We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in the HEART of Florence”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Tourist House
Ranked #250 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Reviewed April 13, 2010

We loved the location of this hotel.
While it wasn't a 4 star hotel, it was very clean and the staff was very helpful, friendly and very knowledgeable. They were able to lead us to many great hotels, shopping hot spots and somer pretty iconic spots as well.
Its very close to Santa Maria Novella train station which made our travel very convenient (for those that are walking with roller suit cases), its in a great location :)
Would definitely stay here again.
Thanks to the great and friendly staff

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tzecchino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (165)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Tourist House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 165 reviews

Reviewed April 10, 2010

The best value for money of our whole trip. Great location, shops, restaurants, markets and train station all really close by. The only criticism would be the breakfast, which was merely adequate, but no question at that value level. The room was huge, but the shower was tiny.
Steps, steps, and more steps, but still okay. Staff very friendly and very helpful, only working half days though.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandy-Ross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2009

This hostel was okay. It's very centrally located and within walking distance to the train station, restaurants and other hot spots. The staff is very friendly and the room was quite large. The cleanliness was average -- the shower drain was plugged up so we found ourselves standing in water while showering. Our room was located on the main floor so we heard a lot of opening and closing of doors and voices throughout the night. It's a good place to hang and perhaps party with friends but not good if you want some peace and quiet.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank jlee77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2008

The Tourist House was just what we ordered. My husband and I stayed there recently and had a good time. Rooms were clean and neat. The ensuite bathroom was the largest we had seen in all of Europe and was also clean. Breakfast left a little to be desired, Fruit Punch isn't juice...hmm. But all in all, a good place to stay. They called a taxi for us the night before, to get to the airport, and it was on time at 5:30am. The front desk girls were great, good suggestions for dinner. Well done.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank hooperpig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2007

My sister and I stayed at this hotel on a recommendation from fellow travellers. For the price we paid I thought it was good value for Florence, 75 euros for the room and that included breakfast. Breakfast was basic but ok. It was close to the railway station, the sita bus station and the local orange buses. Also with in easy walking distance to all the sights Florence has to offer. It was in a quite location however there were a variety of bars and restaurants at the doorstep. We could also access wireless Internet. It was clean and the beds comfortable. I would recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Aussie_traveller46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2005

Our stay was "sufficient". It was a clean large room with breakfast included. Nothing fancy but adequate. It is not in the greatest location in Florence since the piazza area is quite run down. But it is a convenient walk to the train station if you plan on taking day trips from Florence and also a convenient location to get around florence.
I would go back but don't expect anything fancy.

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fastturtle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed yesterday
Google Translation

Room Tip: Non al primo piano! Scegliete una stanza lontano dalla saletta della colazione
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leoneinviaggio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Elite
Hotel Elite
#260 of 411 in Florence
255 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Nizza
Hotel Nizza
#161 of 411 in Florence
428 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Romagna
Hotel Romagna
#232 of 411 in Florence
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Ferretti
Hotel Ferretti
#274 of 411 in Florence
450 reviews
San Lorenzo
Annabella Hotel
Annabella Hotel
#289 of 411 in Florence
206 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Montreal
Hotel Montreal
#184 of 411 in Florence
699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tourist House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tourist House

Address: Via della Scala 1, 50123, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #250 of 411 Hotels in Florence
Price Range: $62 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Tourist House 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Tourist House*** Florence Set right in Santa Maria Novella square, overlooking one of Florence's most important churches, the HOTEL TOURIST HOUSE*** offers spacious rooms housed in a historic building. All rooms are equipped with: Private Bathroom, WC, Toilet,Shower, Free toiletries, Hairdryer, Air Conditioning, Desk, Fan, Heating, Flat-screen TV, Refrigerator. Florence's churches, galleries, markets and shops are all just a short stroll from Tourist House. Santa Maria Novella train station is just a 5-minute walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Tourist House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tourist House Hotel Florence
Tourist Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing