We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“top marks for location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Tourist House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Tourist House
Ranked #244 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“top marks for location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

this is our second visit to The tourist house- Florence mainly because of its location. Situated near the train station and within walking distance to all the major attractions . It is very basic but clean the rooms are large which is more than can be said for the breakfast room, if more than four people want breakfast at the same time - it is a tight fit! but not a meal to linger over with so much to see. The breakfast consists of a roll and coffee.
The only problem is there is nowhere to sit other than your room and if the weather is bad ( as it was for us ) there is only so much walking in the rain you can cope with in a day!
There are no tea or coffee making facilities in the rooms
Overall you get what you pay for a reasonably priced central room at an affordable price.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sue12345678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    73
    26
    14
    1
See reviews for
15
74
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

I was on a solo four week trip over northern Italy and Florence was my second stop. The hotel was 5 minutes walk from the train station and at least 5 minutes to the closest tourist spot (Duomo and Arno River are just 5 minutes walk). Lots of restaurants, coffee shops, pizzerias, convenience stores in the area. Location is great. Small room with a big comfortable bed. TV and fridge worked. Usual small toilet and bath. Room with free wifi and it was cleaned everyday. What was annoying was the unfriendly lady receptionist (she looked politically healthy) - I shower 2 times a day even in winter and the bathroom only had one big towel - the classic thin Italian style towel. So I asked for a second towel which I said I need everyday. I used the word "if possible" and she said for the price I paid, which was 37 euros per day and I stayed 6 nights, I got a bargain and should not ask for a second towel and that they are not a hotel and do not have 24 hour service. I said to her "if possible" and she repeated that my room was already cheap why should I ask for a second towel as it will cost them extra to wash the towel. This woman had the audacity to say that to me and I said that it is not my fault that I got the room for a cheap price. This was my 4th visit to Florence and the first time that such bad customer service was displayed to me here in this city. In my experience travelling the world and having visited Italy for at least 10 times in the past since 1985, I classify Italians with a low sense of customer service. My experience with Tourist House is ranked among the lowest Italian customer service I have experienced. I did get a second towel everyday for 6 days. The hotel location is great but I will not stay here because this hotel does not understand customer service. I know the Italian attitude is I do not care as there are millions of tourists who will replace you - my response is, well I have the money and I will not do business with you. I recommend this hotel if you do not need a second towel.

Room Tip: Do not ask for a second towel as the lady receptionist is rude and does not have customer service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank juanmanuelrodriguez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Florence hotels

4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

We stayed here for 1 night on the second leg of our trip. Located close to the train station. Within walking distance to main attractions. The room was very large and clean, although there was a bit of a stuffy smell. Continental breakfast was not that great. Overall, decent hotel for budget price.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
146 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

The hotel is located in an old Toscan building, with double colorful shutters, like you will see many in Florence. It is 5 min. away from the train station and 10 minutes walk from most sites (Accademia, Uffizi, Duomo) which is very convenient for visiting all day long. It has free Wi-Fi. The room was clean and staff nice, when leaving we could leave our luggages all day. Towels provided are so thin that they are more like sheets (they are replaced everyday, though). There is no breakfast but they recommend you go to the café nearby, where the waiter was obnoxious and food so-o, I advise you eat a paninoand a cappuccino somewhere else. Definetely not a romantic place but a honest option for the price.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arale N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bundaberg, Australia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

This is not a "Bells and Whistles" hotel. Rather it provides neat, basic accommodation in a very central location. The rooms are of a reasonable side and quite comfortable. Although a jug/kettle would have been appreciated.
Staff are very helpful and run through the basics of the room.
Continental breakfast is included from 7am at the downstairs eatery.
Easy walk to station and town centre.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JeriatricJypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

I brought a group of US university students to Florence for a few nights, and we stayed at this hotel. I am staying on for a couple more nights after they've gone, and I couldn't be happier to be here. This is not a hotel where you can call the desk and have someone come fluff your pillows. But it's charming, the rooms are lovely (mine is huge, with four-poster bed, writing desk and large wardrobe, plus a nice bathroom), and the staff could not be nicer. We let them know in advance that I need an extra-firm bed (back trouble), and they actually found a board and put it under the mattress before my arrival. It's a level of kindness I really appreciate.

You take breakfast (free) in the bar next door (Americans: for bar, read "cafe"), which also serves meals. A colleague commented that he had a very nice dinner there. My room also has AC, a ceiling fan, TV and a fridge. Not all the rooms have internet access, though you can get it in the hallway. If that's important to you, ask for a room on the hallway. I never had trouble with the signal. They keep the bedroom and bathroom immaculate, and well stocked with soap, shampoo and towels.

The only negative thing I can say is something the hotel cannot control: There is occasionally noise from the patio area of an adjacent hotel. But I've only heard it once or twice, and it didn't last long.

The location is great: Very close to the train station, but the neighborhood does not feel at all seedy. A 5-10 minute walk will bring you to the duomo. I will certainly stay here again next time I'm in Florence!

Room Tip: The room I described is #6.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pitchford0209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
79 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

I travelled throughout Italy with my daughter using primarily rail as our main transportation. This guest house was fairly reasonably priced, and approximately 600-700 meters from the train station which is good because we typically have a heavy pack to carry. We walked to the accomodation easily, although, it was not the easiest to find. There are no lifts, so if your mobility is challenged, beware that there is a fairly long flight of stairs up to the rooms from streetside.

We arrived and had a hard time locating someone to check in. I believe they must be responsible for rooms, etc as well while they are on shift. It was fine, amd we were offered a large room with a comfortable bed, desk, and lobelia window that opened to a courtyard. There was also air conditioning which was welcome in the heat of the summer. Our room had a small fridge for drinks, cheese, etc. this guesthouse did not offer food of any kind, so the fridge was good to have.

The bathroom was very small, but it was clean and functional.

As this accomodation was in an apartment building, there was no reception at night after 7pm, and so, you needed to make sure you had your keys at all times so you would not be locked out at night.

There was free wifi, however, it did not work in the rooms. It only worked in one of the common areas of the hallway near reception.

This place is within walking distance to all of the areas you would want to see and explore Florence. We were ale to get around on foot quite easily.

For food, there were many cages and eateries on the streetside below the accomodation, amd there is a good supermarket underneath the one side of the train station to stock up on fruit, drinks, snacks.

Lastly, being that the train station was so handy, we were able to pack a small day pack and take a day trip by train to Pisa and return in the early evening. That was easy and reasonably priced from there.

A basic, no frills clean place to stay. It was safe, and I would recommend it for a quiet, budget friendly rest while moving by train through Italy.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank coraclara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Elite
Hotel Elite
#253 of 421 in Florence
3.5 of 5 stars 226 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Unicorno
Unicorno
#128 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 stars 508 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Montreal
Hotel Montreal
#105 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 stars 629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Abaco
Hotel Abaco
#220 of 421 in Florence
4.0 of 5 stars 131 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Universo
Universo
#219 of 421 in Florence
3.5 of 5 stars 462 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
Hotel Balcony
Hotel Balcony
#82 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tourist House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tourist House

Property: Hotel Tourist House
Address: Via della Scala 1, 50123, Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Santa Maria Novella
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #244 of 421 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Tourist House 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Tourist House*** Florence Set right in Santa Maria Novella square, overlooking one of Florence's most important churches, the HOTEL TOURIST HOUSE*** offers spacious rooms housed in a historic building. All rooms are equipped with: Private Bathroom, WC, Toilet,Shower, Free toiletries, Hairdryer, Air Conditioning, Desk, Fan, Heating, Flat-screen TV, Refrigerator. Florence's churches, galleries, markets and shops are all just a short stroll from Tourist House. Santa Maria Novella train station is just a 5-minute walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Tourist House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tourist House Hotel Florence
Tourist Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing