We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful, welcoming hotel”
Review of Katti House B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Katti House B&B
Ranked #224 of 656 Florence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 12, 2010

I cannot say enough good about this hotel. We came at the last minute, after leaving another hotel that was just entirely unacceptable. We were welcomed with open arms. The proprietor obviously takes pride in her establishment, and that is good to see. We stayed several nights, having to change rooms because of our last-minute arrival. Each was good. They are picturesque and comfortable, and the location is superb...unless you are bothered by street noise. To me that just adds to the feel of Florence.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dblcha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (291)
There are newer reviews for Katti House B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

129 - 135 of 291 reviews

Reviewed December 29, 2009

I arrived to this place with no reservation as I happened to be walking by when I saw it. I was very happy to have been greeted by a friendly lady who took me in and showed me to a nice and spacious room, the bathroom was down the hallway but the room was nice and comfortable. I think it is important to mention that this is not a hotel per se, it is a multi-level house and the owners live there, so they are available to assist if needed.

Since I was planning to stay there 3 or four nights, she mentioned there was a possibility to switch rooms in case a reservation for a bigger party was confirmed, but not to worry, she would work things out.

Early the next morning I asked her if switching rooms was going to be needed. She said no, that the other reservation was for a different day. And so I went out to do my sightseeing and was gone all day. Upon my return in the evening I was surprised to find my room completely empty (closet and drawers) everything was gone! When I knocked at her door she said she had to switch my rooms and showed me to another room in the same floor. This was a tiny little room not to be compared to the previous one "closer to the bathroom" she said. My upset was the fact that she took the liberty to empty my room and move all my stuff without my knowledge. I felt this to be a huge invasion of privacy.

I left saying I was going out for dinner but I went out to the internet cafe to look for a different hotel. When I came back she knocked at my door and said that I could move back into the other room because there had been a misunderstanding and the reservation she was looking at was from last year. I moved all my stuff back to the previous room and spent my last night there.

I moved to a different hotel down the street, Hotel Nuova Italia, where for about 10 extra euros, my room and my privacy was respected (in addition to having free wi-fi access and breakfast included).

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank animated
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2009

I can't say enough about the great location. 5 minutes from train station and Duomo. About 10 minutes to Uffizi and Accademia.

We were in the top floor loft and had a HUGE private bathroom. The room was large, spotless and well appointed. There was some noise at night, but not too bad for the central location.

Maria was sweet and helpful with information, although her English was limited. There is no air conditioning in Oct. and it was still warm and we could have used a fan. There are many steps to the top floor, be ready for them.

We were a bit confused upon arrival. We had reserved at Soggiorno Anna Maria, not Katti House. They are down the street from each other. They are both run by Maria. We rang the buzzer many times at Soggiorno and got no answer. Finally a local person directed us to Katti House down the street. A sign at Soggiorno telling you to go down the street to Katti House would be very helpful. There was just a phone # to call and we did not have a phone.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarbaraRi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2009

Pros: Clean, comfortable, free Wi-Fi, centrally located, accommodating owners Maria & Francesco.
Cons: No elevator, no breakfast and noisy if your room faces the street.
Maria was very helpful with suggestions for restaurants and sites to see. She made sure we were comfortable and gave us a fan since the weather was warm. If Katti House had an elevator I would stay there again.
I would recommend this hotel with the reservations about no elevator and no A/C.
Katti House has Rick Steves' stamp of approval.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bobwilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2009

which is just down via Faenza from Katti House. No breakfast, but large & pleasant room in interesting building, and the price was very right.

Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
1  Thank GeneR3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2009

I actually stayed at their alternate hotel down the street a bit. I found the location to be very good. Internet cafe across the street and laundry down the street. The only problem I had was that since it was October, they had turned the AC off in the rooms. It was still rather warm so I had to sleep with the windows open and there was a lot of noise from below. With the windows closed, I didn't hear any noise.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank golden190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2009

I can't say enough about this place. For the price it is amazing. The location is great it is a five minute walk from the Duomo and train station. We spent 65 euros / night and it was a steal. The room is very spacious and comes with a private bath. The room was clean, comfortable and quiet. If all you need is a comfy quiet room as your home base for sightseeing then I highly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PortlandTravelTips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Soggiorno Annamaria
Soggiorno Annamaria
#293 of 411 in Florence
59 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel City
Hotel City
#59 of 411 in Florence
502 reviews
San Lorenzo
La Residenza di Michelangelo
La Residenza di Michelangelo
#151 of 656 in Florence
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Le Camere dei Conti
Le Camere dei Conti
#105 of 656 in Florence
256 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Novella House
Novella House
#147 of 656 in Florence
155 reviews
San Lorenzo
Affittacamere Alba
Affittacamere Alba
#204 of 656 in Florence
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Katti House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Katti House B&B

Address: Via Faenza 21, 50123, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #224 of 656 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range: $87 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Katti House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Katti House Hotel Florence
Katti House Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing