We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Loved the views from the rooftop” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Soggiorno La Cupola

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Soggiorno La Cupola
Ranked #564 of 638 Florence B&B and Inns
london
Level Contributor
42 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Loved the views from the rooftop”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2009

Apart from the location and rooftop, I didn't think this hotel was anything special. It was really hard to communicate with the staff. Rooms were ok, bathroom was tiny for a petite person like myself. Place was ok for an overnight stay, don't think I'd stay here any longer than that.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vaishyv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    24
    25
    13
    20
See reviews for
8
44
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
annakrohn
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2009

The staff here speaks little English so communication can be a bit difficult. But they are full of smiles and try their best to help. Breakfast is not at the b&b but at a cafe which actually worked out better for us. The best reason to stay here is the amazing terrace - perfect place to relax after a long of sightseeing. But be warned that there is no elevator so you will need to climb the stairs to take advantage of the view.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annakrohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2009

The location cannot be beaten nor can the view from the rooftop terrace where you get a great view of the Duomo and the city surrounded by mountainous countryside..the lady who works there doesn't speak a word of English and they give you a complimentary bottle of wine although I kind of had to beg to get it...the breakfast is around the corner and all you get is one croissant and and a cappuccino which is good but a very small breakfast...the shower and bathroom are horrible, the smallest shower that leaks all over the tiniest bathroom I have been in and the toilet easily overflows into the room

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chriis219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2008

Extremely convenient location - just a few steps from the duomo. Unbelievable view from the rooftop terrace - best enjoyed with a bottle of wine, which they provided for us! Room was small and bathroom even smaller but was still adequate for us, particularly considering how close everything was. The noise from the street was quite loud but was mostly blocked out by closing the window.

  • Liked — The terrace
  • Disliked — The noise from the street
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SydneyWarey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta Gorda, Florida, USA
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2008

Good news- bad news. You could not beat the location as far as an easy walk from the train station. You do need to go about 50 steps to get to the room level. The woman who signed us in was very pleasant but with very limited English and, of course, our Italian was even worse. While the hotel (really just a cluster of rooms on one floor of a buidling) states it has 24 hour service, what our check-in lady did not communicate was that you could contact someone by using a phone in the lobby/hallway. Fortunately, we did not have any problems. We had booked a quad room for our family of four. It turned out to be adjoining rooms which was fine. However, it had a tiny shower (about 24 X 28 inches!). Our check-in lady had neglected to tell us that there was an additional bathroom across the hall that we could have also used. Breakfast was provided by a little shop around the corner. However, our first morning was Saturday and we had booked an 8:15 tour time to see Michelangelo's David. The breakfast joint did not open until later on Saturdays. That being said, the owner of the breakfast place let us 'double up' on breakfast the following day. The television in the room had minimal stations. I know, I know, it was vacation- but it is still nice to check up on headlines at the end of the day. The really good news about the hotel is the rooftop terrace another 60 steps up). Amazing view and each night we were there, we were the only ones up there. Plus, they give you a bottle of decent wine to enjoy on the terrace. We met the owner on our last day- a very nice young man who plans on doing some upgrade on services. For a 2 night stay, it was perfect.

  • Liked — location, rooftop terrace
  • Disliked — tiny shower
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frizzylee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2008

The website only shows one room, we did not get that room. Our room was smaller than the room shown but adequate. The location was excellent, halfway between the Duomo and the rail station SMN.
The bathroom was a pre-fabricated box in the corner of the room; it had the smallest shower I have ever used. While there were double windows they were not sufficient to stop all the noise. There was not a lot of noise but it was noticeable. The three flights of stairs can be a little tough when carrying luggage.
I paid 75 euro a night. For that price a clean room in a good location in Florence is a bargain. The Management was friendly and pointed out that there was a common bathroom available that was much larger than the one in my room.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — shower
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelsitaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ-USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2007

No elevator/lift. Up 2 flights of steep stairs. I was travelling with my elderly parents and had to cancel at the last minute once we found the facility. Very difficult to locate among a road of brightly lit hotel signs. There was no place to properly stop on the road to unload luggage because of barriers. I am very dissapointed. Went and stayed at another hotel.

  • Liked — N/A - could not stay
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank biya1218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Florence hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Locanda Gallo
Locanda Gallo
#429 of 638 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Sweet Florence
#570 of 638 in Florence
3.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Pitti
Soggiorno Pitti
Soggiorno Pitti
#486 of 638 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Soggiorno Venere
Soggiorno Venere
#498 of 638 in Florence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
San Lorenzo
Guest House Bel Duomo
Guest House Bel Duomo
#52 of 638 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
B&B Guesthouse Amici Miei
B&B Guesthouse Amici Miei
#345 of 638 in Florence
3.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Soggiorno La Cupola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soggiorno La Cupola

Property: Soggiorno La Cupola
Address: Via Panzani 1, 50123, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #564 of 638 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Soggiorno La Cupola 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Soggiorno La Cupola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Soggiorno La Cupola Florence
Soggiorno La Cupola Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing