We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice location, nice people, very clean.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of La Casa del Garbo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
La Casa del Garbo
Ranked #49 of 659 Florence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Nice location, nice people, very clean.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

Stayed three nights in the Cosimo suite. It was the cheapest we could find for € 80 in the area. And from the pictures, it looked very well kept and nicely decorated. We didn't have a view of course but did have a beautiful new bathroom with an amazing shower. The breakfast of pastries and meat was nice fresh and delicious. The place was very clean throughout and the wifi was very nice to have.

The few bad things - The bed was pretty hard and I think wrapped in plastic from the sound it made when you moved. Also the pipes in the building sounded like a blue whale song when someone flushed the toilet above us, so that was annoying but all in all a nice place.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank fannonland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    388
    93
    8
    6
    1
See reviews for
101
296
17
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

Right on the Piazza Signoria, this very well kept residential hotel/B&B offers homey, good service and great location. We took the Lorenzo suite, which offers two bedrooms (one of them is small) and a well-equipped kitchen and large bedroom overlooking the piazza. There is a wall-mounted a/c which we didn't need to try (we visited in wintertime) so if one visits in warm weather and it is noisy and night the double windows can be closed and shuttered and the a/c run although we had no such issues during our visit.
We received our breakfast in the room (no extra charge) and found service very friendly. The room was spacious, clean and while a three flight walk-up, not at all difficult to reach. This spot is a beauty, and well-priced for Florence where there is often little value for the money. Definitely a good spot to stay, especially for couples or small family groups.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PandLNewYorkCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

My wife and I - and my wife's sister and her husband - stayed at La Casa del Garbo for five nights and found it to be a perfect place to stay. It's referred to as a B&B - probably because they serve breakfast - but it's more like a small, cozy, friendly hotel. The rooms we had (Leonardo and Lorenzo) overlook the Piazza dell Signoria (also called the Palazzo Vecchio). It was great in the morning to swing open the shutters and look down onto the Piazza. The Piazza is beyond words - a constant bee hive of activity, music, dozens of large, outdoor sculptures, cafes, bars, stores and tons of tourists and locals milling around. La Casa del Garbo serves an adequate breakfast, either in your room or downstairs in a comfortable dining room. We spent very little time in our rooms, but they were large, well appointed, spotless and more than adequate for our purposes. We found the hotel staff to be very helpful and accommodating. La Casa del Garbo is in a perfect location, where you can walk to almost everything you might want to see and do in Firenze. I recommend it highly.

Room Tip: It will cost a little more and it may be a bit noisier (though we didn't notice the noise that o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DAD38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasantville, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

We visited La Casa del Garbo in the summer of 2012. The hotel's site on Piazza della Signoria was perfect for us. Marcello and Virgilio couldn't have been more helpful. What a wonderful home base for our first trip to Florence.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anonymous1111X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

La Casa del Garbo was my home away from home during my 10 weeks in Italy, and if I could give it 6 stars I would. From the great location to the friendly and very professional staff, it far exceeded any expectations I had. In between trips to Roma (7 nights), Capri/Positano/Ravello (10 nights), Venezia (4 nights), the Cinque Terre (2 nights) and 6 days traveling throughout the Tuscan countryside, (in addition to several day trips from the city), it was always comforting to know that there was a friendly face to greet me upon my return.
I stayed in the Eleonora room during my stay and never tired of the sights and sounds of the Piazza del Signoria or the fact that La Casa del Garbo was only steps away from all the history that is Florence. A perfect combination.

Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

We loved La Casa del Garbo for its beautifully restored architecture (used to be a monastery),
fantastic location right in the Piazza della Signoria, the friendly staff who made us feel right at home, the breakfast that was truly amazing, and on and on. Our room was gorgeous and very comfortable, our private bathroom was extremely well appointed and very roomy. There is no elevator but the staff was very helpful getting our luggage up the stairs. Breakfast was beautifully presented and excellent; the cappuccino's the best we had in Italy. Our breakfast server was the nicest gentleman who spoke English fluently and made us feel right at home. We didn't want to leave, and this was truly the nicest hotel we stayed at on our trip! My only word of caution is to make sure you notify the hotel if you are arriving late so they can make arrangements to have someone let you in after regular hours (after 5 pm on Sundays, e.g.) We had an unexpected train delay and forgot to contact the hotel; luckily we were able to wake up a staff member at 10:30 pm after ringing the doorbell several times. The location is fantastic with the Duomo very close by, gelaterias on every corner, great shops, etc. The Piazza does attract a lively crowd till late into the night, so I would recommend a room that does not face the Piazza; ours did so we had a gorgeous view of the Palazzo Vecchio but we also had the noise.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms with windows facing Piazza della Signoria because of noise late through the night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rmleshin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

We visited Florence in april 2012 and Casa del Garbo was our place to stay. It has the best location - just in the heart of this magic city - in the famous Piazza della Signoria!
Our romm was so nice, spacious and cosy with independent kitchen and huge bathroom!!!!!!!
Everything was great!!!
And in the morning you open the door, make the first step - and you are surrounded by history and beauty of Florence^ everywhere you look you see the beauty!!!!!!!!!!!
So if you are going to visit Florence - choose Casa del Garbo!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VartAnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Uffizi
Hotel Hermitage
Hotel Hermitage
#71 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
Uffizi
La Signoria di Firenze B&B
La Signoria di Firenze B&B
#24 of 659 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
Uffizi
La Torre dei Salterelli
La Torre dei Salterelli
#34 of 659 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Duomo
B&B Emozioni Fiorentine
B&B Emozioni Fiorentine
#22 of 659 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
Uffizi
Relais Piazza Signoria
Relais Piazza Signoria
#6 of 297 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
Uffizi
Palazzo Uguccioni
Palazzo Uguccioni
#37 of 297 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa del Garbo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa del Garbo

Property: La Casa del Garbo
Address: Piazza della Signoria 8, 50122, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Uffizi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 659 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — La Casa del Garbo 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Casa del Garbo**** A home in the heart of the art of Florence Florence is a city that amazes you every day while remaining the same. It boasts a wonderful succession of artistic vestiges and characteristic corners that little by little will surprise you as you stroll the streets of its center. The historical accommodation, La Casa del Garbo, is an elegant Bed & Breakfast located in the heart of the Florentine historical center, in Piazza della Signoria. It is right in front of Palazzo Vecchio, a few meters from the world famous Galleria degli Uffizi, near Piazza del Duomo and Ponte Vecchio. Every day that you spend in one of the suites of La Casa del Garbo, you will breathe the charm of Florence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your La Casa del Garbo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Casa Del Garbo Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing