We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Actually Nov 2008, but BEST youth hostel ever!”
Review of Dany House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dany House
Ranked #303 of 659 Florence B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 12, 2010

I stayed at the Dany House 2 years ago and wanted to write a review and kept forgetting or didn't know where to make one! But it was a great enough experience to still write about 2 years later, so that ought to tell you something right there! :D

Anyways, yes, wonderful place for young broke travelers! I met people from all over the world and we had a phenomenal welcome with box wine and amazing company! I learned so much from fellow travelers and the staff. My trip to Florence was truly enriched by staying at this hostel, honestly!

I believe we bought 1 or 2 nights and ended up staying another because we really enjoyed it there! The Dany House (when I was there) was family-owned or at least a small privately-owned place, with amazing and conversational staff!

Unfortunately, the only picture I have of the Dany House was of their awesome and adorable puppy who hung out with us the whole time [see picture]! I was too busy having a ball, I forgot to take pictures! ;P

My only warning is that when you FIRST get there, it's kind of sketchy because it's on the second floor of an old semi-odd building you have to ring the doorbell to and have someone come down and lead you up LOL. But trust me, after the initial awkwardness, you'll have a blast!

As I recall, we chose this spot because it was cheap (aka, we could afford it! LOL) and it's not too far from attractions, but either way, HIGHLY recommend this hostel! I have yet to experience a better hostel than Dany House!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CattintheHatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (71)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 71 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2009

not a huge nor fancy place, but there's dinner parties as well as eggs fried on order in the morning, and there's lots of personal presence from the keeper

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saksaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2009

The first thing that happened when we arrived was that we were welcomed by the owner, a nice and funny, older man. He showed us our room, the bathroom and the kitchen - and then he poured us wine. It was hospitality from the first moment!

Great location, a 15 min walk to downtown Firenze. Perfect!

At nights the old ladies, or Federico himself, served us wine and cookies.
They also made free, delicious dinner for us one night! With wine, ofcourse.
It was like staying at home - they cared for you and made sure that you were having a good time.

Also, free internet. That's a plus!

The only downside that I can see is that there was only one bathroom, which often resulted in a cue for the toilet and the shower in the mornings.

Federico is also a master at playing the piano, and since there is a piano in the livingroom you might be so lucky that he plays a song or two for you!
They also have the cutest and nicest black dog, chillin' on the floor or in the couch.

Cozy, cozy, cozy!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maggimaggi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2009

Special Offer for May....Are you travelling with your buddies? Book 2 people 2 nights and the 3rd night is free.This offer is only valid when staying with us in May.

we stayed 2 nights the third night , he was saying that this offered is now not available and we couldnt stay...we even showed him the email we had send confirming the third night was free and them saying thats fine...we argued over this , and he said if we dont leave hell call the police...all this after my girlfriend needed emergency treatment in a hospital in florence....DO NOT STAY HERE.

Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank anthony123344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2008

We booked a double room for two nights. We arrived to find the stand in owner sleeping on the dirty couch. We were then shown to our room which was the staff room they had given up for our use and were told that the staffs clothes etc were still in there and they would need access. The room had no door and no lock.
Against our better judgment we stayed the first night to find the noise level unbearable. There were people coming and going until 5am and some people were sleeping in the hall and the kitchen.
We asked for our money back for the next night and after some haggling we were given 30 euros (about half what we had paid for the night) We were told that they had changed and no longer took double bookings but were trying to accommodate people who had already booked. Seriously this is a student squat. Avoid at all costs!

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank cerutti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2008

Dany House is the first hostel I had ever stayed in. I was concerned about what this experience would be like until I arrived and saw how clean and nice this hostel is. The atmosphere makes you feel as though you have come home. The owner is wonderfully gifted at hospitality. The evening I arrived I enjoyed pasta with the other guests. There we were from many different corners of the earth - all talking and having a wonderful time. This hostel is a great place to stay. It is especially good for young singles who are traveling Europe on a budget. - Kansas City, MO

  • Stayed: August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank bah2050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2008

Owner is a non stop smoker. No breakfast was given although it was included in the price. We were a group of six people and had to share one bathroom with the rude owner, who kept knocking on the door while we were in the shower.

It was the most awful B & B I have stayed in and would not recommend it!

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank 2chic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
My Friends Guesthouse
My Friends Guesthouse
#108 of 659 in Florence
157 reviews
Bed & Breakfast Da Mila
#341 of 659 in Florence
81 reviews
San Lorenzo
Emerald Palace
Emerald Palace
#324 of 659 in Florence
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Locanda Daniel
Locanda Daniel
#194 of 659 in Florence
134 reviews
B&B Marianna
#353 of 659 in Florence
6 reviews
B&B I Chivi
#294 of 659 in Florence
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dany House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dany House

Address: Via Bolognese 8, 50139, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #303 of 659 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range: $28 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dany House is a small family hostel with cute shared rooms and private rooms. An ideal environment for young people (and not!) who is looking for a cheap and quiet accommodation in Florence. Breakfast is on request and includes coffee, milk, tea, juices, chocolate, croissant, biscuits (served from 7.30 to 9.30 a.m.). Bed linen is provided, towels can be rent. At your arrival the staff will give you a free map and will show you the most interesting attractions of the city and alternative things to do and see to make your stay a wonderful stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Dany House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dany House Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing