We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall a good stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Soggiorno La Cupola
Ranked #592 of 659 Florence B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 30, 2009

The staff here speaks little English so communication can be a bit difficult. But they are full of smiles and try their best to help. Breakfast is not at the b&b but at a cafe which actually worked out better for us. The best reason to stay here is the amazing terrace - perfect place to relax after a long of sightseeing. But be warned that there is no elevator so you will need to climb the stairs to take advantage of the view.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank annakrohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (99)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 99 reviews

Reviewed April 19, 2009

The location cannot be beaten nor can the view from the rooftop terrace where you get a great view of the Duomo and the city surrounded by mountainous countryside..the lady who works there doesn't speak a word of English and they give you a complimentary bottle of wine although I kind of had to beg to get it...the breakfast is around the corner and all you get is one croissant and and a cappuccino which is good but a very small breakfast...the shower and bathroom are horrible, the smallest shower that leaks all over the tiniest bathroom I have been in and the toilet easily overflows into the room

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chriis219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2008

Extremely convenient location - just a few steps from the duomo. Unbelievable view from the rooftop terrace - best enjoyed with a bottle of wine, which they provided for us! Room was small and bathroom even smaller but was still adequate for us, particularly considering how close everything was. The noise from the street was quite loud but was mostly blocked out by closing the window.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SydneyWarey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2008

Good news- bad news. You could not beat the location as far as an easy walk from the train station. You do need to go about 50 steps to get to the room level. The woman who signed us in was very pleasant but with very limited English and, of course, our Italian was even worse. While the hotel (really just a cluster of rooms on one floor of a buidling) states it has 24 hour service, what our check-in lady did not communicate was that you could contact someone by using a phone in the lobby/hallway. Fortunately, we did not have any problems. We had booked a quad room for our family of four. It turned out to be adjoining rooms which was fine. However, it had a tiny shower (about 24 X 28 inches!). Our check-in lady had neglected to tell us that there was an additional bathroom across the hall that we could have also used. Breakfast was provided by a little shop around the corner. However, our first morning was Saturday and we had booked an 8:15 tour time to see Michelangelo's David. The breakfast joint did not open until later on Saturdays. That being said, the owner of the breakfast place let us 'double up' on breakfast the following day. The television in the room had minimal stations. I know, I know, it was vacation- but it is still nice to check up on headlines at the end of the day. The really good news about the hotel is the rooftop terrace another 60 steps up). Amazing view and each night we were there, we were the only ones up there. Plus, they give you a bottle of decent wine to enjoy on the terrace. We met the owner on our last day- a very nice young man who plans on doing some upgrade on services. For a 2 night stay, it was perfect.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frizzylee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2008

The website only shows one room, we did not get that room. Our room was smaller than the room shown but adequate. The location was excellent, halfway between the Duomo and the rail station SMN.
The bathroom was a pre-fabricated box in the corner of the room; it had the smallest shower I have ever used. While there were double windows they were not sufficient to stop all the noise. There was not a lot of noise but it was noticeable. The three flights of stairs can be a little tough when carrying luggage.
I paid 75 euro a night. For that price a clean room in a good location in Florence is a bargain. The Management was friendly and pointed out that there was a common bathroom available that was much larger than the one in my room.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelsitaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2007

No elevator/lift. Up 2 flights of steep stairs. I was travelling with my elderly parents and had to cancel at the last minute once we found the facility. Very difficult to locate among a road of brightly lit hotel signs. There was no place to properly stop on the road to unload luggage because of barriers. I am very dissapointed. Went and stayed at another hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank biya1218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2006

We stayed three nights at La Cupola and enjoyed our stay very much. Not all rooms have a view on the Duomo but the terrace is accessible to all guests and has THE view over Florence;you are facing the cathedral and have San Lorenzo on your right. We brought pizzas and wine during the evening for a much needed chillout time after intense sightseeing. Our room was very clean and has your average furniture and a ceiling fan. It is very good value for money as it's located 5 minutes away from the train station and in the centre of the city. The breakfast is in a typical Italian café, you are served good coffee and a pastry. The owner was very helpful and went out of his way to make us feel at home, we spoke Italian so communication wasn't a problem. We didn't have time to see everything and when we return, we'll definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank pknta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Paris Hotel
Paris Hotel
#120 of 409 in Florence
1,577 reviews
Il Grillo di Firenze
#12 of 659 in Florence
489 reviews
Hilton Florence Metropole
#152 of 409 in Florence
2,038 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Plus Florence
Plus Florence
#15 of 325 in Florence
2,554 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Santa Croce
Hotel Santa Croce
#48 of 409 in Florence
833 reviews
Villa Morghen
#1 of 1 in Settignano
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Soggiorno La Cupola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soggiorno La Cupola

Address: Via Panzani 1, 50123, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #592 of 659 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range: $49 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Soggiorno La Cupola 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Soggiorno La Cupola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Soggiorno La Cupola Florence
Soggiorno La Cupola Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing