We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hilton Florence Italy Metropole”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Florence Metropole
Ranked #148 of 412 Hotels in Florence
Buffalo, New York
Level 5 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Hilton Florence Italy Metropole”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

We have stayed a couple different times at this property and have always been pleased with the service and the value.

I will start by saying, if you want a hotel in Florence (city center) or walking distance, this is not for you. You will need transportation to get into the city of Florence. The hotel provides free of charge a Shuttle bus, seating around 30 with scheduled trips every 30-45 minutes in and out of the city. If you are not in a hurry and do not require a luxury sedan, this is GREAT value. There are negative comments regarding this but here is the lowdown: 1. Florence is impossible to park a rental 2. Unless you have local Italian driving skills, it is a tough city to drive in and navigate 3. Traffic can be brutal and scooters surround you so you really need to have your wits 4. The shuttle lets you relax, enjoy the views of the Arno and acclimate yourself with the city. Just be aware, that it takes 20-35 minutes depending on traffic, on average. It will drop you right near the train terminal, an excellent starting point in Florence.

The hotel rooms are pretty small as are the bathrooms. They are clean but do not expect the Waldorf here. There is a nice club level with amazing views of Florence from the outside patio. it is pretty well stocked day and night. There is a free computer with internet for guests to use. The hotel has an above average fitness room and a huge (and very very nice) whirlpool with waterfall, massaging jet lounges, etc... Actually, a pleasant surprise.

We use the location as it is quite convenient to drive in and out of for your Tuscan day trips. Within 5 minutes, you are on the main road to Tuscany or Umbria without having to navigate out of the city of Florence.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lyww
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniele F, Direttore at Hilton Florence Metropole, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Lyww,

thank you for your comment; we appreciate your contribution and your detailed review!
It will be more than helpful for Tripadvisor's users!
Hoping to welcome you soon.

Best Regards
Daniele Fabbri
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,951 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    544
    841
    374
    130
    62
See reviews for
338
844
70
369
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Arrived via Italo train at 12 noon from Venice (great ride, clean train, good price for Prima class - 30 euro each) and followed the information provided by fellow reviewers. We waited for the 1 PM bus in the Burger King facing the Piazza Adua and kept our eye out for the shuttle bus. We got Whoppers and looked over our tour book while waiting. The bus arrived on time/left on time (they always did) and we arrived at the hotel 20 minutes later.

Check in was fine - no waiting. Upgraded to an executive room with a great view of the city in the distance - Room 1303. Had a snack in the executive lounge before heading back to the city on the 3:30 PM bus. The lounge had almost 360 degree views - one side looked toward snow capped mountains, one the city, and the rest over the hillsides surrounding Florence. Food choices and service were not abundant but sufficient. Only on our last night there was there an attendant at the lounge to make sure everything was being taken care of.

The room was nice but small with a modern design. Beds were comfortable on the firm side. We prepaid the room when Hilton.com had a flash sale one weekend in October for the 3 nights. Rate for a deluxe room was 96 euros. Kept the AC on all the time with curtains and blind closed while we were out. It was not powerful enough to keep the room cool otherwise. We did not eat at the hotel except in the lounge. Internet was OK for what we used it for - email, etc. It was included for us as Hilton gold members.

Phone system was down our last night there. I had requested a wake up call which did not happen but I had set my phone alarm and was all set. Elevators worked fine. Did not try to use any other hotel services. There is an ironing room only on the -1 floor. Nothing available in the rooms.

Took the 8 AM shuttle to the train station and got on the 8:53 AM train to Pisa as we just missed the 8:28 AM one. Saw the Leaning Tower before flying out at 1:15 PM.

Would more or less rate this hotel 3.5 stars and would stay here again. We would love to do some day trips with a car from Florence we didn't get to do this time. The location is convenient to the highways but there is not much around the hotel other than a local pizzeria and the movie theatre.

Room Tip: Our room 1303 was just across the hall from the housekeeping room. We did not have a lot of noise f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bostontravelnman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniele F, Direttore at Hilton Florence Metropole, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for your kind words posted on Tripadvisor and for taking the time to review our Hotel.
We are waiting for your return and we really hope to welcome you again soon.

Best regards
Daniele Fabbri
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviewed April 15, 2013

My stay was in a junior executive suite on the 15th floor. The room was beautiful and clean. Enjoyed the executive lounge privileges and free wifi as a HHonors gold member. The relaxation spa was closed for maintenance the entire length of my stay. I arrived stressed and exhausted after driving all day from Nice, France and this was a big let down. I was not advised that it was closed when I checked in. I requested a wake-up call, but it never came. We ended up missing the morning tour we had scheduled and paid for and missed half of one day to see the city. This was a BIG deal!! Finally, all four of the hotel elevators were broken one evening and at least two of them had people trapped in them ringing the emergency alarms. After a very long time in the lobby, I eventually had to climb 15 flights of stairs at 11:30 pm to get to my room. Incredible. I complained and was given a box of cookies.

Room Tip: 1512 was a beautiful corner room on the top floor, but it did not have the best angle for the skylin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniele F, Direttore at Hilton Florence Metropole, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Mr Bob,

I really apologize for any inconvenience you had during your stay.
We are so sorry to read that you consider our hotel one of the most disappointing hotel you ever stayed.
I would like to host you again if you will come back in Florence.
Best Regards

Daniele Fabbri
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for three nights and loved every minute of it. We stayed in a room on the executive floor, which also grants access to the executive lounge on the top floor. The room was very stylish, bathroom had a seperate toilet, and the beds were comfortable. Executive lounge has a great view on the city centre and provide free drinks and nibbles. It's also the place to have a quiet breakfast, instead of the bigger and more busy breakfast restaurant downstairs.
Hotel staff is very friendly and helpful.
Shuttle bus service to city centre is frequent and complementary for hotel guests.
All in all a great hotel and whenever back in Florence, I'll certainly stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PatrickBolCrawford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniele F, Direttore at Hilton Florence Metropole, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for your kind comment on the Tripadvisor website.
I am pleased to read that you had a good stay; guest's positive feedback is the aim of our job!
I look forward to welcoming you all back to the Hilton Florence very soon.

Best Regards

Daniele Fabbri
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

This Hilton Hotel is OK but not really living at the level of the Brand. Lost in the suburb of Florence, the access is rather depressing and the building is modern but without any style. Lobby and reception is more looking like a business building one than something like a hotel. Room and breakfast are OK but personel not particularly friendly. But the most surprising is that the hotel was welcoming a very large group of teenagers who did not find anything better than to party all night... Next time, I go to the YMCA!

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Eric S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniele F, Direttore at Hilton Florence Metropole, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for your comment concerning your stay at our Hilton Florence Metropole.
I am really sorry for any further inconvenience caused during your stay. We always try to improve our service and performances in order to guarantee a comfortable stay for our guests.

Hoping to welcome you again in Florence, we send our
Best Regards
Daniele Fabbri
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chepstow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We were concerned that this hotel is 6 miles out of the city but the free shuttle bus is really good and has 29 seats so was never full. It runs regularly every hour or two to close to the station and makes this a really economical place to stay. There is a nice executive lounge and the rooms are spacious and well equipped. Service is certainly up to Hilton standards and all our requests were met quickly, including one to turn off the room heating as Italian hotels in the winter are far too hot.

Room Tip: It is worth upgrading to a city view room and a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulinethomas60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniele F, Direttore at Hilton Florence Metropole, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you for your kind comment on the Tripadvisor website.
I am pleased to read that you had a good stay; guest's positive feedback is the aim of our job!
I look forward to welcoming you all back to the Hilton Florence very soon.

Best Regards
Daniele Fabbri
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiavenna, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel for business for one night. It is quite out of the city, but they have a free regular shuttle bus departing from the train station Santa Maria Novella (piazza Adua, just next to Burger King). It takes about 15 mins to get there. Rooms are not too big, but new, very clean and with all facilities. Great shower and great/comfortable mattresses. I had dinner in hotel and it was fine even if not too cheap. Breakfast was great (Italian and international breakfast available). Overall, a very nice place to stay!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jade A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniele F, Direttore at Hilton Florence Metropole, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

It’s a pleasure to read your comment you shared with all Tripadvisor users.
Thank s a lot for your good words and Your special description of our services.
I really hope you will come back in Florence and you will choose Hilton Florence Metropole for your next stay in our Cradle of Renaissance.

Best Regards
Daniele Fabbri
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
Starhotels Tuscany
#101 of 412 in Florence
748 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
NH Firenze
NH Firenze
#91 of 412 in Florence
1,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Italiana Hotels Florence
#170 of 412 in Florence
1,014 reviews
Orcagna Hotel
#35 of 412 in Florence
785 reviews
San Lorenzo
Room Mate Luca
Room Mate Luca
#45 of 412 in Florence
1,142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Florence Metropole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Florence Metropole

Property: Hilton Florence Metropole
Address: Via del Cavallaccio 36, 50142, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#85 Business Hotel in Florence
#87 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#134 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Florence Metropole 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Florence Metropole is a contemporary hotel with a strategic location adjacent to all important traffic hubs. It is only 3 km (10 minutes) away from the Florence International Airport and the city business district. Hop on our complimentary shuttle bus from/to the city centre in order to reach in only a few minutes Florence major attractions like the Uffizi Gallery and the Duomo Cathedral. The 15-floors building offers, from the Executive Lounge’s terrace, a breathtaking view of Florence. It has 212 guestrooms - including 32 Executive rooms, 22 deluxe and 4 suites. Each guest room is furnished with a warm, contemporary style; wooden floor and spacious marble bathrooms can ensure maximum comfort for both business and leisure travellers. The hotel is provided of complimentary parking facilities: external parking (50 boxes) and covered garege (80 boxes) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Florence Metropole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Florence Metropole Hotel Florence
Florence Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing