heads from the pillows.

And the amazing location also comes with carefully furnished rooms, clean and comfortable bathrooms, a very good breakfast and reception with the utmost "garbo", as the name implies.

Good news: all that comes - considering it's Firenze - at a very reasonable pricepoint.

Room Tip: Try and get either the Gemma or the Eleonora suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carlo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

Casa del garbo

Nice and big apartment. Comfortable for a big family like ours. If you order breakfast the day before you will get it right on time in your room the next morning. Bread, juice, good cappuccino and fresh fruit.
Location is the best! Beautiful view of piazza della signora and lots of shopping an restaurants around it. Go to "osteria il gatto e la volpe" a block away... The best we had and a lot cheaper than anything around the hotel.
Rooms are quiet at night and so dark to have a great rest.
Something not so good is that Beds are hard and pillows are even harder.
Everyone was nice and gave great service, i just never felt very "welcome" as they make you feel in other places, they basically charge you, give you the keys and don't bother you the rest of your time there, Which is ok, i'm just used to a little more
"Welcome to your home away from home" feeling when we travel. They kind of make you feel a little ignored. But i do recommend this place a lot.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gabs g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Stayed in La casa Del Garbo in May.
Could not find a nicer B&B in Florence.
The room was superb, very clean and comfortable.
Breakfast was delivered to room and was excellent.
Location....well it is right in the corner of Piazza della Signoria, what more could anyone require.
The staff were excellent and could not do enough to assist in every way.
In short, a superb place to stay for your trip to Florence.

Room Tip: Ask for room overlooking Piazza.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichaelB260848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Duomo
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
FH Calzaiuoli Hotel
#53 of 410 in Florence
1,453 reviews
Pitti
Hotel Restaurant  La Scaletta
San Lorenzo
Hotel City
Hotel City
#56 of 410 in Florence
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
B&B Emozioni Fiorentine
B&B Emozioni Fiorentine
#31 of 659 in Florence
383 reviews
Duomo
B&B La Dimora degli Angeli
B&B La Dimora degli Angeli
#14 of 659 in Florence
1,005 reviews
Uffizi
La Torre dei Salterelli
La Torre dei Salterelli
#29 of 659 in Florence
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa del Garbo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa del Garbo

Address: Piazza della Signoria 8, 50122, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Uffizi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 659 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range: $108 - $235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Casa del Garbo 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Casa del Garbo**** A home in the heart of the art of Florence Florence is a city that amazes you every day while remaining the same. It boasts a wonderful succession of artistic vestiges and characteristic corners that little by little will surprise you as you stroll the streets of its center. The historical accommodation, La Casa del Garbo, is an elegant Bed & Breakfast located in the heart of the Florentine historical center, in Piazza della Signoria. It is right in front of Palazzo Vecchio, a few meters from the world famous Galleria degli Uffizi, near Piazza del Duomo and Ponte Vecchio. Every day that you spend in one of the suites of La Casa del Garbo, you will breathe the charm of Florence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your La Casa del Garbo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Casa Del Garbo Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing