We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value and location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Soggiorno Antica Torre

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Soggiorno Antica Torre
Ranked #191 of 653 Florence B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Great value and location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2011

At the recommendations of friends who had been here before we stayed 4 nights in July 2011, and I would recommend to my tripadvisor friends to do the same.

A few pieces of advice first though. We booked the infamous Gold Suite (Room no. 1), and there was indeed street noise as mentioned in other reviews. However, one night this noise was the beautiful music of the symphony playing in the square, which was fantastic. Other nights you could hear the street entertainers playing near the Ufizzi around the corner which was also nice. When the sounds werent as nice (in particular the screeching of the swallows that fly throughout Florence early in the morning), we were prepared with earplugs, which completely solved the problem. The restaurants all close at about 11 as well so assuming you are out enjoying a late Italian dinner that is not an issue.

Advice Part 2: the staff of the hotel do not work on Sundays, which is when we arrived. We were given a code to access the property and by an unfortunate series of events (did not bring a hard copy and had no blackberry coverage) it was a bit of a rigamarole getting in. The lesson: dont be dumb like us and bring the sheet they send you with all of the check-in info.

I would also advise that people with mobility issues should look elsewhere, as you have to go up a long flight of stairs before you reach the elevator.

Those things taken care of, you will have an unbelievable view out your window each morning, and you will get to enjoy what will probably be the most spacious room you will stay in on your trip. You will also be about a 5 minute walk to all of the great sights and shopping of Firenze.

The innkeepers were very nice and helpful, the place was spotless, and noise from within the hotel was virtually non-existent. There is even a small fridge stocked with cheap water and drinks. We hope to be back to Florence some day and would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Go for the gold!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CanadianRambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    56
    9
    3
    2
See reviews for
37
89
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2011

I have stayed at this charming hotel twice already, within 4 years apart from each visit. I highly recommend this hotel for its great location and for its friendly service. The room is very clean and nicely decorated (the Pink room) and the window faces away from the noisy Piazza traffic. Thanks for two great experiences!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fsu2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2011

This B&B is run by a Florentine family and is a great find in Florence. Located 5 steps from the Uffizi and on the Piazza del Signoria it is centrally located in the heart of Florence. Its a great place to stay. You will definitely enjoy the location!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LanieK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnticaTorre, Proprietario at Soggiorno Antica Torre, responded to this review, January 9, 2011
Dear Guest,
I'm Pamela, thank you very much for your review. Yes, you're right, once you reached us you can relax, just stop to take buses to reach different museums or drive, because all main museums and historical beauties are in the downtown, so you can get there in maximum 15 minutes walking.
We say thank you very much especially because you underlined we have a family-run B&B, so you give a value added to our reception style. Just so we can pass wealth of experience from true life of Florence on to guests, because my grand-father lived in this apartment, then my father was borned here and lived here too in the same apartment that now carefully welcome our guests.
We wish you the very best in 2011.

Kindest Regards
Pamela
Soggiorno Antica Torre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2010

The personnel were extremely friendly and helpful. It is like walking into the past when you enter this bed & breakfast. It is very clean and comfortable. The rooms are generously roomy and the bathroom is bright and very up-to-date. I just loved staying here. You enter and exit the plaza that does not allow cars, so it makes it even better to walk around. The one replica of the "David" is next door to the B&B and there are cafes and stores all over the plaza. I would definitely stay there every time I visit Florence. I would love to go back right now because I thought Florence was the most beautiful place I have ever visited.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bgg914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnticaTorre, Proprietario at Soggiorno Antica Torre, responded to this review, January 7, 2011
Dear Guest,
We really would like to thank you for your kind review. Our B&B is located in one of the historical places of Florence and our building was originally a Medieval tower of a Florentine banker, so here you saw a little piece of the Medieval age. We are happy that you appreciated the way we welcomed you here and helped with your trip in Florence, it is important that you feel well and relaxed during your lodging: you're in vacation!
We hope to see you soon again and we wish you the best of luck in 2011.

Soggiorno Antica Torre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2010

My husband and I try to visit Florence at least once a year, and we always stay here. The staff are great, very friendly and not intrusive, and the rooms are beautiful. My only hesitation in writing this review is that more people will know about the Antica Torre, which might make it more difficult for us to get a room!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fredegund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2010

Wonderful piazza, clean , cozy and comfortable place, friendly and helpful staff who always have a smile for you..It was pleasure to have stayed at Soggiorno Antica Torre..The only trouble we had was when we first arrived ,it was hard to find the entrance, for those who plan to visit, it is between the restaurants Davide & Bargello..

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aseebo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2010

This small B&B has an awesome location right on the Piazza della Signoria. Literally flanked by restaurants, everything is just steps away. Herein lies the problem. Noisy, noisy, noisy!!! Into the wee hours of the morning you hear bottles crashing, carts being pushed, pots and pans being banged, people talking/yelling AND you can even hear whistling! This noise is not from the ppl on the street, but rather from the restaurants right beside/below you. Had I known this, it would have been a deal breaker...it was that bad.
As for the rooms, we were 5 in the very clean and tidy Blue Room. It was spacious enough, but not a real bed in sight. My two teen boys shared a broken down, lumpy, full size, pull out bed. My 11 y/o got a toddler like bed and my husband and I got two twin beds, with a matress on a metal frame. Comfort was NOT to be found. The bathroom was large with a full bath/ shower, but you have to pay for towels. There were two kitchen-like chairs in the room, a desk, and a small tv.
The staff displays a fair amount of info on tours and things to do in the region, but they, unfortunately are only to be found from 8 a.m. until around 1 p.m. The hotel is walking distance from the train station (0.9 km) and I would sugget that route if you stay here. The bus you need to take is very small and crowded. It was impossible for our family to get on with our luggage (1pc. each).
Great location, below average hotel.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jkmashny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Uffizi
Relais Uffizi
Relais Uffizi
#177 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Della Signoria
Hotel Della Signoria
#46 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
Uffizi
Art and Luxury Apartments
Art and Luxury Apartments
#99 of 295 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uffizi
La Signoria di Firenze B&B
La Signoria di Firenze B&B
#27 of 653 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
Uffizi
Palazzo Uguccioni
Palazzo Uguccioni
#37 of 295 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Uffizi
Relais Piazza Signoria
Relais Piazza Signoria
#7 of 295 in Florence
4.5 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Soggiorno Antica Torre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soggiorno Antica Torre

Property: Soggiorno Antica Torre
Address: Piazza della Signoria 3, 50122, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Uffizi
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #191 of 653 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Soggiorno Antica Torre is located in the heart of the city, in the most famous piazza in Florence: the Piazza Signoria. The pensione winds around the central part of an ancient tower from the XI century. Almost all the rooms have original ceilings and beams. The floors are oak wood. The wood furniture is in classic Italian style; all the rooms are furnished with antiques pieces, some coming from the Medici-Riccardi Palazzo, the city residence of Cosimo dei Medici. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Soggiorno Antica Torre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Soggiorno Antica Torre Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing