We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Would definitely stay here again-worth the $60/night on Expedia” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Soggiorno La Cupola

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Soggiorno La Cupola
Ranked #562 of 637 Florence B&B and Inns
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Would definitely stay here again—worth the $60/night on Expedia”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2010

I should start by saying that our expectations were not really high (for ~$60 American what could we expect?) so what we got from Soggiorno La Cupola met, and in some cases exceeded, those expectations. Many other reviewers have mentioned that the staff (namely a woman who is perhaps the sole proprietor) is not very present and speaks only Italian. For us this worked well as we were not looking for any help or advice and preferred to come and go with little interaction. If we did need her, she provided her phone number to call. She was, too, upon check-in very friendly and animated in trying to communicate everything we needed to know, and this was after staying up late to meet us for our late arrival on a Saturday night.

The floor on which the B&B resides is fairly small, a cluster of five or six rooms off of a main sitting room/lobby. Our room was cozy and nicely appointed with a bottle of wine waiting for us at check in. We also found that the shutters/windows made the room nearly completely quiet at night, allowing both my husband and I to get solid and comfortable nights of sleep. The bathroom was tiny as others have said and the shower was slow to drain. Again, with lowered expectations (and knowing that we're staying in a building that is centuries old), it was great with us and was totally functional and reasonable for our entire three-night stay. If we had preferred, there was a larger communal bathroom and shower across the hall that we could have used.

Down the street and around the corner, we enjoyed our breakfast of juice, coffee and croissants each morning. We liked this arrangement of eating at a local cafe instead of a more traditional breakfast room with other travelers. The cafe's staff was friendly and hospitable, serving us at our table in typical restaurant fashion.

Our overall lodging and dining experience (not to mention the amazing rooftop terrace that other reviewers have written about) was a great kick-off to our stay in Italy.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ficuslove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    24
    25
    13
    20
See reviews for
8
44
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2010

Our experience at Soggiorno La Cupola was abysmal. A rude staff that made no effort to communicate with us (even though we were truly trying to speak Italian with them) and left us waiting outside the hotel for a total of three hours before we could even get in, horribly uncomfortable beds, dirty cramped bathroom, joke of a B&B "breakfast" at a neighboring restaurant where the staff seemed massively annoyed that we'd waste their time with the B&B's ticket, tons of street noise through poorly insulated windows... but a great view.

The long version:

When we first arrived, around 6:30 or 7pm, there was no one at the office. We stood outside the building buzzing the office for over an hour before giving up and walking to neighboring hotels (luggage in tow) to try to find a room. Finally we decided to give it one last try (around 9:30pm), and as we were walking up to the building once again, one of the staff members ran up asking if we were there for Soggiorno La Cupola. We told her we'd been waiting for over an hour, and she simply said "no inglese." When we tried to communicate in Italian (we know a little), she just ignored us.

As we were getting situated so that we could FINALLY grab a late dinner, she walked up to the room and barked at us in Italian then stomped away. We stood there kind of shocked, then my husband went off to the front desk to try to communicate. All she could get across was "you pay now." Payment upon check-in, after all we'd been through that night? We were seriously irked, but didn't feel like trying to communicate re: the necessity of pre-payment because at that point all we could think about was dinner.

We stayed a total of three nights. Slept (if you could call it sleeping through the noise from the street) on terribly uncomfortable beds, squeezed ourselves into the tiny cramped and dirty bathroom to shower, and never saw another staff member the entire time. We'd hoped to get some help navigating the city, restaurant recommendations, etc. but no dice. I left hating Florence, which is a real shame.

It was just awful and totally soured our vacation. I am very used to budget hotels and cringe at spending more than ~$100 US/night, but this was beyond ridiculous. NOT a good value. I'd rather have spent twice as much for a normal budget hotel than suffer at this hole.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank musey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Florence hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
london
Level Contributor
42 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2009

Apart from the location and rooftop, I didn't think this hotel was anything special. It was really hard to communicate with the staff. Rooms were ok, bathroom was tiny for a petite person like myself. Place was ok for an overnight stay, don't think I'd stay here any longer than that.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vaishyv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annakrohn
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2009

The staff here speaks little English so communication can be a bit difficult. But they are full of smiles and try their best to help. Breakfast is not at the b&b but at a cafe which actually worked out better for us. The best reason to stay here is the amazing terrace - perfect place to relax after a long of sightseeing. But be warned that there is no elevator so you will need to climb the stairs to take advantage of the view.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annakrohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2009

The location cannot be beaten nor can the view from the rooftop terrace where you get a great view of the Duomo and the city surrounded by mountainous countryside..the lady who works there doesn't speak a word of English and they give you a complimentary bottle of wine although I kind of had to beg to get it...the breakfast is around the corner and all you get is one croissant and and a cappuccino which is good but a very small breakfast...the shower and bathroom are horrible, the smallest shower that leaks all over the tiniest bathroom I have been in and the toilet easily overflows into the room

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chriis219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2008

Extremely convenient location - just a few steps from the duomo. Unbelievable view from the rooftop terrace - best enjoyed with a bottle of wine, which they provided for us! Room was small and bathroom even smaller but was still adequate for us, particularly considering how close everything was. The noise from the street was quite loud but was mostly blocked out by closing the window.

  • Liked — The terrace
  • Disliked — The noise from the street
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SydneyWarey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta Gorda, Florida, USA
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2008

Good news- bad news. You could not beat the location as far as an easy walk from the train station. You do need to go about 50 steps to get to the room level. The woman who signed us in was very pleasant but with very limited English and, of course, our Italian was even worse. While the hotel (really just a cluster of rooms on one floor of a buidling) states it has 24 hour service, what our check-in lady did not communicate was that you could contact someone by using a phone in the lobby/hallway. Fortunately, we did not have any problems. We had booked a quad room for our family of four. It turned out to be adjoining rooms which was fine. However, it had a tiny shower (about 24 X 28 inches!). Our check-in lady had neglected to tell us that there was an additional bathroom across the hall that we could have also used. Breakfast was provided by a little shop around the corner. However, our first morning was Saturday and we had booked an 8:15 tour time to see Michelangelo's David. The breakfast joint did not open until later on Saturdays. That being said, the owner of the breakfast place let us 'double up' on breakfast the following day. The television in the room had minimal stations. I know, I know, it was vacation- but it is still nice to check up on headlines at the end of the day. The really good news about the hotel is the rooftop terrace another 60 steps up). Amazing view and each night we were there, we were the only ones up there. Plus, they give you a bottle of decent wine to enjoy on the terrace. We met the owner on our last day- a very nice young man who plans on doing some upgrade on services. For a 2 night stay, it was perfect.

  • Liked — location, rooftop terrace
  • Disliked — tiny shower
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frizzylee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Locanda Gallo
Locanda Gallo
#431 of 637 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
San Lorenzo
Locanda Daniel
Locanda Daniel
#191 of 637 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Sweet Florence
#567 of 637 in Florence
3.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Soggiorno Venere
Soggiorno Venere
#497 of 637 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
San Lorenzo
Residence Martin B&B
Residence Martin B&B
#305 of 637 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
San Lorenzo
Emerald Palace
Emerald Palace
#358 of 637 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Soggiorno La Cupola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soggiorno La Cupola

Property: Soggiorno La Cupola
Address: Via Panzani 1, 50123, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #562 of 637 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Soggiorno La Cupola 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Soggiorno La Cupola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Soggiorno La Cupola Florence
Soggiorno La Cupola Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing