We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Value for money and a superb location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ridolfi Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ridolfi Guest House
Ranked #102 of 653 Florence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Value for money and a superb location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stayed here for two days during our visit to Florence in September 2012. The room was nice and comfortable and Elisio and Barbara were great hosts. They gave us very helpful advice on restaurants and site seeing. We loved the breakfast served in the morning with freshly baked croissants, jams yogurt and coffee. Would recommend this place to stay for the friendly hosts, awesome breakfast and accessibility to all piazzas and railway station.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arpit K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    295
    98
    16
    6
    2
See reviews for
49
217
9
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

We arrived in Florence, after spending our first 5 nights in Rome, on September 13, 2012. The Ridolfi Guest House was easy to locate using both GPS and the information provided on Trip Advisor. It’s about a 10 minute walk from the main train station through a very safe, pleasant neighbourhood. We’d had some correspondence with the B&B on the way in, as it’s customary to arrange check-in times to ensure someone is present. Upon arrival, we were welcomed by our host, who was very friendly but had a little trouble with English – not a complaint, just an observation. We were shown our room and checked in, after which we were largely on our own. This was a significant change from our experiences in Rome. While not a “bad” thing per se, it fell a little below the bar that had been raised so high earlier on.

Let me first say that the rooms were very large, spacious, bright and comfortable. Everything was a little dated, but functioned properly and provided an adequate experience. That said, the advertised “in suite” private washroom was truly an “in suite” washroom. To explain, picture a large square room, with 14 foot ceilings, wherein one corner of the room contains a makeshift closet that contains a small toilet, vanity and shower. You do not step into a separate room, rather, this “water closet” is built into the room. Difficult to explain without pictures, but that’s what you get. Also, the toilets are “compression” toilets – which means they make a rather loud and long noise every time it’s flushed, but also at random intervals, including during the night.

While we’re not overly sensitive (thank you wine!) to noise in the evenings, I can imagine some light sleepers may take issue.

Now, aside from the surprise we had with the layout of this room and the water closet, I must say that the private washroom and room were completely adequate for our purposes. We weren’t expecting luxury on this trip, as we did it on a modest budget and while my elbows did occasionally bang the tight quarters of our shower, and my bum hit the water closet wall repeatedly while using the vanity, we were able to use the facilities in private and enjoy access to it whenever we wanted.

Location: in a word, great. Not in the middle of the tourist hordes (ie: not next or immediately adjacent to the Duomo), but not so far that walking is impractical. Basically, it’s a 10-12 minute walk from the B&B down to the river, at a somewhat central location. To the Duomo, it’s about 5-7 minutes. Perfect, in my opinion. Plenty of bus traffic if that’s your persuasion and near enough to a plethora of piazza’s filled with restaurants and bars.

Final word: we fully recommend to anyone looking to stay in Florence that they check out the Ridolfi Guest House.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sergio M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

Eliseo is the perfect host for a young couple visiting Firenze for the first time. From the comfortable accommodations to restaurant recommendations to information on arriving from Pisa, he made the stay absolutely perfect. Ridolfi itself is comfortable, the breakfast is wonderful for a quick start to a long day of sightseeing, and the location is second to none. Ridolfi Guest House is on a short list of places with a strong recommendation and a great possibility of a return visit!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank elephantart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

Very pleasant experience starting from the reservation. Eliseo is a great host, always with the genuine smile. He is a very friendly, welcoming and efficient. He promptly helped us with all needed advance reservations for the museums. Eliseo helped us figure out local and intercity transportation details and made multiple calls for us to re-confirm everything. His local restaurant recommendations were great - we used and enjoyed all of them. Great job! Our room was large (even by American standards), very quiet and clean Eliseo was also very accommodating as the host providing early breakfasts on request without compromising the quality of the food or the service. Thank you, Eliseo!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank X-MCI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

From the moment you walk into Ridolfi Guest House you feel great warmth and cozy atmosphere. Eliseo is one of the friendliest hotel owners I've ever met. Very generous with his time, also offering many great advices on visiting the city and in the morning prepares a beautiful italian breakfast served to your room (cappuccino, warm pastries, jam, nutella...)

The rooms have incredibly high ceilings and each one is decorated in a very artistic way, you have one centering on Klimt, another on Botticelli..

Also very close to the train station, so you don't have to carry your luggage for to long, and equally close to all the main sights.

Really looking forward to staying here again. Thanks for everything Eliseo!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nmonczak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

We were made to feel very welcome and it was a pleasure to stay here. Eliseo was a completely charming host - most helpful both on the phone and in person. Warm
Croissants in the room for breakfast. Strongly recommend and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vipontbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

Great location, friendly staff, not expensive, clean, comfortable and cozy... what do you want more?? it is an old house converted into a B&B, breakfast is served in the room... within 20 minutes walk you can reach any location in Central Florence...

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bani82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Guest House Bel Duomo
Guest House Bel Duomo
#36 of 653 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
Leone X Guest House
#23 of 653 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
San Lorenzo
Casa Di Barbano
Casa Di Barbano
#173 of 653 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Residenza Johanna I - Antiche Dimore Fiorentine
Il Grillo di Firenze
#25 of 653 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
San Lorenzo
Locanda dei Poeti
Locanda dei Poeti
#19 of 653 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ridolfi Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ridolfi Guest House

Property: Ridolfi Guest House
Address: Via Cosimo Ridolfi 4, 50129, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 653 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ridolfi Guest House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A welcome from who has transformed this roomy and comfortable apartment into a bed & breakfast. I have been a traveller for many years and, although everyone of us is different, some fundamental aspects are universal: the price/quality relation, the availability and the discretion of the management and staff, the attention to cleanliness. Moreover the location of the structure in respect of the historical centre, the most important trade fairs (fashion - the Fortezza da Basso for example) and of the main railway station S. M. Novella is guaranteed. We can offer you all of this in truly spacious and comfortable rooms situated in an unusually silent street; every day, we work with the aim of improving the quality and the comfort for you, our future visitors. Upon your arrival, for those interested, we are happy to offer you a coffee or a welcoming aperitif ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Ridolfi Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing