We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be Very Careful”
Review of Katti House B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Katti House B&B
Ranked #223 of 657 Florence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

I really wanted to like this place, and there were some nice things about it--a friendly introduction, great location, excellent breakfast. However, there were major red flags: the Internet ad claimed that there was a special price for cash payment, but when we arrived that was not the case. The woman, although grandmotherly, was resistant to giving us a receipt, and when she did it was from a separate book. All was smiles until we were about to leave, and she said that we had to pay. I told her we had already paid, and in cash, but she insisted she had no record. She backed down and chuckled when I produced the receipt she had written three days earlier. This was a sharp businesswoman, so there is no way she had forgotten. I also noticed that her daughter, once this scene started to unfold, became quiet and then left the room. I would guess that more than one unwary guest who paid cash and didn't receive (or couldn't find) a receipt has been charged twice. I would not recommend this place. It is simply too shady.

Stayed: October 2013
2  Thank Kevin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kattihouse, Proprietario at Katti House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2013

Dear Sir,
I think there is been a misunderstanding.
I am alone to manage my b&b(I think that you know that) and so it is normal that
sometimes I forget something.
In any case sorry again for the misunderstanding.
The invoice is a normal practice in Italy and it means that you paid.
HAPPY CHRISTMAS AND NEW YEAR
MARIA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (292)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

66 - 72 of 292 reviews

Reviewed December 2, 2013

Everything about our stay was wonderful! The owners are husband & wife, and were so hospitable and loving to us..Everything was clean & cozy. I felt like I was staying at my grandparents!.. Very safe and secure. Very "Italian", doesn't beg more Italy than this..as for the few complaints others may have, they've obviously never been Italy before-stupid. This place was the best! I'll be staying with them again..

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Like a few others have mentioned, when we showed up we had to go 2 doors down to the restaurant to get someone to check us in, but I knew that going in (and there was a sign on the door) so it wasn't a big deal. They gave us a good price, the room (a family room with ensuite bathroom) was cleaned daily, and the owners were really, really nice. The breakfast was the best I've ever seen in Italy--coffee/cappuccino/espresso/hot chocolate for the kiddos, juice, hard boiled eggs, croissants, various other pastries, cheese, meats, yogurt, and fruits. The restaurant was a good deal too; they give you a discount if you're staying with them. It was only a few minutes' walk from the major sights, and on a pedestrian-only road, which is really pleasant. Overall it was just a very pleasant place to stay!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank skippersarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

We stayed for two nights at the Soggiorno Annamaria in September 2013 and thoroughly enjoyed our stay there. It is located on a wonderful pedestrian only street (except for the scooters) and is an easy walk from the train station. We had a clean and quiet room and the wireless internet worked great. Breakfast is served from 8 until 10 in the reception area of Katti house with a choice of fruits , yogurt , cheese and meat as well as croissants and hot coffee, plenty to get your day started. Although Maria does not speak much English we were able to communicate quite well and when she found out we had an early train to catch she offered to open the breakfast room early for us to get a bite before we left on our last morning. Do try the food at their Trattoria just a few steps away next to Katti house. It was great to meet both Maria and her daughter Katti who work very hard to provide a great guest experience at their B & B and restaurant
Wayne & Lorie Calgary Alberta Canada

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank footloose801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

My wife and I were in Florence on Sat 10/12/13, simply waiting overnight so we could pick up our rental car on Sunday We were pleasantly surprised at how wonderful this little B&B was, as well as being relatively close to the train station where we arrived, it is centrally located and within a few blocks of many of the big attractions and churches in Florence. The room itself was very clean and the bathroom was roomy, and the queen bed was very generous in size. A beutiful window opened widely onto the street, and we got to listen to a father-son duo playing music as they strolled by on the street below while we unpacked our suitcases. Yet at night, with the window closed, the room was quiet. The owner Maria is very personable and friendly woman, and she makes a delicious cappucino (with free refills gladly given!). Breakfast was also very good, with an assortment of pastries, fruit, meat and croissants. We would definitely go there again, especially for a longer stay, since the hospitality was so good, and a nice breakfast always starts the day off right!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bruno S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

As an independent experienced traveler I really enjoyed staying at the Katti House near the train station for 5 days. Maria treated us like family. The room was very clean and neat. The breakfast served included fresh fruit, pastry, cheese and meat as well as made to order hot beverages like cappuccino. Every night we had dinner a few doors away at Maria's daughter Katti's trattoria. The food was delicious and we were given extras and a discount because we were guests of the house. The Katti House was by far my favorite B&B in Florence. If you want a cultural immersion experience in Florence this place is for you.

Room Tip: If street noise bothers you ask for a quiet room off of the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank polandwalking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Clean rooms, soundproof windows, and roomy private bathrooms. Breakfast served from 8-10, always fresh and tasty. Maria is a great host of the B&B. Her daughter runs the Trattoria that has great food that is priced well. Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mane' A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Soggiorno Annamaria
Soggiorno Annamaria
#316 of 410 in Florence
60 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel City
Hotel City
#61 of 410 in Florence
506 reviews
San Lorenzo
La Residenza di Michelangelo
La Residenza di Michelangelo
#156 of 657 in Florence
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Casa Billi
Casa Billi
#96 of 318 in Florence
89 reviews
San Lorenzo
Guest House Bel Duomo
Guest House Bel Duomo
#46 of 657 in Florence
399 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Bellevue House
Bellevue House
#17 of 657 in Florence
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Katti House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Katti House B&B

Address: Via Faenza 21, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #223 of 657 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range: $81 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Katti House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Katti House Hotel Florence
Katti House Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing